The Rain And I

64 101
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Personal Blog, Rain

This article is inspired by the weather earlier.

I used to hate rain. Okay, the word "hate" might be too harsh to use here. Let me rephrase. I used to prefer the sun over rain back then. This is because rain makes everything slippery and muddy, and as someone who walks with an axillary crutch, let me tell you this, it is quite frustrating, to be honest.

I bet you know what I mean so no more details are needed here. Despite that, I love rainy days when I'm just chilling at home. I love the sound of the rain as it feels like music to my ears. It calms my soul. It cools down the temperature and everything else seems perfect to me whenever it rains.

Anyway, I'm writing this because of the weather earlier, which has reminded me of my memories back then. Hence, the rain and I is the perfect title for this. So allow me to share with you some of the great memories that I've had that I will forever cherish. Here are a few:

Waking late at night due to rain

We used to live in a house whose roof was made of nipa or coconut leaves. At night, whenever there was rain, my mom would wake us up because the water was dripping from the roof. She would ask us to move to the other side of the room. Sometimes, those little drops no longer bothered me anymore because I got used to that scenario. Everything ended when we finally got our own house by the time I turned 8. Since then, we don't have to worry about rain or even storm. However, there were times that I missed those days.

Singing the "rain, rain go away" song

As the youngest, whenever there was rain and we had to go out, my mom would ask me to sing the "rain, rain go away" song. According to the elders, singing this song or praying while looking at the sky with ashes in your hand could make the rain stop. I know this might sound absurd, but believe me, it sometimes worked!

My miraculous experience whenever there was rain

One of the many reasons why I believe God is protecting me is when during an unexpected rain, and I have no way to avoid it. An example of this was when I was on my way to the highway and had to walk get through a rice field. I was halfway there (sorry, no idea how long that area was) when it rained suddenly. I didn't know what to do whether to go back or walk fast but even so, I would still get soak.

At that time, I was kind of panicking already. So I begged God to make it stop until I finally get to an area to keep me safe from the rain. You wouldn't believe me if I tell that in just a matter of seconds, it did stop. I was able to get to the end without getting so wet. And yes, it did rain after I found a shelter to stay in for a while. There were more incidents actually, especially when I was still in Cebu City.

Closing thoughts

So these were just a few. I don't like rain whenever I had to go to work or had to go home from work. It was too hassle for me and really unsafe for my prosthetic leg. Now that I just work from home, I don't have to worry about this kind of stuff anymore. I even pray to make it rain.


31
$ 14.94
$ 14.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Personal Blog, Rain

Comments

If I happen to be at home, I love it to rain and not when I am out there because getting drenched by the rain could spoil my day. I remembered singing that song too when we were young. It is always fun though especially playing in the rain then. I still prefer rain to heat moment because the rain will make everywhere cool and warm.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. Rain is not good if we are outside or has to go somewhere. But if you're staying at home, it's the best. I hope it will rain now. I need it so badly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. We have the same experience, sis. Kahit hanggang ngayon may tulo parin bahay namin kapag naulan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ngayon sis, meron pa rin sa amin pero di na gaya dati. Wala kasing aakyat sa bubong kaya ayun di pa naayos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakin I love rain talaga pero syempre nakakainis din naman oag palagi kasi dika makapag patuyo ng labahin, tas yon nga muddy tmdin ang daan. Pero marami din akong experience sa ulan ee kaya ayon, I still love it 😻

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me kilig moments ka ba sa ulan? Hehe. Pero tama ka, hindi naman pde rainy days lang lagi kasi nakakamiss din naman ang blue sky.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha wala naman, pero yong maligo sa ulan yarn marami ako nyan tas naghahabulan habang nagpapatakbo ng gulong ng bike haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngaun madam love mo na ang rain kasi work from home ka na, no more hassle to go out when its raining

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Super! Kaya ako pag umuulan, super happy na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakagawa na rin ako rain article before Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Kung me winter or autumn sana tayo, pati yan isusulat natin. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaso wala baha lang meron satin. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although I also prefer sunny weather whenever I go outside but overall rain is my favorite and I love to being wet in rain with my siblings since our childhood. I am glad that day the rain was stopped and you were not so wet.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm so glad too. That would be a total disaster tho. And yes, enjoying the rain as a child was also my most favorite back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din. Minsan di ko gusto ang ulan lalo na pag may lakad. Okay lang siya kung nasa bahay ka lang. For sure masarap tulog mo pag umuulan. Malamig kasi, free aircon.hihi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Free aircon tas me free music pa. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Growing up, I understand you enjoy your sleep the more while rain is pouring. Rain is like a soothing balm and answered prayers to farmers. But the rain atimes can be too much. So we need a little of the rain and a little of the sun let there be a balance.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, a little of both. But here in the Philippines, I prefer more rain in a week than the sun. It's just that the heat is too much to take these past few years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, minsan di ko Rin gustong umuulan lalo pag nasa labas/work ako napakahassle kasii pero minsan kailangan rin natin Ng ulan para maibsan Ang init . And the thing I love when it's raining was I enjoy laying on my bed with the cold freezing air due to the rain and it always makes me sleep..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tas me music pang kasama sa background. Sarap talaga matulog.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang lawak ng bakuran niyo sis ah. Hehe. Ako nman, I prefer rain than the sun. Kase irritable ako pag mainit panahon. 😅 or yung sakto lng. Di mainit, di rin maulan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Malawak sis pag wala yung sasakyan ng kuya ko. Pag meron, waley na. Pero yes, yung sun lalo na pag nasa bahay ka lang palagi, nakaka stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always like it when it rains, the cold suits me so well. I'm not very good at adapting to the heat that comes when rain doesn't fall for a very long time.

Good thing you now work at home since you're not a fan of the rain.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good thing I work at home so I could just enjoy the rain any time of the day without worries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s raining here right now as I am reading this and I could feel the music You enjoyed too

Rain is always a blessing to us.

Good you have packed to your home now. And the song We sing it here also 😂 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Send me some rain now. It's now back to sunny. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. No worries it would rain sooner. After the sun comes rain 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Danas ko din yan sis, yung kapag umuulan, hindi kami magkandaugaga maglagay ng palara ng sigarilyo sa bubong o kaya kahit na anong bagay na mahagip para isingit sa bubong para matakpan yung portion na tumutulo.. Kapag lupa na kasi talaga ang nipa, nabubutas din..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naku sis. Kahit nga hindi pa luma, tumutulo pa rin. Pero nakakamiss din yung me tumulo tas ang lamig pa. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha ou sis.. Nakakamiss din na kapag umuulan eh kanya kanya kaming hanap ng maitatapal sa tumutulo.. Pero sobrang lamig naman sa gabi kahit walang efan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I recommend the song November Rain by Guns and Roses. I like the rain as long as it doesn't interfere with my plans ahah.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. I totally agree. Wait, not sure if I've heard that song. Will definitely check on that later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You let me know when you hear it. I'm sure you are going to love it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't. Thanks for reminding me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabihin na lang natin ate na baka rain is really listening to you 😁 In my case, hindi siya nagwowork kahit once when I asked or beg for the rain to stop

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Baka nga. Kawawa naman din kasi ako pag umuulan at nasa labas. Hayst.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

very nice testimony of God listening to your prayers sis....

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Marami talaga akong experience na alam kong binabantayan niya ako. Isa na dito yung nadisgrasya ako sa motor. Randam ko talaga na He sent his angel to protect me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

amen sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While for me ate, I hate rain. May trauma na ako sa ganyan eh na kahit di naman umuulan napapakinggan ko yung patak ng ulan sa bubong kaya minsan di ako makatulog sa gabi nung bata din po ako gustong gusto ko ang ulan pero ngayon hindi na.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bakit ka na trauma? Me nangyari ba sayo dati?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love rain too especially when I don't have errands to do. Malakas ka talaga kay Lord may miracle answer sya sa prayer mo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naawa si Papa God, sis, kasi imagine mo naman, mababasa ako ng sobra dahil ang layo ng lalakarin ko bago makahanap ng masisilungan. Hehe. Baka madulas pa ako at sa putikan ako pupulutin. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like rain. But I don't like it kpg nsa labas ako naglalakad haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, di ko din gusto pag umuulan at ako ay nasa labas, ang hassle kasi. But sometimes we need rain to neutralize the heat din. Sa Pilipinas kasi, it's either soooo hot, or cold. Hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Kaya ngayon, gusto ko rain lagi. Haha. Sakit sa ulo kasi pag mainit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo , tapos lagi pang paw8s tsaka.lalaki ang kuryente dahil maghapon buks ang electric fans. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Raindrops are soothing music to our ears talaga ate 💗 That is why during rainy days I love staying in my bed with a blanket on my feet, staring outside the window with a cup of hot coffeeeee ☕😁❣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sarap ng life. Ako minsan lumalabas para lang mabasa kamay ko sa ulan or masarap kumain ng champorado pag ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the rain when I was staying in an area with good roads and drainage but here in my current environment, it is something else.

I have lots of memories of rainfall, I love how it makes everywhere cold and I have to seek comfort under my blanket.

The rain definitely needs to hold for you because heavenly bodies must obey an angel's voice.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Would be nice to go out, and then enjoy the rain tho. Wish i could still do that but nah. And hahaha. The rain had to hold on for a little bit, or they might see me being grumpy for messing up my day. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love how you described the rain earlier... I have always loved the rain... definitely more than the sun but I totally understand your point earlier too.

Miracles of the rain..that is so cute. God hears our every request and I am glad He honoured yours. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That would be a disaster for me if he didn't make it stop tho. Like I was in the middle of a rice field and the rain would just shower me all out. Hehe. God, indeed, listens to our prayers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Shower you all out 😂😂😂🤣. I love your choice of words. Not only shower you all out but the path would even be messy and slippery.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just brought back a memory I still remember those days when we sing rain rain go away

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Old times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have developed a different perspective. Praying for the rain to stop when it forces you and the rain to stop can be a result of your spiritual value. Your prayer seems to have been accepted.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. God listens. He knew i couldn't run so he just out it on hold first till i was safe. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just made me laugh with that song. You really sing that school rhyme, don't you? Oh, dear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. That was my magic song back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so you actually stopped the rain, are you sure you dont have powers? I love the rain it makes sleep better especially last year!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. I guess I had a superpower back then. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago