MATCHA-dventures in Taiwan!

2 32
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago

2019 has been a good one for the traveler in me. Through God’s provisions I was able to wander in Taiwan in March and explore Seoul, South Korea with my friends in September. It feels surreal to be able to go to places I could only dream of before. I will always treasure those moments that I get to spend in these lovely places.

First of hopefully many updates: My MATCHA-dventure!


Of course, I would not miss the opportunity to try matcha in the land of boba milk tea — Taiwan!


***


The general consensus: Matcha isn’t Taiwan’s strongest point (so stick to boba milk tea if you’re going to roam around). The drinks all tasted like jasmine green tea even when the label says matcha. It did not stop me from trying the goodies out and actually enjoying them, though.

Matcha latte (Xin Fu Tang)

There is a long queue for brown sugar milk tea but I opted to try their matcha latte. Apparently they have extended their franchise in the Philippines now too (one is located at The Podium) so if you are curious, you may also try it there.


There is a huge variety of food and drink stalls in Jiufen Old Street (village where the Ghibli movie Spirited Away was inspired by) so I got my thirst quencher in there. It is only on few occasions that people would ask if I like my drink with pearls first and I appreciate that they did because I am not really fond of tapioca pearls. I’ll eat them, alright, but if given the choice I always go for the pudding. The guy even knew we’re Filipino and was persuading us telling it’s masarap (good).  That’s cute.

When you’re on a budget trip, a 24/7 convenience store is your best friend. From quirky snacks to local dishes for dinner (tea boiled-egg and affordable noodle meal) to a vast selection of drinks and items that could even pass as pasalubong to your family members, friends and work colleagues (It is very handy if you don’t have much time to go to souvenir shops, to be honest. They’ve got all that you’d need. Almost.). Gladly, the 7-11/Family Mart’s abroad are like heaven with so many goodies to choose from. Matcha items included. Here are some of my hoards:



I scream for (matcha) ice cream!!! This one tasted like jasmine, though. 

***

Here are some matcha cookies on display on a flower park exhibit/souvenir store in Fongyuan District (I didn’t get to try them but I’ve snapped a photo of it for you know, matcha-documentation).

*** 

Visiting Taichung is a different story, though. Here we’ve found a good ice cream and tea place and it’s the highlight of this trip’s matcha-dventure.

The building in which MIYAHARA is located was once an opthalmology clinic (no wonder the logo has the eyeon it. Witty.) but it is now one of the must-visit places in Taichung. It is famous for their Taiwanese pastries, goodies, tea and... ice cream! The interior is pleasing to the eye too and it has reminded me of Harry Potter and Hogwarts.



MIYAHARA Ice Cream Parlour

Address: No. 20, Zhongshan Road, Central District, Taichung City, Taiwan 400

Operational Hours: Mon to Sun, 10:00 AM to 10:00 PM

But of course, I had to try the matcha one! To be honest I have already forgotten the other flavours that we picked but the matcha is good enough for me then.



***

BONUS: Not a matcha drink but this milk tea is a must-try and must-buy in Taiwan! It may look like something you could buy off an Avon brochure (powder) but this milk tea is surprisingly good.


Until the next matcha-dventure!

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago

Comments

galing ng photography skills mu kapatid.. para na rin ako naka travel sa Taiwan dito sa kwento mo. Galing! 🥰😍💗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, ate. Hehe nakakamiss po lumaboy-laboy at magtry ng kung anu-ano :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago