A Problem Has Been Solved Today

0 43
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago
Topics: Blogging, College
Lead Image edited on Canva

Can someone bring me a calendar and tell me that it's already the second day of June today? Ugh! Time really flew so fast. It feels like I'm an actor that has a fast-paced life.

Anyways, I just wanted to share what happened today and what problem that has been resolved.


It was announced not later this year that we are going to have midyear classes to catch up with our subjects. And as for me who travels to school every time I have classes, it's a problem. Problem because of the inconveniences of waking up early in the morning, fare, food, and for the time that is being wasted every time that I travel going to school.

My place is one and a half hours away from school and it's such a hassle for me. Even though I already tried commuting and I got used to it already, it's something that I wouldn't want to continue. We have four days of classes this midyear and it requires going to my department to attend laboratory classes. And by that, I thought of settling down in the village near my department and a room that is affordable and can be my home away from home.

I was with my classmate Charl this afternoon and we went looking for boarding houses. Actually, I already found a boarding house prior to today. It was the adjacent room to my classmate's room. She informed me that it was still available. It was nice but it has some red flags and so I insisted on looking for other options.

We checked two boarding houses today and it already includes the other one that has some minimal red flags. The first one that we took a look at is in the same village. The rates are affordable but the room doesn't feel like it's a room. It's just a plain room that looks so humid and they use padlocks for each door.

I didn't like it because of the padlocks. I know it can be easily accessed just by hammering it. And the place really doesn't look like a room at all. Although the price can be deceiving, I know for a fact that I wouldn't enjoy staying there. There are also rules in there that it feels like a dorm. The curfew is at 9 pm and visitors are not allowed. There is no submeter for each room and we have to pay for every appliance that we are going to bring, not including the generalized electrical fee for all the occupants. It was also mentioned that they have surprise inspections of every room that made me uncomfortable.

One thing that made me decide not to go there was the internet. Only one gadget is allowed to connect to the internet even if I am going to pay for the right amount. The landlady told us that if we have two gadgets, the other one will be blocked. Also it's not really affordable. They have Piso net but if we are going to use the internet for a month, it would cost us 400 pesos.

We then decided to check out the room that was adjacent to my classmate's room. We were greeted by the Aunt of the owner of the boarding house which was very nice and owns a carinderia in front of the property.

The room cost two thousand pesos and it's already affordable for me. It has nice communal bathrooms, terrace, kitchen, rooftop, internet connection, and the room is quite big. The floors were also tiles which I like very much.

I mentioned earlier that it has some red flags. The room that I like is on the second floor of the building. There is an available comfort room but it's not functional as the water does not reach the second floor. The room also has no source of ventilation as the windows were removed and replaced by a plywood to seal the room. My classmate told me that it was sealed by a plywood because the previous occupant put an aircon in the room. There was also a stock room inside the room that made the room feel small.

I got to talk to the owner via video call this afternoon and he agreed that he can get the windows fixed. I also told him that I want the partition inside the room to be removed. The partition is not an issue for me if I will just be the one to occupy the room but we needed space because there will be two of us that are going to use the room. The owner was nice and I think that I can get along with him plus I found out that they are not really strict with their occupants.

I was close to going back to my previous boarding house earlier as I was too stressed already because the classes were initially announced to start by next week. I told my friends that I no longer want stressors and it would be convenient for me to just go back. But one thing that I did not like in my previous boarding house was the room itself. Water leaks inside the room because the gutter roof has a problem. We have raised the concern to the owners and they didn't even do something about it. That's why I do not want to go back there anymore even if I have friends there.

I'm just really glad that I got to solve a problem today. Now, I can enjoy my 11 days of summer vacation before I finally move into my new boarding house.


Author's Note:

11 days of summer vacation also means catching up with the writing prompts that I missed, writing the ideas in my mind, upvoting and commenting on your works. Hooray! I'm not going to promise that I will be that much active since I also want to enjoy my vacation but I am sure that I am going to allot time on noisecash and readcash again. Thank you for reading this!

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Check out my other blogs!

7
$ 6.45
$ 6.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.03 from @ZehraSky
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago
Topics: Blogging, College

Comments