Simulation and Emulation of life in Tokyo, Japan

20 91
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

I wish to express some of my feelings coming from the past.

I am not fond of stories. But, today, I remember some memories from the past. Those are the personal experiences I had during the days of my postdoctoral research stay in Tokyo, Japan (2000 - 2002).

Based on my experience, I can say that "Life is first a simulation (learning) and then an emulation (implementation) of different behavioral actions."

  • It is my personal experience with simulated emulations with life.

  • Allow me to describe it without any inhibitions.

Image 01: I have created a GIF image using texts from the title and Photos by Photo by javier trueba and name_ gravity on Unsplash.


I worked for my research with a professor at The University of Electro-Communications on a Japanese Government Scholarships

I availed myself of a Japanese Government Scholarships and visited the Japanese university on leave from my scientist job in the ministry of defence, India (2000 - 2002). It was not difficult to get selected for an international scholarship. But, getting my leave sanctioned from a government job for going abroad was tough.

Finally, after resolving all dirty processing tits bits in my Indian office under Defence Research & Development Organization, headed by the late Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, who later also became the President of India, I could arrive at the dream place of my research study!

The current university facilities and infrastructure are highly sophisticated. Interested readers and prospective students may look at the information from the university's official website and its YouTube channel.

Image 02: Source video "Profile of "The University of Electro-Communications" Tokyo Japan." More information at the UEC website.


Chofu, Tokyo, is a beautiful town to live

The city of Tokyo is beautiful. It has both urban life and calm country life on the outskirts of the city. There are high-rise buildings and scenic gardens full of greeneries.

Image 03: Source video "Profile of "The University of Electro-Communications" Tokyo Japan." More information at the UEC website.

The university campus is situated very near the Chofu railway station on the Shinjuku Keio Line. Chofu is quite developed and clean. The municipality of Chofu looks after the town.

  • There is a beautiful botanical garden near our university campus in Chodu, Tokyo. A garden is a place of frequent visitors during the weekends. The name of the garden is called Jindai-Ji botanical garden.

Image 04: Source "Jindaiji Temple Chofu."

  • There is an old temple called the Jindaiji temple. Old and young people visit the temple during the weekends. On the new year's day, one may expect a big crowd in all temples in the town.

Image 05: Source "Jindai Botanical Garden."

Our life in Tokyo was very enjoyable. We learned many new things other than language. We were taught Japanese songs. There were many outings in karaoke restaurants along with the teachers. We were introduced to the Japanese culture and lifestyle.


Sponsor of this article:

Image source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


We took the mandatory "Intensive Japanese" language course

All the research students have to take a mandatory Japanese language course because life in Japan requires the Japanese language. Without knowing Japanese, it isn't easy to survive in day-to-day communications in the university as well as in the marketplace, bank, post office, etc.

In the beginning, we were seven students in the Intensive Japanese language course. After two weeks, two more students joined and the class strength became nine. We were from different countries - Bangladesh, China, India, Lithuania, Mongolia, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Sri Lanka.

We were five girls and four boys in the Japanese language class. Five teachers taught us five days a week. The class used to start sharp at nine in the morning. There used to be a lunch break for about one and a half hours. The lectures used to continue up to five.


Bringing it altogether

I must admit that my experience of living and studying at a Japanese university was full of fun, and recreation, that I can never forget.

I learned a new language and carried out research works in the cutting-edge technology area of information phonics and optical signal processing. In terms of practical learning, I received tremendously from all the simulation and emulation exercises in UEC, Tokyo.

Image 06: Source video "Profile of "The University of Electro-Communications" Tokyo Japan." More information at the UEC website.

  • I mixed with students from many countries, made friends with them, and exchanged our respective cultures and knowledge about life. The living experience, along with a bunch of international students, was rewarding for my entire life.

  • My entire stay in Tokyo, Japan, is once in a lifetime experience I always cherish.

  • I acquired new experiential knowledge and added many new skills to my belt.

Before visiting Tokyo, Japan, I used to see photos and videos about Japan but didn't have a first-hand experience of life there. Now I have a first-hand knowledge due to direct exposure to the place and people.

  • I will write these stories of "simulation and emulation of my life in Japan."

  • Please watch out for the future episodes of this series.

Image 07: Source video "Profile of "The University of Electro-Communications" Tokyo Japan." More information at the UEC website.


I am Unity here and write articles on various topics

  • I am a hardcore technology researcher and contribute to the overlapping areas of STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics).

  • I  have experience working on cybersecurity and information security, specifically graphical authentication security.

  • I am active on "LinkedIn" and a budding Podcaster.

  • I create content on "ReadCash," "NoiseCash," and I also publish blogs in other spaces, such as Publish0x.

If you have some time, consider exploring "Learning Times" and other channels on Odysee-dot-Com and earn crypto coin LBRY Credit or LBC for consuming and creating content.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image: I have created a GIF image using texts from the title and Photos by Photo by name_ gravity and javier trueba on Unsplash.

All other images are either drawn/created by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

June 28, 2022

#life #learning #simulation #emulation

21
$ 3.86
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.04 from @Bilqees
+ 11
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

この時に色んあ人が日本語を学んでる。日本のパソコンネットから読んだいかも。日本人友達が話した、しごとばしょにヴァッションシステムじゃなかったから、FTP使うだった:皆んながファイルをたくさん回消さったから(overwrite)だからしごとがもたもたになった。

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, Japanese is a language on demand by business firms. But, my article is in English. I don't find any link with "FTP" here. Anyway, it is fun to get a comment in Japanese.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Japanese people usually get very surprised too, if you start talking to them in Japanese. They don't expect it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is natural. Who would expect a foreigner learns their language? So what languages do you speak, read, and write?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hungarian is my native language. I have learned English as a kid, by watching English cartoons. And i'm learning Japanese now as an adult, by watching anime :D What about you?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bangla (Bengali) is my native language. I learned English as a second language which is mandatory in Indian schools. I also learned Sanskrit as a third language for four years in high school. I learned Hindi by listening, one of India's main official languages. I can write Hindi as it uses the Devanagari script from Sanskrit. As a requirement in Japan, I took a one-semester Intensive Japanese language course. I could read and write a few hundred Kanji characters which I almost forgot.

I know very little about Hungary. I heard that its capital Budapest is situated on the two sides of a river. I listened to a few piano performances by Hungarian artists.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here (back then) most schools offered some German, but no English whatsoever. German was also forced upon me for a decade or so, but i couldn't even ask for a glass of water in German, so unfortunately, language education in schools are not the best here. Nowadays, its maybe different, as more and more schools offer some English too. I also lack the wide knowledge of kanji, i might know 200-300 or so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Recognizing 200-300 Kanjis is quite good!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Far from being impressive imho. Reading a newspaper would need about 1000.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. We were required to learn about 2000 Kanjis to be able to attend lectures by Japanese professors. But, most international students managed qualified it with less than 500 Kanjis! Because most professors were kind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Japan is one of my dream places to visit. I hope I can go there soon. So lucky you are to have that experience. God bless you, and good luck with your journey. Nice to meet you by the way.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad to get your comment. Japan is a beautiful country. I find other countries are also unique in their ways. Our country India is a nice place to visit - it has the Himalayas in the north, the Indian Ocean in the south, beautiful river valleys in the east, and even a fraction of desert in the west.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. You are very lucky that you have been in Japan. It is almost everyone's dream to visit Japan and you are so lucky to see the beautiful country. Can you now speak Japanese?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I could speak and read Japanese because I took a mandatory one-semester Intensive Japanese language course. Now I am out of practice. But, with a script, I can read it in almost perfect pronunciation!

Thank you. Incidentally, I thought about writing these experiences while I wrote a significant comment on your post.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's my number one goal location to explore once in my life. Looking forward to know your experience and events of Japan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As I lost most of the old photographs on a damaged hard disk, I will have to remember and write. Some printed pictures are there. I will try to scan and post them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! That was a great experience. There were also scholarship offers from the Japanese government before but I was not yet qualified during that time. I remember it was about disaster risks management and I wasn't holding that program.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If you directly contact a few searched professors and show your work experience relevant to their research programs, they may send you the scholarship form and support your application.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As of now, I am not sure if I still want to avail of a scholarship program. I might travel to Japan and other countries but for a vacation and not work or education related.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is okay. You may pass on the information to your close acquaintances who are considering an academic scholarship in Japan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago