Would You Try These Peculiar Treats? Yay or Nay?

20 68
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

If you have known me long enough, you would probably notice by now how I am really fond of anything that’s matcha green tea. I even have posted a couple of matcha-related articles in here, from my recent finds to those that I have discovered as I travel here in the neighboring Asian countries.

ICYMI, here are the links:

I love matcha to the point that I judge a good milk tea shop or any tea house by the authenticity of the matcha latte and other matcha concoctions that they offer. It is also usually the first thing that I check whenever I view the menu for drinks or desserts in particular.

Loving matcha is not just a fad that would eventually go away, at least for me, but I am aware that liking it is such an acquired taste and not everyone really gets to appreciate its leafy aftertaste (that can be described as bitter to some but to be honest, they might be just consuming a low-grade matcha powder). Some even despise its fame, but yes. to each their own. In my mind, whenever I hear such comments I am like, “Sure, I don’t really mind because you are not the one who’s going to be satisfied consuming all these matcha, anyway.” And we all have our favourite comfort food. Say, I don’t even eat crabs while my best friends are so into it. In the end, it’s all about what’s making us full and contented with whatever we eat and consume.

Not only was I on the minority (of those who actually genuinely like matcha), I also am so fond of trying out those that you can call the most random and the weirdest snacks/dishes. This post is all about that. They are not even really weird, but they are a bit unusual especially if you are not from Japan.

Oh, Japan. What a matcha heaven. God-willing, I really want to come back and try every matcha that I can get a hand on. The said food originated from that lovely country that’s why I am so fond of the place (and a whole lot of other reasons).

Anyway, let us start the short list, shall we?

MATCHA TONKATSU

Yes, you read that right. A tonkatsu with matcha.

Tonkatsu is a Japanese dish of fried, breaded pork. Usually there’s a side dish of grated cabbage and a slice of fruit (a pineapple or watermelon) that go along with a serving of it. This particular dish can be found in Osaka Osho restaurant (if you are curious and if you want to try.)

The verdict: To be honest it just might sound weird because who would have thought you can season your pork or chicken chop with matcha, right? But it is indeed edible and possible. There’s a faint hint of matcha in it but it is still fried pork and it tasted exactly just like that. But nothing out of the ordinary and I just ordered it for the sake of trying it. Tonkatsu is already good as it is, anyway (especially the cheese-filled ones). Now I am getting hungry.

———

MATCHA PASTA

If there’s a pork dish, there’s also a pasta dish that could go along with it from the same restaurant.

A flying matcha pasta, coming right up!

The verdict: The garnish and overall appearance look so appetizing! The pasta came with a side tonkatsu dish (that isn’t matcha flavoured because that would be overkill, I think.)

But taste-wise, it is…. pasta. Hehe. Aside from the colour which would be the evidence of mixing matcha with the standard pasta noodle and you know how all noodles kind of taste the same and usually just differ in texture? There isn’t really much difference, to be honest. But I’ll still order and eat it again, if it is back in their menu, for the ‘gram. Nah, because the price is almost the same as the usual combo meal, so why not go for something grand, right?

———

BANANA WITH MATCHA ALMOND

This banana with matcha almond is home-made and an experiment made by me, that’s why it doesn’t look too appetizing (at least like something that would be coming from a resto or whatever but I think it’s pretty decent?)

I recently bought a Feliz Green Tea Almond Spread online (it is a Korean brand) and it tasted so good (might be the best one yet!!!) on pastries and so I decided why not put it in a banana as well. We used to put Nutella chocolate and peanut butter on bananas as well and it isn’t any different than that.

The verdict: Well. Bananas gotta banana and do their thing. I don’t know what’s up with this fruit but anything that is being mixed with banana will turn up tasting like a banana, let’s say on milkshakes, fruit shakes and other concoctions. Not that I am complaining, though because banana is full of fiber and it is healthy to be eaten. So yeah, with a small hint of matcha and just enough crunch from the almonds, it tasted real well. Can’t wait to do one again!

Matcha almond spread sandwich by me

Bonus:

This isn’t really weird or anything but I am just amused by the name: a wordplay mixing green tea and mamon (a kind of a fluffy bread), hence, Greenteamon from Pan de Manila.

I used to buy one every morning as there’s a Pan De Manila neat our office. I miss it sometimes but I am grateful for the work from home setup now as I can just order any matcha powder and try them at home (and even bake my own matcha pastries when I have the time).

WHAT’S YOUR ULTIMATE COMFORT FOOD?

Let me know!

——

Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

This is by far one of the easiest prompts ever with me being a foodie and all. Although I did have a hard time trying to figure out what food that I can share and expound on. So in the end I chose the one that I truly love the most.

If you want to do your own take, here are the simple rules that you may follow:

  1. Write anything about food

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit your story to PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag : @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

You can read her original post here.

See you around!

A

End Note: All photos are taken by me unless credited otherwise.

6
$ 5.54
$ 5.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 3
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

Comments

Mahilig ka pala sa Matcha! Minsan mag try ako ng matcha flavored milktea kung meron man dito. Naalala ko lang nakatikim ako ng matcha flavored na Kitkat, nagustuhan ko talaga eh.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

super late reply nito pero oo naku fave ko talaga ang matcha haha. Yes masarap yang Kitkat din. Sa Japan galing yung mga authentic talaga din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your love for matcha is unquestionable :) The food in which matcha had been used are interesting and after looking at them, I am now wanting to eat again, haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahah tbh they tasted just like the usual dishes with just the smallest hint of matcha. It is just kind unusual to see it being used on something that isn't a dessert or a drink hehe yay to eating more! 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes when odd things or ingredients are used, it can be really good too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako di talaga ako mahilig sa matcha eh, hindi trip ng panlasa ko, ayaw makipag cooperate ng dila ko hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Troo! May mga kilala rin akong ganyan hahaha lasang damo daw kaya ayaw nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely Yay, to taste all those peculiar treats you've shown.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Glad to know you are game to try it heheh they are good!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine is always Humba made by my father but since I am too far from him, I probably would like the Jolly hotdog in Jollibee.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow your father must be a great cook, that's amazing! I love Jolly hotdog too hehd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know i already eat uhm ,5 cups of rice, however after i read this i think i meed an additional rice. Uhhhhhh why food so yummy

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Omg five cups of rice haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes hahahhahhaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I am very much open to try these foods. My brother told me the green paste looks nasty but I bet it's an add up to the flavor.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe yes, it may look kind of unusual and unappealing at first but they are alright

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay now let me explain that I am obsessed with food so yes I would technically eat all of them. no joke I really would. lol. matcha-tonkatsu is a yes for me I mean breaded pork I love pork. matcha pasta looks green but like I said don't judge a food by its cover lol anyways I don't want to flood your comment section just know that yes. I would eat all of that...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe yes breaded pork regardless of the additional seasoning is still so good. You're going to love it too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me it would be a yay to try all the ones you showed and also the bread looks tasty.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Green looks something the Hulk would consume but it may look unusual especially as a spread but it is good heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago