How Do You Discipline Your Child?

47 30
Avatar for Yzza0625
2 years ago

April 08,2022 (Friday)

What is discipline? How are you going to impose discipline to your house or to your children? What kind of parent are you?

According to Mareng Merriam-Webster, discipline is a training to mold, correct, or perfects the mental faculties or moral character. It is a way of penalizing for the sake of enforcing obedience.

When I was young, my father has military way of imposing discipline in the house. He is a former military and he brought the discipline he had during his training. We were cautious in commiting mistakes for we know what would be our consequences. Here are some ways of how our father punish us if we did something that is not pleasing to him.

  • Sack Punishment

This is the most brutal punishment in the house. In this punishment, you are being put inside the sack. He then tie the opening and he will hang you in the tree. After that he will make fire and let the smoke go after you. I haven't tried this kind of punishment before. It was my sister and the oldest biological son of my father who experienced this kind of punishment. My sister was just lucky that I was there and was able to call for help, so she was not hanged.

  • Chain Punishment

I experienced this one. I was being chained inside the house for I did not listened to not to go to the floating cottage. As young as I am, I always love to go to the floating cottage for I can see different fish that made me amazed. I know that my father already forbade me to go there but sometimes I felt envious of my playmates who freely run back and forth in that cottage. That day, I thought that my father already left for work so I sneak out and went to the floating cottage. But then, I didn't notice that he went back to the house for he was being called by the nature. Then he saw me in the middle of the cottage and with a thundering voice, he called me. I was shaking already for I knew that I'll receive punishment because of what I did. When I got home, he grabbed me and chained me. I cried so hard for I was petrified. I was being freed when my mother came home from work.

  • Belt/Broom/Hanger Punishment

Who can relate to this one. This is the most common punishment of every parent before. Me and my sister tried this many times for we were so naughty when we were young. We always got into fights which is very natural of every kids.

  • Kneel on the Salt

I also tried this one. I still remember why I got this punishment. My sister and I did not listened when our mother told us not to play in the drainage. The drainage in our place is not the same in the drainage in city areas where the water is already black because of the wastes being thrown. Ours, in the province is clean especially after raining. So, that time it was raining and me and my playmates, including my sister, got enticed by the flowing water. We played there and got wet. Our father saw us and called us home. He was so furious that we didn't listen to our mother. He got a salt and spread it in front of the altar and instruct us to kneel on it. It was very painful but we deserved it for we were so hardheaded. We remained in that position for an hour.


There are still a lot ways of how our parents discipline us. I just listed these four for these are unforgettable for me. Despite of these punishments that we experienced, I am still thankful that our parents corrected our disobedience. We grow as a good person not just in our family but also in our community.

I got these topic when my cousin informed me that my sister slapped her son. I asked the reason why my sister did that and she told me that my sister was mad for her son talked her back when she scolded him. My cousin wants me to talk to my sister to not hurt her son. But I didn't confront her for I know that she is just disciplining her child.


Thank you for reading this far guys. I appreciate it so much. Till next time.

Sponsors of Yzza0625
empty
empty
empty
Flaunting my amazing and generous sponsors.

Lead image is edited using Canva app.

13
$ 4.69
$ 4.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @Tamia
+ 2
Sponsors of Yzza0625
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yzza0625
2 years ago

Comments

I've been through punishments too when I was younger, but the ones I can remember is the belt, hanger, and a few broomsticks πŸ˜… Also, I was tied to a tree as punishment for a very shallow reason. But still, I grew up as a better person. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi gyud mudisiplina ang mga parents sauna sir no. Pero disiplinado man pud ang mga anak inig dako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes maam, I can still say nga na tul-id ko karon but then naa pui times nga mo sobra usahay maam, kasungot 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mama only gives belt though and maybe there were a few stick punishment before while younger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maayu kay kana ra imong nasuwayan sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uu sis.. kay mao man sad ang discipline sa iyang parents before.. giingnan daw si mama nga sa may butt area ra jd pero sakit japon uy..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maayu c.e sis. Bitaw sakit man gihapon bisan sa butt ra sis, mamuwa man hihapon ang gibunalan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu mamula japon pero mas less ang sakit compared sa.other parts sa body

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stick, belt and walis tingting are the things being used by our parents to discipline us before. Yes, we are thankful for those things that we can say we are a good people in the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess, that is true sis. Mas marespeto at disiplinado ang mga kabataan noon kaysa ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati kasi allowed pa ang discipline peru ngayon mahirap na kasi minsan ikaw pa maging mali

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never experience that before with my father. But in elementary, I encountered lot as disciplinary actions. I experienced sitting on the air, kneeling on the mongoes or bottle cap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaexperience pud ko ana sa school sir.πŸ˜… Those days nga pwede pa mamatu ug eraser ang mga teachers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be punished with the mistakes of my other siblings than my own mistake. That's why I am proud to say that I learned to obey as early as grade one haha. When my father had the first signal(furious eyes widened) then we will all behave well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, ba't naman ikaw pinapagalitan sis? Effective ang mga ganyan dati no, pero ngayon naku, ayaw na makinig kahit nakasigaw ka na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah di langnpagalit po, palo talaga. all is well. Pero okay lang atleast lahat kaming magkakapatid matino ngayon at walang naligaw ng landas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess kaya thankful pa din kahit ganun mga parents natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo po, at the end of the day iniexplain naman ni papa bakit nya nagawa un. From an early age namulat na ako sa pamilyang may love at respeto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have different types of disciplining kids. Kawawa tayo noon kasi konting pagkakamali palo agad. I know di sya maganda pero matino mga bata noon, ngayon ang titigas ng ulo kasi di sanay ng napapalo mahirap mamalo ng bata ngayon kasi baka mabantay bata ang magulang. I guess at the end of the day proper guidance will make a better children in the future. As a parent iniiwasan ko mamalo pero pag sobra di talaga maiwasan hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis. Ngayon, ingat na ingat na ang mga parents kasi pwede na isumbong pag nananakit. Me too, di ko maiwasa na di mapalo ang anak ko pero di naman masyadong malakas. Naawa din kasi ako pagkatapos.hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pareho tayo sis, alam ko kasi ung sakit na mapalo kaya as much as possible ayaw ko maranasan ng mga anak ko, pero may times talaga na di ko mapigilan hahaha! Pero kinakausap ko naman after:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha naalala ko dito ung ipasok kami ni mama sa sako tatlo kami ng mga kapatid ko tapus pagmaya2 unti tahimik na mama namin dahan2 na namin butasin ung sako para maka labas,,nasubukan din namin many time ung paluhurin sa bigas ng 30mins pagtayo namin kurting bigas na ung mga tuhod namin hahaha yong papa ko kasi di siya namamalo pero yong mama ko ayyy naku hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy mas nakakatakot pala mama mo sis kaysa sa papa mo.hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yung sa sako te. Arang kakulba ba. Maglisod cguro ka ginhawa te kung naa nakas sud sa sako. Sa tanan te, broom lang gayud akong na experience. Ang uban wala na gayud. Silhig ra taman akong mama. Si papa ko masuko pero dili manakit. Si mama lang sa bata pako te.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maayu c.e Lang. Sakit man pud nang silhig basta usa ra katukog ang ibunal.haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe gayud te. Mayo gani te kana gayung daghan dili ng usa kay sakit gayud. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh, I really didn't like being punished. Haha. That's why when I was young I learn the art of behaving. So that I can avoid those palo at hataw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy good boy siya.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when me and my siblings are in trouble, we will rush to go inside our house and get our own pillows to protect ourselves from my father's punishment. Then we will end up all crying with some bruises

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masakit na sa katawan after.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasuway kog luhod og asin og gihikot sa haligi pero kausa rapud to nahitabo sis .Karun nga inahan nako ,kusi rajud labi nag di na madag estorya akong anak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swerte ang mga bata karun sis kay wa na kasuway ug grabi nga way sa pagdisiplina. Ako makahapak ko sa akong anak pero dili lang pud nako kusgan pag-ayu. Maluoy man gud ko inig kahuman.πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakos jud ug kanang paludhon sa asin nga naay monggos, grabe ka sakit, nya sa gawas rami gipakatog pirting daghan sa lamok. Haha Tagsa ra msuko akong papa pero wagas sad. Cguro ug mu dako na akong baby bakson Ra nko ug Dili madala ug storyaπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy kasakit atung naay monggos sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakit kaayo sis, saon mga laagan man, maoy gidangatan. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of it na experience tlga sis. Yan yung ngpa disiplina tlga sa akin ahhaa. Naalala ko it was so fun by playing the drainage. Totoo dn nmn malinis kasi ang drainage nuon lalo na bagong gawa pa lng ang linis nmn ng tubig.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Effective naman ang kanilang pagdidisiplina sa'tin sis no? Mas masunurin pa ang mga kabataan noon kaysa ngayon. Yeahhh, lalo na pag bagong ulan, sarap maglaro. Di naman kasi marumi ang tubig eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanga sa bayabas ang akong na experience sis ug kanang tukog. Grabe jud kasakit ba, mag iyak Tawn ko pag ayo pero Panagsa ra hinuon...ang akong ig agaw, gisulod pud sa sako niya mas worst kay gipaasuhan pa siya sa Iya mama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi kaayu sis no? Karun dili na jud na pwede. Kaisug pud atung iyang mama sis. Mura man pud ug akong tatay. Pero karun wala na ng mga ing-ana niya sis. Perti na niya kasoft sa iyang mga apo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isog Lage kaayo sis kung masuko. Di na pwede ng ingon Ana Sab karon sis kay naa UNYA uban magreklamo. Di na kadali-dali ug disiplina sa mga bata karon man kay palaban dayon ug DSWD...Mapinanggaon jud kaayo ng mga lolo ug lola sa ilang mga apo sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bitaw sis, maong ang uban magsalig na. Dili na maminaw badlungon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung nakakunot yung kilay ko while reading. Grabe na yung sack, parang kriminal naman di na makatao yan. Haaaaay. Naaalala ko nung time na pinalo ako ng father ko ng belt and the tip of the belt hit my eye. Ayun Blackeye.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, grabi talaga yun. Naku yan yung sobrang sakit sis. Yung matamaan sa buckle ng belt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman yung buckle, yung kabilang dulo pero saktong sakto sa mata ko heuhuehue

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh yung dulo pala sis. Buti hindi napano ang mata mo sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maajo gani bakus ra amo sauna maamsh. Karun di na jod pwede na kay basin itug ans dswd hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gajud mamsh. Swerte ang mga bata ron kay di na mapasakitan ug ing-ana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago