Everybody plays the fool

32 85
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

I was staring at the blank page in front of me, as I was thinking of how to start today’s article, really I was confused and lost. Perhaps probably there isn’t a better way to start an article than telling your readers how confused you are "on how to start the article" (lol).

I really appreciate the comment I received on my previous article and I am glad that I have been able to clear the misconception about Nigerians.

I think yesterday was the first time I would confirm in any article that I was a Nigerian. Although I am sure most of my international readers here already know the country I am from.

A friend's birthday

Before I begin today’s article I would like to use this medium to celebrate a friend, a colleague and a former high school classmate of mine. We currently school in the same tertiary institution. @Tobias00 Happy birthday.

Today's article

Today as I was in search of topic to write about, I asked a friend for a prompt. And this friend of mine suggested a topic which says "Everyone has flaws” but my spirit didn’t go along with the topic but I have chosen something similar.

My inspiration for today’s article is gotten from a song titled “everybody plays the fool” by Aaron Neville. I later discovered that Aaron Neville version in 1991 was a cover of the original song that was released in 1972 by the R&B group called “The Main Ingredient”.

The song is actually a love song and it talked about heartbreaks and how everyone has been in such a situation. Perhaps everyone in the world except me (laughs), but the fact of life is that almost everyone has played this part before. But many people tends to hide this part of their life and many won’t talk about it.

The song started with a cry about a person whose heart was broken, the person was down in tears and was thinking of dying as a result of heart break (it is actually possible, a lot of people have committed suicide as a result of heartbreaks)

There is a line in the third verse that got me thinking

“there is no guarantee that the one you love is gonna love you”

and I guess some of us have been in that situation where we love someone but that person doesn’t love us or even like us at all.

In the ocean of love

Love is actually something very deep and in the song; love is said to be "deeper than any ocean and does clouds one mind with emotion". You know when you are in love you experience those kind of feelings that no adjective can describe.

When you are in love with someone "your ability to reason is being swept away" that why many people say "love is blind", and people tends to get blinded with love.

Things that could be annoying to you on a normal day might not be when a person who you love actually does it.

Manipulation

A lot of people have been manipulated in the name of love and it cut across both gender.

For example; a lady may use the fact that a guy really loves her as a leverage to exploit him financially, or it can be the other way round whereby the guy make use of the love the lady has toward to him to do things that are not acceptable in a normal relationship.

But,

But sincerely speaking, some people are lucky as they don't get to play the fool (it is very rare though)

Why did I say this? I remember seeing a post from a cousin of mine who got married recently. She posted that she and her husband have been dating since Seven years ago, meaning they have been dating since they were in high school (I was shocked). Well the love journey might not have been smooth but they are together today as husband and wife.

One day 😅

I know one day it might be my be turn to play the fool until then let me sit, relax; while I watch those who fool and those who get fooled continue their game.

Thank you for reading 😍

25
$ 6.01
$ 4.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Big-E
$ 0.12 from @King_Gozie
+ 21
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

I cannot pretend I have played the fool once, didn't cry though that's one thing I find hard to do; shed tears, I can be dying inside and I won't shed tears no matter how much its hurts. But when love humbles you boss you'd play the fool too lool.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You sound like someone who has been through a lot of downsides in relationships

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're not wrong, its all been downsides for me in my past relationships, either indirectly by my hand or by my partners at the time. Honestly I've given up lool.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love is love. The rest is not love. We think it's love but it is not.

Interesting song.

Happy birthday to your friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right, in love there isn't deception.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They say all is fair in love. People have different ways of expressing their feelings for their loved ones. I have learnt this the hard way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aimure come and share me your experiences or write about them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂 I am not sure about that. Maybe in the form of fiction

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am coming to your Dm. I wan hear full gist

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This matter of love e get as e be oo… well the fact that one can be blinded by love puts me in a dark spot, it’s a cycle that needs to be broken… I think 75% of the people I know have once played the fool 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Including you 😅? It is a question. Well love is beautiful and crazy at the same time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 ahhh Tomi… I agree and it even goes beyond craziness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Loving someone but having the love not replicated can be painful and heartbreaking .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really painful. And I think I am experiencing this. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm... i wan hear gist o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, love is blind indeed... Make Love go sit down one place abeg. Make we just dae watch those people playing the fool and the ones being fooled.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sincerely I don't how to reply😅, don't you believe in love? Because I do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wondafuuu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol 😂 my chest. Wonderfuuu indeed Aimure 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha😅😅😅 Love no be by force Sha ooh Love nah for who get mind😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So what do you instead of love, bisolammy?

I feel those other things aren't love. Do you believe in true love abi it is a myth?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love is really deeper than the oceans when you are with the right person, many relationships have ended due to manipulation like you've said where the girls fake her love to exploit the boys money and which doesn't end well, one day i would also find love, hopefully I don't get fooled.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I pray we don't, yes love is truly beautiful when you are with the right person

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The last part got me. I'm in that seat now, watching and laughing at those playing the fool and those being fooled. Lol😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Love is not for everybody, because it comes with a lot of commitments. Some persons are better off the way they are and some even find it hard to cope in the relationship. Omoh, let love rest😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why is everyone saying let love rest. Or is it that you've played the fool before?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you Tomi!🤗. And please do fast, let's see who wants to fool you o😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ha, so you want me to get fooled. Enemy of progress 😂. I dey find true love jare 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na mumu dey love 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mofif, you just saying this. I'm sure one day love would hit you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love ke 😂😂 Emi full blooded Yoruba demon

$ 0.00
1 year ago