Difference Between Empathy and Sympathy

28 112
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

What is sympathy

You and I know what sympathy is.

When you and I walk on the streets, we sometimes see poor people sitting with begging bowls. Some of the kind people among us always make it a point to put a one rupee coin in some of the bowls.

  • We donate a tiny fraction of what we have in our pocket.

  • Some people donate a good amount of money to the poor asking for money.

  • All these noble acts are done out of sympathy.

So, we know what sympathy is.


And what is empathy?

Now, since we have discussed sympathy with examples, may I ask you about the other very similar word called empathy?

  • The word empathy is used so many times in our conversation.

Do you know what is empathy?

  • I didn't know the meaning of empathy very clearly.

I understood later that empathy and sympathy are not synonymous.


Empathy and sympathy are not the same.

Many of us may think empathy and sympathy are synonymous.

Sympathy and empathy are two noble emotions in the living world.

  • Both sympathy and empathy are compassion, but not the same.

  • Every animal world probably understands them very well.

  • But, we humans (such as I) don't understand the difference between sympathy and empathy very clearly.

  • I got some help from a short film named "Bondhu," which means "Friend."

After I watched the short film "Bondhu" or "Friend" my idea about empathy and sympathy get a clear understanding.

Please watch the film in the embedded video. It may take less than 5 minutes!

It has excellent English subtitles.

Video Source


Concluding thoughts

  • Both sympathy and empathy are compassion but not synonymous.

But there is a sharp demarcation between sympathy and empathy.

  • I don't think I can clearly express empathy using words.

  • If you watched the short film "Bondhu," you got the meaning.

Empathy probably relates the feelings by seeing problems in our minds.

  • It is like wearing other people's shoes and feeling the world from their perspectives.

I hope I could make it clear what empathy and sympathy are.


Postscript

  • Don't worry.

  • You and I are in the same boat.

  • Don't bother whether it is sympathy or empathy.

Let us show compassion for our fellow companions of the planet.


[Sponsor of this article]

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image:  I created a GIF using my title texts and screenshots from "Bondhu."

All other images are either drawn/created/screenshots by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#empathy #sympathy #compassion #love #life

Oct 15, 2022

29
$ 6.07
$ 4.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.10 from @rezoanulvibes
+ 19
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

In nursing empathy is more encouraged than sympathy. But you are very much correct both of them are a good thing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I like the compassion culture.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said! I remember struggling with trying to understand the difference between sympathy and empathy. I get that they are different, but you're correct, it's difficult to explain though I think you did an amazing job of it in your penultimate paragraph. Nevertheless, your conclusion is excellent and absolutely true: Whether empathy or sympathy, it's important for us to show compassion for our fellow companions of the planet. Beautiful, my friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am so happy to read your detailed comment. Let us spread the message of compassion among the blogging community.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

An easy way to remember the difference
(this may not translate from English...):

An Empath can feel how someone else "feels".

("Sympath" would have no sensible meaning.)
=
In my youth,
I learned the beautiful word "Empath" from
various Science Fiction authors
and exquisitely depicted by such as Zenna Henderson and Andre Norton.

  • Sympathy refers to simply recognizing some aspect of what others feel.
  • Empathy refers to simply identifying with how others feel.
  • Empaths, on the other hand,
    can physiologically sense what others feel, possibly remotely.

Hope this helps

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Does this mean that empathy is more than sympathy? To sympathize is to understand some feelings at a certain level while to empathize is knowing the exact feeling or at least close it?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes.

  • Sympathy is an observation from a 'social distance', perhaps inspiring charity. Sympathy is recognition.
  • Empathy is actually about experiencing the feelings to some extent. Empathy 'shares the pain/joy/feelings/etc' ... in a personal way.
    The stories of husbands feeling nausea while at work when their pregnant wives have morning sickness events abound.
$ 0.01
1 year ago

They are two different words. And as it has been said that Sympathy is when you feel pity for someone and do something to help. But empathy is when you sense or imagine someone's feeling or what they are thinking.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am happy that you read it and understood the difference.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to think sympathy and empathy were used interchangeably. But they have different meanings, I found out after reading your article.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I appreciate your time and understanding of sympathy and empathy :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought they were synonymous too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Long ago, I also didn't know it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said the course read in university has taught me so much about it, and we try not to show sympathy in most situation but empathy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good. I like it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great way of differentiating empathy and sympathy. Sometimes I also find it hard to differentiate both because there were times that I lack both, but not always

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have faith in yourself, and show compassion to your fellow citizens.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Frankly speaking I didn't even knew another word similar to Sympathy existed, lol. Both are needed to become a good understanding person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right. We need to bring a culture of compassion.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sympathy meaning we are feeling sorry for others. Empathy meaning we could feel the paon of others and considering it our own. This is what you mentioned about empathy. It is clear. Stepping in others shoes. I just googled to find out the meanings.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad to know that you understand sympathy and empathy :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks to you. It is always nice to learn the meaning of new words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I lack both this compassion sympathy and empathy, how others feel I don't care much, and what others need I don't care either I need to be more compassionate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pretty bad, as others may say :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Normally people took both in similar meaning to show a good gesture to others especially when they need or we feel them in need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, both mean being compassionate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't watch the video this time because i am out of data and using data saving mode..... But empathy in my opinion is.... "entering into the feelings of another"

, sympathy, vicarious emotion, understanding are similar words for it...

Empathy is the capacity to understand or feel what another person is experiencing from within their frame of reference,

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Correct. It is being compassionate from other person's perspectives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago