Got Another Client For A Wikipedia Task

13 63
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

As most of you know, I have dedicated myself back to freelancing than on crypto platforms like read and noise. Due to my recent heartbreak, I decided to lay low in crypto verse and focus on the other side of the earning world. I'm glad I did that because now I feel like I'm getting back on my feet (in this case, foot) once again.

So yesterday, I published my Upwork Account From Rising Talent To Top Rated, where I flexed my new badge. The Top Rated badge is an excellent achievement for any freelancer because it takes a lot of work to attain this. Only those with at least a 90% JSS, long hours rendered, decent earnings history, and a few more can have it.

In that article, I also mentioned that I had not gotten any new clients, even though a handful of invites were received, probably due to late responses on my side or the rate I asked of them. However, before I could even finish that article, one of the job postings I applied for replied. After a few exchanges of conversations regarding the task, I finally got the deal for a $75 fixed rate.

Wikipedia Task: Biography of a particular Filipino lawyer/politician

Although I did say that it would be my first time doing a biography, it wasn't. I realized I had already done two biographies before, but they were written in Italian. This time, it will be in English, which is pretty concerning because Wiki editors in EN are stricter than in IT. The good thing is that the content is already well-written, and references are also included.

So the topic is about a particular Filipino lawyer and politician. He is Albay's newest governor after the former governor was disqualified by COMELEC. He is also a son of a famous Filipino lawyer/politician.

Rate and proposals in the mode of payment

Initially, the job posting mentioned an hourly rate. However, during our discussion, the client asked how much it would cost at a fixed rate. Last time with Elisa, I charged her $60 for the page I finished within three days. This time, I set the new client with $75 or $60 due to the 20% Upwork fee.

The client also asked if I wanted the payment sent via Gcash or to my ATM. Although it sounds tempting because I won't have to deal with the 20%, I decided to stick to Upwork. Aside from security purposes, changing the mode of payment to my account will only prevent the client from leaving feedback on my profile once the project is done.

So I told the client that I would stick to Upwork and, perhaps, we could make his proposal in the future. He then concluded that if the page I was working on were successful, he would send me more. He will also send me a bonus straight to my Gcash account. Yay, right?!

For the payment, I initially wanted a one-time payment after the project is done because I have never tried doing it by milestones; but he suggested paying me $50 first once the page is done. The rest will be sent after we get approval.

So I hope EN Wiki editors will approve the page, so my client and I will be happy by the end of the project.

Status of work

As soon as I got the go signal from the client yesterday morning, I immediately started the page. Everything was smooth since I had the content and references ready. However, some of the references needed to be validated because Wikipedia doesn't accept personal websites, which the client included. So I had to dig deeper online and look for news that mentioned the topic.

In just a few hours, I have the content almost ready. I still have a few more edits to do, and the client also needs to send me more references to give valid proof of their claims. He agreed to send me the things I need tomorrow, including the recent subject photo. I also gave him the link to the page, and he seemed happy and satisfied so far. He even asked me if he could show it to their team, and of course, who am I to say no?

I plan to finish everything tomorrow, so I can finally submit the draft. Now, that's when the tricky part starts. Once you submit your draft, it will take time for the editor to review it. It may also need several revisions, depending on how satisfied the editor is. Our page is not biased, though. It's neutral, which is what we need to get approval from the Wiki editors. If we get lucky, then I can finally relax afterward.

Related articles:

Closing thoughts

I am excited and, at the same time, worried about this project because I need to get it live to get the rest of the payment and good feedback for me. Positive feedback and a good rating are what I am after. Yeah, the payment is, too, so I hope I can make this work.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.app | noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


11
$ 1.67
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Congratulations again, MJ. Keep those wonderful blessings coming okay. God bless and be safe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations dear sir, you are awesome. You have been doing so great and hard work. Good luck and wish you all the best

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. I'm working and enjoying the new norm for me. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing naman non te pero kasi ako, doubt pa rin sa pagsusulat. Feel ko di ako pede roon haha. Hindi siya ang sinisigaw ng puso ko ayune haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Me ganun pala. Hehe. Ako naman, ayoko na mag article writing. Nauumay na ako dun. Pero from time to time, need ko pa rin talaga. Kaya eto focus ako sa wiki dahil mas madali siya sakin at mas nag eenjoy akong gawin. Ano ba gusto mong gawin?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Murag maka kutaw sa utok imo buhat maam..haha. Anyways congratulations sa imuha maam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very wonderful. I'm very sure that it will be approved. Let your mind be at rest. That's very good of you, my friend. Keep it up

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't worry, MJ... It would be approved. It won't take long and you will get the second part of the payment too. I think it was smart of you to stick with Upwork rather than off payment...it helps your growth and gives you more recognition there...it's not all about the money sometimes. Good one, MJ.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing nmn. Congratulations mj

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Salamat yen! ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe sis. Ang galing mo. Nakakabilib yung work mo sis. Di basta-basta yung client mo. God bless always sis. 😇

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga sis. First time ko maka work ng about Governor. Sabi ni client, which I think someone na taga office ni Gov, na pag successful (sana talaga) possible na madagdagan pa yan. Daming politiko na wala pang Wiki.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. Dagdagan pa yan soon sis. Galing naman. Nakakaproud ka always sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago