Games I Love To Play

36 66
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Playing games is the most convenient way to de-stress yourself whenever you don't have the time or cannot afford to go out to have fun. All you need is a device to play with and sometimes, an internet connection to get connected to the games you desire to play.

I am not much of a gamer myself but if I do have the time to play, I mostly go for the classic ones. I'm just an old-school person, so I don't do new games unless they are worthy of my time and something I can earn too.

So for today, after not being able to post for several days, I am going to share with you the games I enjoy playing. This is inspired by the recent addiction to board games again. So as usual, if you are interested to know, feel free not to skip.

Chess

If you're a follower of me on noise.cash, you'd surely know this about me. As usual, for the sake of those who don't know me at all, chess is the first board game I learned as a child.

Source

It was introduced to me first by my brother when I was around 5 or 6 years old. My brother taught me the basic moves for each piece until I learned how to play them. My favorite memory about the game as a kid was when I beat my brother's friend/neighbor who was 3-5 years older than me. I think I was around 7 at that time.

I wish there was a chess club before at school. I would have learned so much about this game if there was something like that before. When I saw the mini-series about chess called The Queen's Gambit, one of the best I've seen so far, I could have the potential to be a good player if only I didn't stop playing.

During my childhood years, since this is the only game I could really enjoy, I used to beat my older cousins, and they used to praise me for being good. I used to play chess a lot back then, and I even played by myself. My other brother would always get upset with me whenever I beat him.

Oh well, at least this is something I can share with my nieces and nephews. My oldest nephew loves chess too, and he's doing great. He could even beat me and that made me so proud of him.

Tong-its and Pusoy dos

Before I met UNO, I first fell in love with Tong-its. This game is very popular in the country but its origin of it is still unknown. Based on Wikipedia, tong-its is probably introduced first by the US Military presence in the 1940s.

Source

I learned this game by watching my neighbors playing this. This is also common during wakes as a pastime. For our non-Filipino readers here, we have a tradition here, particularly for Roman Catholics, that when someone dies, it is customary to hold a wake. During these wakes, people would play card games to stay awake and this is where tong-its come in handy.

Then another one that I used to play and would still love to play is the pusoy dos, or what the Bisaya people called chikicha. The concept for this game is to be the first to discard all his cards. If no one gets to discard it first, then the aim is to have as few cards left as possible.

Scrabble

Scrabble is the second game I learned when I was around 8 or 9 years old. I saw it first with my neighbor. They used to play this and as a kid, I just watched them play. In just a short time, I learned how to play the game and would join them if they would let me. My neighbor was already a mom by the way.

Source

I love scrabble so much that, just like chess, I also play it alone. Sometimes, I would even dream about it and woke up talking about the tiles and double/triple points I get for putting that word. My mom is a scrabble addict too. I used to play this with the whole family.

Word Factory

Word factory is another word game that I love. This is a better version of scrabble because you can have more than 4 players for this game. My mom bought one when I was 16 and until now, we still have it. Unfortunately, some tiles are missing now cause of my boss baby who would love to play with them.

Source

Text Twist

Text twist is the first word game I play online when I was a freshman. I love it because you can set a timer for this game and if you want to win, you need to form as many words as you can with the given letters you have.

Source

I don't play this much anymore because if you want to play a challenging word game, this is a must-try.

Games of the Generals

Games of the generals is another board game similar to chess, but they are played differently. Surprisingly, this game is actually invented in the Philippines by Sofronio H. Pasola Jr. in 1970.

Source

The concept of this game is to eliminate your opponent's piece by using high-ranking officers. For instance, if you challenge your opponent's piece, your tile must have a high rank than his; otherwise, you will lose. There are 21 pieces for each player. These 21 pieces serve as soldiers or combatants. The best thing about this game is that you won't be able to see your opponent's pieces, which is why a referee is needed for this game.

I first learned about this game when I was in high school and played this for the last time when I was in college. I might look online for this board game and buy this one. I'm sure my nieces and nephews would enjoy this so much.

Sudoku

Aside from mind games, I kind of enjoy some number games too. Sudoku was first introduced to me in college. It was one of the exams, but at that time, the instructor only gave us a 3x3 problem. Not the typical version of Sudoku you know.

Source

I first saw a Sudoku problem when I was around 20. I was in Cebu at that time for my prosthesis and saw it in the newspapers. I got hooked on it and eventually, I bought my own Sudoku booklet in the mall. I love how challenging this game is and makes my brain thinks.

Monopoly and UNO

Source

These are the games that I learned to play during the pandemic courtesy of my sister. She first bought a Monopoly card, which the kids and I enjoyed for a while; and followed by UNO. Then she also bought the Monopoly board game. I only played this version for a short time though.

Closing thoughts

There you have it! The list of the games that I do/did enjoys playing either by myself or with friends and family. Of all the games I mentioned here, the most recent games I still play are chess and scrabble. Sometimes, I do Tong-its online too.

I hope you find this article interesting. If you want, you can also share yours. Please, don't forget to tag me though. I also love to know what games you are/were into.


14
$ 3.50
$ 3.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 8
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I love chess, unfortunately I can't play it... However, played Scrabble and a few other similar games... Thanks anyways, will try some of them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

web0 games :D nice play in my childhood. Now don't have time to spent on it :( Hopefully in few years my kids will want to play those :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You should introduce these games to your kids so they won't be stuck using their gadgets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fun games I always liked the "Q" in scramble. I use to dab in chess as well.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You should join the tournament soon. HEHE.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really love Scrabble and I am very fond of Sudoku too. I need someone to teach me how to play this Chess. I know it's a game of understanding how each character moves but I need to learn it a lot. It takes critical thinking.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

YouTube is the key. But I know you are smart so it won't take you too long to learn the basics and its techniques.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's so true... YouTube. I need to take it more seriously...I've been pushing the learning for too long. Time to act on it. Thanks a lot, MJ.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako po sa edad ko na ito hindi pa po ako marunong mag chess hahaha. Wala po kasi akong mahanap na magtuturo sa akin kasi wala din pong marunong magchess dito sa bahay, Dama lang po alam namin eh hhehehe. Alam ko lang pong laruin na chess sa phone kasi pwede maghint hahahha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

HAHAH. Ang cute. Hint is the key. Pero okay lang yan. It's not too late to learn kung gustuhin mo talaga. By the way, join ka sa pa tournament ko. See my latest post. Dadagdagan ko yung options at kung me time ka, pwede ka mag suggest din about sa tournament.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can't remember last time I played a real chess game

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's hard for you to play since you have so much going on both online and offline but maybe one day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One day I will be a retired dude with nothing else to do... but is long way until then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's funny how I always forget how to play Tong its pero kapag nilalaro ko na biglang nagfflash back. Game of the Generals reminds me of highschool huehue.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ganda ng Games of the Generals talaga. Gusto ko tong laruin ulit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am fond of cricket and soccer. I last time became injured during play off match of volleyball. Chess is also my favorite game sister.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Glad you like chess too. I'm no fan of outdoor games but I used to watch baseball when I was in grade school and yes, soccer too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So chess was the first game you learned to play. I am a great lover of scrabble, and I play it with my siblings.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, chess was the first game ever. Scrabble was my second. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love scrabble hehe, padamihan talaga ng words na maiisip. And then I also know the tong its but not pusoy ate hehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Maganda din ang pusoy. Ngayon ko lang nalaman na pusoy pala tawag dito. Pero bet ko din ang poker. Di nga lang ako magaling sa strategy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yung scabble talaga haha, naglalaro kami ng mama ko niyan dati nagkakadayaan pa🤣 pampalipas oras ni mama dati😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

HAHAHA. Gumagamit ba ng dictionary? HEHE. Minsan nag iimbento na lang ng words noh para lang me mailagay. LOL.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

minsan gumagamit pero madalas nag iimbento nalang🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHA. Relate much sa imbento talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sis Scrabble lang talaga alam ko diyan. Ang saya pag maglaro ng ganyan talagang mag isip ka talaga ng maigi. Katuwa lang. Yung Sudoko sis di ko talaga na gets yan. Nakailang beses na ako naka encounter ng ganyan.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True sis mapapaisip ka talaga sa scrabble. Nakakachallenge din lalo na pag mejo magagaling din mga nakakalaban mo.

Yung sudoku, me technique kasi yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobra sis. Hehe minsan wala ka ng maisip. 😅 Kakamiss lang maglaro ng ganyan sis.

Ganun ba sis. Hanggang ngayon di ko talaga yan naintindihan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All the games you play are played with mind and need thoughts and I am so glad you don't play the time wasting gane like nowadays people play, such as PUBG, FreeFire etc I want to learn Chess ♟️. It is sort my favorite game to learn Played scribble and Word Factory games

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True. They mostly mind games. I don't do PUBG coz I don't have time to learn them. I don't want to get addicted too. HEHE. I used to play COC before and got hooked up to this game. Glad I already learned to let go of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't play games, but just a few mind related... And I hate playing those time wasting games

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chess and text twist kinaka adikan ko before ngayon adik na lang ako hahaha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

At least, hindi ka adik sakin. LOL. Joke lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang feeling ko malapit na 🙄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nila laro ko din to lahat pwera doon sa Sudoku, chess saka games of generals. Di ko talaga magnets paano laruin, heheh.. Then basta word game eh di ko inuurungan🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Cheers, sis! Ganda talaga laruin pag word games noh? Nakaka gana sa utak.

$ 0.00
1 year ago