Battling with self-doubt

24 57
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

One of the problems I had while I was growing up and I am currently facing is self-doubt, imposter syndrome, or whatever it is called.

Whenever people talk of how intelligent I am or how they find what I do, or I say as intelligent or interesting; I always play it down to luck or to be a coincidence.

"No! I was just lucky", was my typical reply.

This belief cumulated into a strong lack of trust in my ability and knowledge. Anytime I passed an exam, I wondered how I had passed. I always feel like I didn't know much or that I didn't deserve the grades I got.

In Junior high school, I was regarded by my teachers as one of the most brilliant students in the class, but I didn't see myself as one. Sometimes, I ask myself what did those teachers see in me that they regarded me so highly.

"If only they knew I was riding on luck", I would tell myself.

For those who might not be familiar with how our educational system works in Nigeria, let me take a detour from my ongoing narrative to explain.

We have Three major levels of education (I used the word major because I didn't want to count the level of Kindergarten). The first level is the primary or basic level which runs for 5 to 6 years. The primary level consists of 6 classes.

After the primary level, we have the secondary level. The secondary level is also called high school.

Our Secondary or high schools are sub-divided into two sub-levels, they are: Junior Secondary/High school and Senior Secondary/High school.

The difference between the two sublevels is that in Junior Secondary, you are taught core subjects from science, commercial, and art together. But when you get to Senior Secondary, students are grouped into three distinct departments namely: Science, Art, and Commercial.

The department you decide to go to depends on what you would like to study at the tertiary level or the aspect of subjects you find interesting during your junior secondary.

The tertiary level consists of Universities, Polytechnics, or Colleges. This level is regarded as the pinnacle of education.

Back to the discussion.

I remembered my first year in Junior high school when I had the highest score in the English Language exams. Note that: my school had close to 1000 students in level one of Junior secondary alone.

My high school is a public school, and it is very big in size and population. The entire population of students in Junior secondary at that time was over 2000 pupils. In each class you have a population of close to 100 or sometimes exceeding.

I recalled my English teacher asking my classmates to give me an ovation for having the highest score.

While the ovation was going on, I was bewildered at how I did manage to outscore everyone. I was telling myself that I didn't deserve the score or it was just luck.

This self-doubt and lack of overall seriousness made me look like an average student in senior secondary school. In senior Secondary, there was a time our physics teacher needed to pick students for a competition, and she picked me with some other students. I told my friends jokingly that the teacher must be blind for picking me ahead of other students.

This self-doubt didn't die in secondary school, as I took it to University. In my first year, I performed well above average and better than the majority of my colleagues, but guess what I told myself "oh it was just luck and because the exams were CBT exams".

This thought kills my morale, and I always look at things as more complex and harder thereby believing or thinking that I can't solve them.

I am not saying that I ought to have gone and indulge myself in getting pompous for any of my achievements, but the feeling of denying myself the credit for doing something when it is fully clear that I did it; is a killer.

It makes me look at tasks as very difficult and it also fuels the thought that I can't do this or that without being lucky or coincidentally.

Today I was looking at a very complex project, and my mind was making me feel I won't be able to achieve or recreate it.

No! I shouted,

I won't let the fear or the complexity of anything make me belittle myself again.

I won't just attribute my success only to luck or some unforeseen circumstances.

I won't let my mind control me but rather I would control my mind into believing in my capabilities and the greatness that lies in me.

I say no to self-doubt and any of its variants and you should too my friend!

01-09-2022

2:05 AM

Happy New Month!

Thanks for reading

20
$ 2.56
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.10 from @Unity
+ 11
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Yours is self-doubt, mine is the extreme opposite of it: high ego 😆 I always try to think I'm the smartest person in the room even when I know other people are smarter but the good thing is that mentality has always pushed me to go past my limit.

Self-doubt is perfectly normal among highly intelligent beings, it's something that's more common than you think but you can overcome it with experience and discipline. The more you do things that you think are impossible for you to achieve, the more confident you become in your abilities and skills.

I'm saying this because I also used to have loads of self-doubt in the past but constantly trying out those things that I thought were above my level helped me to be more confident but it eventually led to high ego and sometimes overconfidence. So, keep doing those things that you think are too complex, step out of your comfort zone and push past your limit, that's how you grow and become more confident 😉

This comment na another article on its own 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kushyzee I really appreciate this. Everything you've said are absolutely correct. Stepping out of my comfort zone will bring about more confidence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If has been a luck from junior secondary school and probably senior secondary School, the luck will tend to end in the tertiary school. This means you are divinely endowed to be a brilliant one. Don't underestimate yourself, it can bring low self esteem. At times it happens to me, but mine is that, I believe there are lot of people who know better than I am. So if someone knows more than I do, I can easily identify the person, and go close to him, so as to take me through somethings too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Underestimation is a killer. Thanks Offset.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having self doubt can weigh someone down, and can make you look like am average student as you have said, I really was in this case though, I also we to a public high skool, just as you have said having this self doubt makes you ak average student even if you are brilliant.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Self doubt is really a bad barrier to our success most times. We should learn to avoid that before they drive drive wreck us down.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Self-doubt is a barrier that can prevent us from moving forward and it does leads to wreck

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes we don't even realize that our negative thought patterns are having an effect on us until after they're ingrained inside of our brains, making us feel less than before. We start to believe them! When you get stuck in these cycles, you may find yourself becoming disheartened that you haven't changed anything yet, and your progress towards happiness seems to be stuck. You need to get out of that cycle.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Rightly said bro, I truly need to get out the cycle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Self-doubt is a deadly disease...this can send you to depression state and negative thoughts will roam over your mind freely like they pay bills. We gotta be careful on how we let things inside our mind because it's the key to the engine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Truly the mind like the key of an engine. The way we fix our mind determines our position.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Self doubt is big hurdle in our progress and motivation because we didn't believe in ourselves and our capabilities. We should say no to such thoughts.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Now it's true that you only have yourself! Either you have yourself doubt yourself or believe in yourself. I can't deny I was not in this situation my friend, It took me to make lots of mistakes before I believed that I can do things better that I can

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We truly have two options is either we doubt or believe in ourself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah. its our choice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This feeling has advantage in the secondary sections, you won't feel ego, you'll just be yourself and mingling with other "rough" students, unlike those that raises shoulder because they're the best in call... I recalled I once dominated in Biology and Economics all through ss2 and 3, and I never believed myself🤗.

For the now, you can beat the challenge👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Kacy. It does have advantage

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I have learnt in life is that we should not doubt ourselves in whatever condition that we are in. It limits our possibility in life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It really does!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend. That's right. We shouldn't let our mind controlled us because it will ruin us instead we should control our mind to believe ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly! We should be the masters of our minds not the other way round.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend. We should be the only one who control our mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy New Month! It is good to start your month with positivity and never let yourself drown in doubt. You are capable to be the best every time, just all do your best and make it happen! Claim the victory :) You worth it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊 thanks for the reassuring remark

$ 0.00
1 year ago