Learning Wisdom

21 53
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

I started this month with an upbeat feeling. I quite remember the first article I published this month titled "Challenge yourself by stepping out".

I promised myself that I would publish an article a day, something I have never set to do before. Even though I wasn't successful with my quest, I am proud with my achievement this month as I was able to publish 26 articles in 30 days

Getting a topic to write about everyday can be really tasking. Today is the last day of the month I am really proud with what I have achieved on this platform so far.

But in terms of personal development I can’t say I am proud. Because practically I haven’t been able to work on digital skills I wished to know more about. I think there are two reasons for this. One lack of constant power supply and me being lazy.

Falling ill

It all started some days ago with sore throat and it grew worse yesterday with headache and catarrh and now constant coughing. Yesterday night I distracted myself by watching the only unwatched movie in my phone: “death on the nile”

Due to being ill; I slept throughout today's afternoon. At first I didn’t want to write or publish any article. But I realized it won’t be a good way to end the month. Despite not having a topic in mind, I decided it is important I publish an article.

Gallery to the rescue

At this moment of typing this, there wasn't any topic formed in my mind. I had to resort to raiding my phone gallery, perhaps I’ll see something inspiring to write about. Well I am glad I did and here is the outcome.

Learning wisdom

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is the noblest; Second, by imitation, which is the easiest; and Third, by experience, which is the bitterest.”

~Confucius (a great Chinese sage)

I first came across the quote above in the most unlikely source you would ever think of; in one of my “chemical engineering textbooks I used last year”. Quote from famous persons were adding at the beginning of every topic in the textbook.

Reflection

Why is reflection the noblest way to learn wisdom?

Reflection is the noblest way to learn wisdom because it involves you thinking on your own and finding solution to problems without copying anybody or people's methods of doing things. People who solve complex problems by reflection can be classified as genius and not everybody is able to achieve this feat.

Imitation

Imitation is perhaps the most popular way people learn wisdom. Everything we learn throughout our school days are based on imitation of particular patterns developed by some particular individuals.

Imitation is also the easiest method of learning wisdom as it requires you to follow the step of someone who have experience same or similar situation. Through imitation you learn from their mistakes and learn not to make them.

Most times people especially children and young adults learn through imitation unconsciously and indirectly.

Experience

Experience has been dubbed as the best teacher. Even though experience is probably the best teacher it is also the most bitterest way to learn wisdom.

Many old adults gathered most of their knowledge and wisdom from and through experience.

How and why is experience the bitterest way to learn wisdom?

Now imagine someone who fell to a scam, he or she has gained some experience and most likely won't fall to such again. But being a victim of a scam is a bitter experience that nobody want to experience.

The only reason why adults have more wisdom than teenagers and youths is due to experience, and some were gathered through tears and pain and that why it is important to seek wisdom from the elders.

Seeking wisdom from elders is a form of imitation; which is the easiest way to learn and acquire Wisdom.

Appreciation

To my faithful readers; we have journeyed one month together and it is a pleasure. Hope the coming new month brings a lot of blessing and progress for you and me. Merci (French word for thank you).

21
$ 4.72
$ 4.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Talecharm
$ 0.07 from @Ellawrites
+ 18
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Your article is very good my friend TomiAjax. Congrats on your 26 articles out of 30 days. I hope I can do that too friend. You are also a smart writer. Just keep it up friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate the compliment dear friend. You can also do it too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this valuable insights bro. Indeed, we should acquire from the elders because after all, they are the most knowledgeable persons we could ever acquire knowledge from. đź’— By the way, nice meeting you here on Read.Cash!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are more insightful due to the experience they've gathered.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

26 articles in April is a great feat. I pray this new month favours you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen, thanks Boss. And you too sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Imitation seems to be effective especially when someone have the idea to upgrade. I just think it's good to imitate but you need to revise it like it's new one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, we can't imitate actions for action. We revise it to suite ourselves and situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think that's the best thing that we can do. Since we are flexible we can adapt immediately.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would like to ask you: WHY DO YOU NOT REACT TO -False INFORMATION, and propaganda that is published in your articles, namely in the comments??? I am talking about your article about the Budapest Memorandum!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Once again my apologies, there was little power supply yesterday and I also fell ill.

I had to prioritize the power in my device.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Get well my friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh i realize just now that imitating someone is also a way to learn and this is right but let us just imitate what is good and leave behind what is bad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We truly need to be careful by imitating with is good and not bad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

those quotes by Confucius are gold. A typical summarization of know in to reflection, imitation and by experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are truly Golden physio.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right often times imitation learning can be very effective and powerful because you have been copying something for such a long time you have learnt all the rope it almost doesn’t go away.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Experience is the best teacher, yes no argument but we've been told to learn this lesson from People's experience because it could be dangerous when we try to pass through some of these experiences

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are some experiences we won't want to pass through.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was user on read cash from last 7 month but I was not active here but this month I also promised to myself that I will post daily my story is quite similar to your one that I even not posted daily but I posted almost 27 or 26 articles in this month

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish you success and hope you can achieve the feat

$ 0.00
1 year ago