How to be a Call Center Agent

24 74
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

My sister wanted to share anothet article. This time it is about her knowledge in how the BPO industry works.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors

I've been asked a lot on how to pass a call center interview. As someone whose been working in the BPO industry for 5 years, I can confidently say that passing a call center interview is not that hard. Though it will only differ by training and in which account you will be profiled to. Jargon? No worries, it will be discussed later on. I decided to share my call center journey here as a newbie, just so those aspiring individuals will get an idea on how the BPO set up works.

As a fresh graduate way back 2016, I pursued to get a job in line with my course. But competition at that time is very high and I badly needed a job that will pay me a reasonable salary; we are indebted just for me to graduate. I couldn't wait for other companies to schedule me for an interview, that's why I kept on submitting my resume. Luckily, I was reffered by my friend's brother to apply in Sykes Asia Inc. What I'm going to share happened before the pandemic.

INTERVIEW

Some BPO only have 2 interviews, the initial and final. Some have online assessment and some don't. I was interviewed in WCC Branch. Usual questions asked in a Call Center interview are as follows:

• Can you tell me something about yourself that is not in your resume? You have to be very careful on this one. Follow up questions will depend upon your answers. Keep it short and simple. I usually introduced myself with my hobbies and now that Covid happened, I added how I spent my lockdown days.

• Why Call Canter? What do you know about the BPO industry? Interviewers commonly asked this for newbies. They want to know if you have researched well about the industry and check your drive to be part of the company. Your answer should not only focus about how you can benefit from the company but you also need to built up yourself here. Tell them how they can benefit from you. You can simply say, "BPO industry is one of the fastest growing industry in the Philippines and your company is listed as one of the best employer. I am hardworking and likes to take challenges. Who would not want to be part of the industry that will not only provide a good compensation but also helps me enhance my skills and ability".

• Out of the box questions. Be ready for questions like this. Some scenarios that the interviewer will give you are; describe the sky to a blind person, sell a ballpen to handicapped man or sell ice to North Pole. Just answer it confidently. There's no right or wrong answer to that anyways.

My tips while being interviewed; first, you need to be confident. Do not stutter and avoid fillers like "uhm". Posture is a must but don't be a robot. You can move your hands a little which also makes an impression that you are confident. Smile while talking and make eye contact to you interviewer.

POST INTERVIEW

After the interview they will make you wait at the lobby for the result. Once you have the result, other applicants will know if you pass or not. If you pass, you will leave the company with J.O and if not, you will leave empty handed. And that's ok. Failing is part of looking for a job. Even I at first until now, received a "no" from my applications.

The good old days, where interview process only took less than a day. Nowadays, you will have to wait for you to be schedule and some will ghost you (not get back to you for an update if you pass or fail). If you are a newbie, the interviewer will decide which account you will be profiled. And if you are a tenured applicant you can ask what account you want to be assigned, but it will still depend on the availability of the account.

Now, speaking of accounts, in BPO that's the term used to refer on which department you will be assigned. Some example accounts in BPO are Customer Service, Sales, Technical, Financial, etc. You might also encounter the words Inbound and Outbound account. Inbound account is the type of account where the customer will call you for assistance while Outbound account is when you are the one will call the customer to offer a service.

Now that you are hired, your employment is still at risk. During training, you will need to pass exams and mock calls to be called a true call center agent. At first, you will be discourage because some excels and you are left out. But believe me, once you get a hold of how the account works; which will only takes at least three weeks to a month, you can already received calls with your eyes closed.

There's no easy work/job. You just have to love what you're doing. Appreciate what you have and always remember the reason why you're working. As long as you don't degrade others, you can keep doing what you're doing.

My experience

My sister actually helped me a lot during my first interview for a BPO company. I also worked at where she had her first job.

I asked to be assigned in a chat support account which I believe is easier than taking calls. However, some veterans there think that being reassigned in our account is a downgrade especially since most of them started in calls.

For me, it was okay. The job was repetitive. I encounter some problems that even the veteran have yet to encounter and I learned a lot in how to handle those types of situations.

I left because as much as I find the salary good, I could not see myself doing it for a long time. I do not like what I was doing even if it was manageable. Maybe I am not cut out for it.

The experience taught me to appreciate the struggles of call center agents. There are some negative views attached to the job as if it is not a decent source of income. However, I believe that working in call center deserves recognition as much as other jobs.

It is not where one goes to when they could not finish their course. It is not a job below someone who finished a degree. It is a decent paying job that requires employees to have the necessary skills as well.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want someone to talk to about random things, you can find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/NpHWIYRNZib

19
$ 12.92
$ 12.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

My sister is a call center agent and I'm a fresh man college I kept on telling her that I wanna work part time job as a call center but she doesn't let me telling how exhausting this work is. Though she teach me some techniques on applying to an interview and what you write is almost exactly as she said. She doesn't want me yet to apply for a job

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think that if you are not tight on money then it is better to just focus on studying first. Your sister is right, it is exhausting and I believe that it is rare for a company to offer part time in the BPO industry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this one, I'm trying to apply in BPO but I can't pass through the interview, I feel nauseous everytime I get to asked. Thanks for this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hopefully, this article helps in somehow calming your nerves. Good luck on your job search!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being in the BPO industry is really a tough job..No jobs are easy ..anyway. and I kmow someone na napabayaan yung health noya kasi night shift ata siya then my anemia pala siya pero pinupush padinniya magpuyat...and she did that for her family..ngayon na pandemic naka homebased ata sila..kasi sa manila ung original na work place ..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh no, I hope she is taking care of herself na kahit papano. Puyat talaga yung pinaka mahirap na kalaban sa pagiging cc agent eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not as easy as it seems, you must be at your best behaviour all the time and be ready to accept insults....I'm happy tou found out that it isnt what you'd want to dwell on long term and went with your heart. Nowadays interviews are hard though, it's either they give you several scheduled dates or they dont accept the proposal.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I didn't have any experience to be any call center agent but one of my friends have. I love the way he talks with patients and polite.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Im am a call center agent also and a big YES to that "giving of recognition". I could say that it is not an easy job because you have to be flexible with working schedules that could affect both your mental and physical health. But still, laban mga bayaning puyat!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Bat ba kasi panget tingin nila sa CC agent no? Eh maayos na trabaho naman yun. Laban sa inyo!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've worked in BPO for 7 years and I must say that the job isn't easy at all. Whether you are taking calls or not, being a CCA is one tough job. Just imagine that you are trying to assist and resolve someone's problem thru phone or chat only. Without considering that you might encounter irate customers and the environment you are working with. I believe that those in that field should be treated with so much respect too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree. It is so irritating when people assume that what they do is just easy money. As if it is easy staying up late just to assist ungrateful people haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I see call centre agents as the professional ones. talking and pronouncing English politely and handling the call of people professionally. I don't see anything wrong in the field under your choice. Your at the right track...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know someone works as a call center agent. The time is no joke. I wonder how the other workers indure the time of their night shifts. 🤦🏻‍♀️ But good thing that the company where they work providing vitamins so that they can stay healthy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sometimes they even have to continue calls even after their shift and most of it were just unpaid OT. Wow, I hope all companies provide vitamins to their employees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also wanted to apply in a BPO company to earn fast money, but my health won't cooperate with that kind of work. Haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it is kinda hard to keep up with the schedule

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yahhh, especially the graveyard shift. Maybe I can't bare with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The graveyard shift and sleeping during the day is hard for me, i cant seem to rest and get enough sleep.. Until i decided to be a full time mom hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True, I think that is the hardest part of being a cc agent. Good for you for finally havinf enough sleep!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to try BPO since modular naman kami but I am not that confident HAHAHAHA, focus nalang muna sa school

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's better to focus muna sa school. Mahirap pagsabayin kasi nakakapagod din yung work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my BPO days. I didn't last long for I really can't stand the work. I love the people and most of them I am friends with until now. However, the nature of work is not for me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess that we just don't have an affinity for it HAHA. Although, I kinda envy you since you are still friends with them. Well it was my fault that the communication stopped since I unfriended my ex-workmates when I was in that weird place of wanting to isolate myself from everyone HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago