Teachers need to be well treated

17 62
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Today is the 25th day in the month of April, slowly the month of April is getting to an end. It seems like the 1st of April was just yesterday. How time flies!

This article would be my 22nd article in 25 days, I must really commend myself for trying to publish an article everyday. Even though I know there are much room for improvement and more to be done in increasing the quality of my content.

I have always wished to write informative articles, but so far most of my articles aren’t that informative as I would like them to be. Some of write-ups might be considered random bant as they might not be worthy to be called an article, but seeing so much comments on them makes me speechless. I am thankful for everyone who takes their time to go through them.

I think I need to start reading more books so I can write and produce more meaningful content. For you can only write, teach or talk about what you truly know and not what you don't.

My love for teaching

I have this urge and yearning to teach since I was in high school. I can remember when I just graduated from high school teaching was the first job I got involved in. I actually enjoyed every aspects of teaching except the pay.

I could remember my first teaching job in the latter part of 2016. I was earning roughly $16 monthly despite all the stress. I was taking the highest class in the primary school which was primary 5&6 and I have an average population of a dozen pupils.

Teaching is a really stressful job as it takes a lot of mental strength and physical too. The lack of humane treatment and the preparation to enter college (university) made me leave the job, even a month after leaving the job I was still owed by the owner of the school. It was a struggle to collect the money I was owed.

I did extremely well in my university entrance examination usually called UTME (an acronym for Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination) but I was unable to gain admission into the university due to the high cut off mark. I was disappointed, even people who knew me thought I was given admission because of my score.

I went back

After spending some months doing nothing at home. I decided to give teaching another shot, I got employed in another school and with better salary and a better teaching condition, but the stress involved was more than my previous teaching job as I now find myself dealing with more than 20 pupils.

I really enjoyed the time I spent teaching kids because you can never be sad whenever you are with kids and teaching also sharpens one's mind, but there isn't any fun in the salary as it wasn't matching the stress of the job.

I left the job too and I told myself I will never get involved in teaching in any private organization that is bent on exploiting staffs for their own profit

Why we need to treat teachers well

Making sure teachers are well treated and giving them good pay is one of the ways of increasing the level and quality of education in any country. Because a happy teacher would treat and teach his or her students well thereby making the students happy. If the students are happy; they tend to learn a lot.

Most teachers in my country are under-payed; especially those in small and medium private school. Some are even paid wages below the minimum National wage.

We all should know that teachers are essential to learning process, they are the ones that help children develop their personalities and character. Teachers spend their days making a difference in children lives. Therefore it is of the utmost importance that they are happy and feel valued.

Shout out to all my teachers and all the good teachers in the world. You all are the future builders

I can't overemphasize thanking my readers. What is an article without readers?

@foryoubtc09 thanks for the sponsorship

22
$ 4.78
$ 4.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.06 from @Big-E
+ 19
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Actually you are right. It is almost in every ciuntry that teachers are not treated well or get paid which they works hard for. If we talk about the tuition then the parents wants to get their childrens educated in a short cost. In school or college the comity takes the huge profit and does not pays the teachers as the stress they take while teaching.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I never liked teaching for one due to the "stamped/fixed" low payment coupled with stress. Yes, People say that if you love teaching, you do it regardless of the payment but that... I throw accolades to teacher for their undying efforts not matching with the stipends. I wish the system to change soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish for changes too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to love teaching young kids but i no longer enjoy it as much as teaching adults. Truly, teachers need to be treated better , especially in this country of ours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teaching kids isn't easy at all. Yes teachers needs better pay and treatment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teachers needs to be treated well, and their pay is meant to be the highest cause there are behind education. I love to teach too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We like some of our teachers very much and we don't like some of our teachers very much The teachers we like also like the students if we are readers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teachers are heroes who are very meritorious for the next generation, without teachers we will only be stupid humans.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teachers should be treated well at all times. Teachers develop us as real conscientious people. Teachers contribute a lot as a good person and in achieving success in life. So we have to respect our teachers and behave well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teachers are like parents but wait Not just like that also teachers must be fair with all the students so if they are loyal to their work then definitely they deserve this word. teachers are the one who we became something in this society we learn many things from them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be very honest, you just made my day. Thank you for appreciating all the teaches out there and thank you for encouraging those that studied educational courses in the university. It means a lot to me

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Uncle Tomi. Hahaha. That has a nice ring to it. I have been a teacher too, so I can understand what stress you speak of. I remember myself and my friend were the only male teachers and we were also the highest paid which was about $20.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It doesn't ring a bell probably because that isn't my first name 😅.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teaching is the one thing I haven’t tried I think I might be good in it but I because of the stereotype and how teachers are treated I don’t think I would try it at least not now but sha you are right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Teachers put in a lot of effort; it's not easy to be a teacher since the responsibilities are numerous yet the remuneration is minimal; teachers need to be recognized for their efforts.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh God🤩22 articles in 25 days?? That is a huge feet. Incredible. By the way, teachers are the back bone of a nation, so they must be treated better.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Kudos to all teachers out there, they all need to be appreciated. It is not an easy task and the pay is very little, the movie Chalk and Duster spoke a lot on teaching.

$ 0.00
1 year ago