Success is relative

40 70
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

13-06-2022

9:10 pm WAT

Note this article was intended to be published yesterday

A new week is here again. Day by day we are counting ourselves out of June.

An important date in Nigeria

Today twelfth of June is a significant date in my country as today marks democracy day. Formerly democracy day was celebrated on the 29th of May, but the present administration decided to change it to June 12 after much debate and yearning for the change of date to June 12 by many political analyst and activist.

Why June 12?

June 12 was the date of a popular and significant election in the history of Nigeria. The election which happened on the 12th of June, 1993 was the first of its kind. According to historians it was the first election where Nigerians put away with tribal and religious sentiment and with an overwhelming majority to elect a candidate called "MKO Abiola" as the president elect.

What makes the date of the election memorable was that the then military leadership annulled the election and its result, despite being one of the freest and credible election to happen in the history of the country

The reason for the annulment is still uncertain till today. The memory of how the country was deprived of a democratically elected leader still remained in the memories of Nigerians. That was why, when democracy was finally restored in 1999. A lot of people wanted June 12 to be the nation’s democracy day as a remembrance of what happened in 1993.

Lessons from Duolingo activity

Well this wasn’t the actually topic I had intended to write about but opening to new page I felt it is right to mention about yesterday; democracy day.

My article today would be inspired by my activities on duolingo. As many of my readers and friends might have come to know I am interested in French and I'm learning the language all thanks to the free learning platform provided by the duolingo app.

For the past three weeks after much previous hiatus in learning I have decided to take my learning quite serious than I ever did.

For those who are familiar with the app, learning on duolingo is like playing a game and there is a leaderboard where you get ranked according to the points (XP) you gathered, and also there leagues (ten in number). One can get promoted and demoted according to his or her performance after a week of learning. I feel the Leardboard promote competition and encourage one to learn more.

Lately due to my consistent learning; I have been able to finish top three back to back in 3 different leagues.

But there is something that had always caught my attention any time I am moving from one league to another. And it is the fact that anytime I finish top in a particular league the next league I move to is always harder, the point I use to finish as the winner in the previous league might not allow me to end in the top five in the new league.

For example I finished third in the obsidian league (the second highest league) with 3263 XP and I got promoted to diamond league. If I should maintain the same point after a week I would be in 15th position in diamond league what a far cry from my previous position.

*Obsidian league*

Currently I’m in the 22nd position with 2590 XP fighting not to be demoted back into the obsidian league.

Trying not to get demoted

I feel such scenario is what happens in our daily lives, you will see someone who is praised as being rich because he is a millionaire but to some people his net worth isn’t up to 1% of their net worth.

Everything in life is relative. Your wealth, your wisdom, your beauty. If you think you have it all, you are just kidding, and It is because you haven’t met someone with more money, wisdom or beauty than you.

That why it is necessary for us to be humble. The peak of your wisdom or wealth or beauty might just be the starting point for another person.

Noise cash

I'm also a blogger on noise cash. We can be friends over there by just clicking on my username 👉 "TomiAjax"

Epilogue

It is important to note that I later got demoted to obsidian league. It was a surprise because 40 minutes to the end of the league; I was still in the 22nd position. Only to come online after an hour to see that the league has ended and I was demoted to obsidian league 😭😅

Thanks for reading

21
$ 2.36
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.07 from @Ellawrites
+ 12
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Yeah. No matter what you do, there's someone out there who's done even more and that person also has someone that's got more than he has which is why I think our world is a pigment of our minds. I used to take Spanish class and was very good one time but I stopped as I was overwhelmed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Overwhelmed by the language or other activities?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Activities dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being humble is one of the greatest attitude we should have. Don't boast yourself because you don't know what tomorrow brings and what others have.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I join to celebrate your country. I think I need to also join duolingo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for celebrating with my country

On Duolingo: Try to join, it is fun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We share a very significant date for as was commented by some June 12 is our independence day.

I tried Duolingo before trying Spanish and Japanese but didn't go far with that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy belated independence day to all Filipinos

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks like that leaderboard feature is new in Duolingo, coz it wasn't there when I used the app many years ago, it actually makes learning a language more fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It seems you and @Aimure were among the early users.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess so, I used it around 2015

$ 0.00
1 year ago

June 12 here in the Philippines celebrates independence day my friend TomiAjax

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Happy independence dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Très bien, tu es intelligent. Bravo Tomi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Souadko, do you speak french?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I do. All Lebanese people speaks 3 languages: Arabic which is the original language, French & English.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Très Bien. Perhaps you could teach me french

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is my pleasure, Tomi. C'est une bonne idée. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aish. All this brings memories of Duolingo. This league ish is relatively new, I understand it adds a competitive tune to it, making users more willing to work hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oshey, the pioneer himself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's interesting to get to know more about the Nigeria's history, Thank you. By the way i too use Duolingo but right now I am at break.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What language are you learning on Duolingo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

english

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that's great to hear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such days are pride in any nation's history where they recall the sacrifices of forefathers and pay tribute them. Happy independence Day to Nigeria!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It isn't independence day but democracy day.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happy democracy day. I agree with you. We have a saying: Whoever does not know someone else's fist thinks his fist is a sledgehammer. success depends on our effort.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like your analogy @Oblomovka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's life, one man's rag is another man's choicest cloth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truly, I still dey look forward to the reason why the election result was nullified.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There isn't any valid reason my brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Talking about Democracy day, i don't know why I chose not to bother to check on why they decided not push it to 12th June. Thank you for bringing the knowledge.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The 12th of June is our Independence Day in the Philippines. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy independence

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's wonderful to hear, it seems the date is dear to both Filipinos and Nigerians

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh wow I had no idea that 29th of may was initially the independent day of this country... Guess we do learn new things daily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't mention "independence day". I said democracy day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My bad I meant to write democracy day, I was juggling two things at the same time, hence why I mistakenly wrote independent day. Sorry about that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok, mistakes do happen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago