Korean ice creams that I have tried

34 48
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

It was just recently when I have published an article that I was back home and now I am back at my brother and sister-in-law's Korean grocery store. And since it is already summer, allow me to share with you some of the Korean ice creams that I have tried. Majority of us are familiar to Melona melon flavored ice cream bar and Samanco which is an ice cream sandwich in a shape of a fish.

It was Melona melon ice cream that I first tried years ago given to us as a free dessert from a Korean restaurant and we immediately loved it. When a Korean grocery opened in our area, my brother and I went there and it was where we saw the Samanco ice cream and we tried it and it was also love at first bite. So when we bought Samanco again, I did not know that there were other flavors as I just get what was available. Instead of Samanco red bean flavor, I got the chocolate flavor.

And just late last year, I found out that there were other flavors of Melona other than melon and those are mango, banana, taro, strawberry and coconut. Out of the 6 flavors, I haven't tried yet the coconut flavor. My top favorite will be melon, followed by taro, mango, strawberry and banana. This may or may not change after I try the coconut flavor. Then last week, I just found out that there is a Melona melon tube.

Even before our noisy friend Jupeeeh told me that I should make a review of the Korean products that I have tried, I was already planning to do it but I would have to take pictures of some of it since I did not took a picture of it before I ate those ice creams. I told Jupeeeh that this will be a little challenging for me because I am not really good in doing food review as I can only say that it is good, very good or not that good. LOL. However, I will try my best to be as detailed as I can in my review.

Let's begin.

Top to bottom: mango, taro, banana, melon, coconut and strawberry

Melona melon - pastel green in color and it does really tastes like sweet melon. It is not that sweet so even older people love this.

Melona taro - this is second on my favorite in Melona ice creams because taro is my favorite even when I was still a kid. Color is in pastel purple although I must say that it does not taste like taro.

Melona mango - if you are a Filipino, you would differentiate the taste of Philippine mangoes to international mangoes. If you are familiar with mango flavoring or apple mango, then it somehow tastes like those. Color is a little darker than with Melona banana.

Melona banana - color is in pastel yellow and it does tastes like a banana milkshake.

Melona strawberry - color is in pastel pink and it is a balance of strawberry and cream.

Melona melon tube - it is just a Melona melon ice cream bar that is in a tube however, just like what I said on one of my past noisy posts that this takes more than 5 minutes or I guess even more than 10 minutes before it melts. I was able to place it on my head when I felt that my migraine was slowly knocking its way into my brain. It was a 2 in 1 purpose for me. I was waiting for it to melt so I let it stay on my side temple and eat it after.

Its tube is like the one that is used for jelly ace

Big Bibig bar - I do not know if the ice cream itself is chocolate flavored but what I love about this are the red beans. It made me remember the ice monggo (mung beans) that I used to eat when I was young. Though my only concern is that you can only count the red beans. It would have been better if it was like the ice monggo where there are a lot of beans on top of the ice cream bar but this will do as it has been too long since I last saw someone selling ice monggo.

Looks like a chocolate right? But there are bits of red beans inside.

Lotte Wang Subak Bar - name is a little difficult but it is just a watermelon bar. What I like about this is that it is shaped into a sliced watermelon including the skin or fruit peel. Then the watermelon seeds are red beans. The flavor of the skin of the watermelon or the green part is melon. So it was like a watermelon-melon with red bean ice cream bar. Though do not expect that the red bean is big as it is just about ΒΌ or β…› of the red bean.

I just realized that I was not able to take a photo of its wrapper. It looks like a watermelon right?

Prices of the Korean ice cream in this article are priced less than $5. I paid some of it with my own money and sometimes I do get a free ice cream from my brother, sister-in-law or her mom. Of course they still paid for it. That is why I see to it to try different Korean ice creams although I usually forget to take pictures. LOL.

I do have some other Korean ice creams that I have tried and will make another article about it soon. For now, this will do. I hope that this article has somehow helped you decide on what ice cream or Melona should you try next time. What Korean ice creams have you tried?

February 24, 2022

P.S. lead image is a photo of the all the Melona ice cream bars that I took this afternoon.

13
$ 6.32
$ 6.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 7
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago

Comments

Uyy feeling ko masarap ung taro saka ung mango flavor. Di pa ko nakatikim nyan. In terms of texture ba, may pagkakaiba ba sa mga icecreams natin dito?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank yoi for that wonderful question Usagi. 🀣 texture? Oo. Mas creamy yung sa Korean ice cream tapos feeling ko mas matagal matunaw. Yung sa Melona ha kung icocompare ko siya sa mga Twin Popsies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhhh so something special nga sya talaga. Nako Im gonna try that. Alam ko nakakita na ko nyan tapos di ko mapansin that time kasi mas prefer ko sa ice cream is ung aice πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like yiruw way of thinking and way of love to different food with healthy mind and always healthy health It's all about you want to read like it and having a great day with beautiful ice cream and yummy dummy food

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I told you I am really a food lover. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this makes me crave ice-cream.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess this is a sign for you to buy one Kristofferquincy. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always go for Samanco fish ice cream :D Any flavor is fine by me. I also tried greek yogurt but I forgot the brand. I haven't tried melona. I can't remember when was the last time I ate Korean ice cream.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Greek Yogurt? I just ate that this afternoon. 😊 it was my first time. What flavor did you try? Mine was strawberry and it was good. I can still imagine that Greek Yogurt melting in my tongue. Yesterday, I a different brand of ice cream sandwich like Samanco. It was round in shape. But I still prefer Samanco as it is bigger in size. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, pwede patikim niyan. May pa shape like watermelon pa. Sigurado akong masarap talaga ang mga yan. Sana May ganyan din dito sa amin

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kung pwede lang ipadala sila ice cream, ipapadala ko. Ilan po order nila? Hahaha. Masarap mga Korean ice creams. Kaya halos araw-araw nakain ako para may mareview. πŸ˜… tsaka lara alam ko din kapag idedescribe sa customer..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay wow, halos araw-araw, May ice cream. Natakam ako habang nakatingin sa mga pictures..Hehehe pwede ipilipad yung ice cream kahit isa lang, baka makarating yan dito, hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nagsitaasan ung body hair ko pagkakita ng icecream... mukhang magandang negosyo yan ah... marami na kasi mahilig sa korean products

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Marami na nahihilig sa mga Korean products kaya patok siya ibusiness. Basta maganda location, check na check. Yung doon sa may area namin dalawang Korean groceries na yun at yung dalawang yun eh parehong malakas. 😊

Bili ka na Korean ice cream lalo sobrang init na talaga ngayon. Magstock na sa freezer. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oi ano ga yong taro? Parang wala akin g akikitang ice cream na ganyan dito. Gusto ko sana etry lahat sana 🀀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Taro ay ube. πŸ˜‰ maganda ito subukan lalo na ngayong summer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I already tried the purple one when I was working before. Korean ice cream is delicious. Can you send some? lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree, Korean ice creams are really delicious. With all of the Korean ice creams that I have tried, there was none that failed my taste buds. πŸ˜… If only I can send these ice creams to all of you, I would.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Acckkkk, pwede ba yan ipadala dito? Huhuhuhu, parang yung taro yung magiging top 1 koooo. Sarap nyan! 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Apir sa taro. Pero di nga lang siyang ube na ube flavor talaga compared kay melon na talagang lasang-lasa. Kung pwede lang talaga ipadala yung ice cream, why not. Hehe. Di pa nga kita nababalikan sa online delivery. Hehe. Yung black noodles di ba kamo ang gusto mo matry? Wala pa kasi sila ate sa online kasi ang inaayos nila ngayon yung Grab at mga Food Panda ba. Pero babalikan kita kapag magkaonline sila ate. 😚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo yun black noodles sana hihi. Maghihintay ako sa stocks hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have other types of ice cream, but those look very good, I would like to try them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If there is a Korean store in your place, you have to try all of the ice creams that I listed. It's really good. πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis hanggang selecta lang talaga ako. Walang ganyan dito huhu

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Actually, konti lang nakakain ko na mga Selecta or Nestle ice cream sticks. πŸ˜… kasi kung bibili ako ng ganun ay bili na lang ako mga 3 in 1 plus 1. Hehe. Mas madami pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang gusto ko tuloy mag ice cream today. Meron akong korean food na gusto kainin. Yung parang tinapay pero ice cream pala nasa loob 🀀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Si Samanco yun. Korteng isda? Pero meron isang brand bilog naman shape. Yun ang sa part 2 ng article na ito. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy wow sige basahin ko sis. Na amazwd kasi ako sa pagkain na yun 🀀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is wow! I am not a fan of ice cream but I think I'm gonna try these. I just love the way you described each of them.Giving us a review about those convinced us to try it. Thank you for sharing this information in the community. It was a well done content for your article. Congratulations πŸŽ‰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello Donnabel8. πŸ€— nice meeting you. I just saw that you are also a 1 year user here but it is only today that I saw you.

Anyway, thank you. I am glad to know that my review is somehow able to convince you and I hope others as well. I am not really good in giving a very detailed review about food. If it is a skincare then I can really tell everything about what I have noticed some changes on my skin like what I did in my Celeteque article. Let me know if you have tried some of Korean ice creams listed above. It's really good most especially the Melona melon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap! I love ice cream too and would love to try this out, kaso wala yata yan dito.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maganda pala magtayo ng Korean grocery diyan. Hehe. Kaso lang ang problema kung meron bang Korean supplier diyan. Pero masasarap ice creams ng Korean. Parang pansin ko mas matagal matunaw yung sa kanila. Or feeling ko lang? πŸ˜… pero favorite ko naman dito sa atin Twin Popsies na orange. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I want to taste Korean ice cream, I am sure it would be delicious, specially the strawberry flavour.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you are fond of strawberries, you will really like it. The other day, most of the ice creams that I have tried were strawberries. πŸ˜… I was trying to eat a lot so I can publish more on Korean ice creams but I am still not done with the ice creams that are available in the store. So wait for the part 2 of this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago