Double Spend Proofs, phase 2

196 5449
Avatar for TomZ
Written by
3 years ago

Hello dear Bitcoin Cashers. People are again focusing on building a good money and this has led to a big milestone approaching for Double Spend Proofs (DSPs). I want to share an update on the progress of double spend proofs and look forward in this longer journey and provide a mini roadmap for people to understand what is next.

A double spend proof is a defence against people trying to send money to a merchant and then instantly send the same money to themselves back, double spending it. Because we know that miners won't allow double spending only one will be confirmed. This means that a thief can use it to try and avoid paying while the merchant thinks they paid.

Background

If you are already familiar on the concept and history you can skip down to Phase 2.

When Satoshi Nakamoto released Bitcoin to the world he successfully solved the double-spending of transactions with this blockchain idea. It is now public knowledge that as soon as the first block includes a transaction it has become very hard and costly to reverse that transaction.

Between the creation of a transaction and it landing in a block, however, is a bit more complex. The ability of an unconfirmed transaction being double spend is not black and white, instead it is a risk. We can calculate each individual transactions risk based on various factors we should look at. The biggest problem our wider ecosystem has today is that the least costly and the most effective indicator of risk is absent. A merchant receiving money on his phone does not know whether his customer is trying to steal from him. There is no signal from the network giving an indication of high risk.

This is like a homeowner who has to walk into his living room to confirm that his TV and game console went missing, or its still there. With the dog lying nearby. A silly idea because normally we expect signs of break-in, sounds of glass breaking, people running away or the dog barking. In our world there would be no such sounds, no barking no alarms alerting anyone until the thief was already long gone.

Double Spend Proofs give that signal. It is a digital dog barking at trouble, in the above comparison.

After initially coming up with the idea of a small proof message that uses cryptography against a thief in 2016 I published the first version in January 2017. When later that year we started Bitcoin Cash DSPs became much easier to do using a simple message which finally got coded in 2019. Near the end of 2019 I encoded this in Flowee the Hub and half a year ago I ported it to Bitcoin Unlimited. After waiting for 6 months I saw that BCHN was much more receptive on slack and in person of getting the DSP code and after their first release I worked on getting it into BCHN. Merge request here. I'm sure its purely coincidental that BU then started work on getting the dust off of my merge request. What is fun is that this would mean we will soon have DSP messages on the P2P network being created by the majority of the peers.

Double Spend Proofs being created is a great step forward for the network as this is basically a cryptographic message that indicates damage being done to the network. This is awesome for a whole lot of reasons, the most useful part is that this allows us to detect and defend against a great many attacks against the network and against individuals. The practical effect is that the double spend proof message allows the network to remove risk and promise an extremely shortened settle-time. It is like preconsensus, but without the cost. (more)

Phase 2

This first milestone took a long time, the development was halted various times which caused slowdowns, none of which stopped progress and I'm very happy with the current state.

That does not mean that now we are done. Just having the message is a fantastic first step, but people should actually use the message. It is like having an alarm on your house without a siren or light. Invisible.

So this is the time for me to present the evidence and the benefit, people can see this on mainnet today (connect to the P2P net on flowee.org) and I hope to convince many people of the benefit and that we shortly follow up with acceptance by the wider community as it needs a lot more people to take the task of double spend proofs on their shoulders. I will assist where I can, starting with this document which I hope will give people a good idea of where we are and where we want to go to.

Done

  • ✔ Send on pure P2P (for merkleblock based SPV and full nodes)

  • ✔ Flowee the Hub currently provides push-APIs for point-of-sale systems and BIP70 servers to include DS-notification, other nodes may want to do something similar. (link)

Make it available to the wider audience.

  • Add some RPC on full nodes to forward the notification and to indicate a tx in mempool having a DSProof attached to it.

  • Services like Fulcrum (electronx) need to forward them too for wallets that use these servers.

  • Online API providers (rest services) need to also allow a client to learn that a transaction is risky because a double spend proof has been seen for it.

  • Block explorers which show transactions from the mempool should do the same.

Make wallets and point-of-sale software use the proof.

  • Receiving money in practically all wallets currently completely ignores risk. Money was seen or not, nothing else, all unconfirmed transactions are the same.
    This software should really start thinking in risk gradation. A DSProof (massively) increases the risk. Other risky properties like chain-depth, low fee, non-standardness etc. will be useful too.

  • An important reminder(1): chain-depth; the state when a transaction pays using another unconfirmed transaction. Use this for risk analysis!
    When a transaction uses unconfirmed parents the risk is recursive. When a parent of a parent gets a DSProof, this is equally bad for that child transactions risk-assessment.

Use all we learned and iterate the dsproof message.

  • DSProof is a great concept, and works well, but I know that it will be possible to improve with the many people in our ecosystem starting to use this and coming up with suggestions.

Finalize the design, rename the message to be just 'dsproof'

  • Yes, this is the last step.

Closing words

The double-spend-proof is a warning message from the network operators that warns you of suspect behavior, shown by your wallet when needed. This is very much like an alarm on your house, with minimal effort you can avoid an actual theft and damage. The alarm itself doesn't turn the doors into impenatrable steel, but they don't have to be as thiefs don't want to be caught and crime statistics show clearly the preventive effect of having an alarm. It simply raises the risk to thiefs enough for them to move on to an easier target.

Double Spend Proofs rock, lets get everyone to use them!

175
$ 50.20
$ 16.88 from @Marser
$ 13.37 from @molecular
$ 8.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 23
Avatar for TomZ
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

New knowledge for me. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bharti hey i subscribed you, plz subscribe back...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll add that I'm talking with calin and dagur and there's some progress on how to add this to the electrum, see these two issues on fulcrum for details (similar issues has been raised for electrscash as well):

https://github.com/cculianu/Fulcrum/issues/32

https://github.com/cculianu/Fulcrum/issues/44

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, thats awesome!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good article can you subcribe back and view https://read.cash/@jhapz/the-definite-article-2289233b

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it seems to me progress has been held back and now the floodgates open. the market hasn't realized yet or is still to fearful. an opportunity?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The market acts completely irrationally. It is driven by charts and propaganda and not by technology. The price will only start to rise when mass adoption begins.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Telesfor hey I subscribed you, plz subscribe back...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Molecular hey I sibscribed you, plz subscribe back....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Check on me too and subscribe back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Heard about this tech for the first time It is a knowledgeable article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Zemira, hey I subscribed you, plz subscribe back..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Osom brother

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article loved it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! This is great :D New knowledge keep it up sir and Goodluck!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

satplars hey subscribe back plz, I subscribed u..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very nice article 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ariel.28 hey I just subscribed u, plz subscribe back...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am subscribe your channel please me and follow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Payel subscribe back koren plz , apnake korsi...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Humm.good article.Thanks for sharing.well done sir and go ahead.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Md jihad hey I subscribed u, plz subscribe back....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Chris Johnson hey subscribe me, I did also to u...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ChrisJohnson hey subscribe to me,I did yours too..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Malonay23 hey plz subscribe back to me, I did yours too...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dhaizukie hey plz subscribe me, I did also..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this article Sir .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Psychie hey I subscribed you know, plz subscribe me too ... thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very informative. You are really a good writer. I'm glad I have met you herethanks for sharing. And go ahead

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Najmulnj bro I just subscribed u, plz subscribe me back...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes you are right .there are many thieves who can cheat over .so everone should be careful about spending.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tibro Hey man I just subscribed u, plz subscribe me too...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah sure.thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow thanks for info

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Jacobus Hey man subscribe to me.. a have done to u also...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow good ....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parma hey subscribe back plz, I have done yours now..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm subscribe your channel, please subscribe me ..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey subscribe back plz , I did also..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mekay-16 hey I subscribed you, plz subscribe back....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Shienna hey I subscribed u, plz subscribe back.. thanks...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What I cannot earn in a month, you made with one article.!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article bro keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kristian hey I subscribed u, plz subscribe back..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very nice article. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aliabeth hey kindly subscribe to me, I subscribed u now..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will try it, I think this is the first step of a technology in the security sector..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

AinsleyLivy hey I just subscribed you now, plz give me sub. back, thanks...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Delights hey man, I just subscribed u, u do the same to me plz..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Madapanta hey man I just subscribed u, plz subscribe back, thanks....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow very good article dear ❤👈👈 sub.. Me bro👈👈 upvote plzz brooo.👃👃👃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bro subscribe den ,apnake disi..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful mountain top

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pluma hey I just subscribed u, plz subscribe me too..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow nice to write a beautiful article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very informative. You are really a good writer. I'm glad I have met you herethanks for sharing. Awesome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tobah hey I subscribed u, plz subscribe back... thanks...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is really nice article , I wait for your next article as soon as possible . please subscribe me and follow . I also subscribe you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sunel 2600 hey man.. subscribe me, i have subscribed u too..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

U say 100% right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lound balouch hey I subscribed u, give me back also..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The process is complicated for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Commycool hey I subscribed u, plz subscribe back..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

interesting view about market coin

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kp210 hey subscribe to me I just did yours now..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am subscribe you please follow my view and subscriber

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sumon hey subscribe me, i subscribed u too...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribed you . Please subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I Subscribed u, give me back plz...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Done bro..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks bro..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't appreciate the snarky comment WRT Bitcoin Unlimited. We paid good money for your work, but you provided us code that had no regression tests whatsoever, even though I asked you for any tests at all (even ones that are incompatible with our test framework). We needed to do a lot of work on your PR because no feature goes into BU without automated tests, but no one was scheduled to do this work.

In fact we did independently start the process of polishing your PR as ptschip freed up, since the unconfirmed tx limit work finished.

DS proofs will be released imminently, in the next week or so as part of our 1.9.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Andrew Stoen hey man subscribe to me, I have done yours too...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Galadima hey I just subscribed u, plz subscribe back...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good article about Double spend proofs, phase-2. Yes. Double spend Proofs rock. Now, is the best & ideal time to use it. Thank you very much for your detailed valuable input. Awesome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sistlavenkatagiri hey subscribe to me plz, I have done also ..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May be I subscribed or not, let me check out in the next post. I will subscribe for sure, if I have not done it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok bro dont forget to....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very educative

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mike23 hey subscribe to me, I did yours too..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice to be here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ann84 hey give me subscribe, I subscribed u too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article sir...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Efyram hey subscribe back to me, a have done also..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice article sir and very informative it will be a great help for new users of crytocurrencies .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aries25 hey subscribe to me, i have done also...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bimanot hey subscribe back to me, I have subscribed u tooo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice work, but there would be no need for such complex codes and solutions if the block time would not be 10 whole eternity. i am prety sure its easyer to rewrite a few numbers than to add a new magic communication protocol to detect double spends.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Geri hey subscribe to me, I did you also..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Delights hey subscribe me man, I did also to u...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Miguelzzz hey subscribe me , I have done yours..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That so cool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cholemandani hey I subscribed u, plz give me back also....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and helpfull article very informative.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Prety subscribe to me I have just done yours..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks. i know many things from your article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Rl-Robin hey man subscribe to me, I did yours too....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

done bro. please back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Done bro..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this informative article sir, thanks for sharing this with us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mars_byahera hey man subscribe to me, I did yours too...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already subscribe you sir ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

please follow me. i also back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks man....😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

keep the opportunity

$ 0.00
3 years ago

jhe 18 hey could u plz subscribe me back?, I just subscribed u..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am new member read.cash. I hope will done its by site.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am new member in read.cash. I hope will done. It is very good site. my id ilias pleas subscribe and like comments. Thank you so mach bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ilias i subscribed u,plz subscribe back..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have seen that your clearness

$ 0.00
User's avatar Mrm
3 years ago

Mrm Hey subscribe back to me, I have done yours now....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Heeygrkl su subscribe to me, I did yours now..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just waiting for the progress that really increases the entire blockchain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey man subscribe to me, I have done yours now..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

so what's the catch? there's always a catch; you make this all sound too good to be true 😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey subscribe to me, I have done yours too....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article dear❤❤👈👃👃👃plz upvote👃👃👃❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow great❤👈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great write up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey i just subscribed u, plz subscribe back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We are making a lot of money and benefiting a lot from the initiative that Bitcoin Cash has taken to pay us twice. Needless to say, we are all very grateful to the Bitcoin Cash operators for paying twice as much. Thank you so much for this. To present to us by writing an article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey pls subscribe to me ... I have done yours

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey I just subscribed u, plz subscribe back...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is an awesome content, keep up the good work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is there country restrictions? Some of these doesn't permit people in some countries

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The foundation of Bitcoin is solid. The expectation that more institutional investors will come into the market as Bitcoin heads into its third halving event is behind a variety of bullish predictions for the crypto asset in 2020. One industry executive has even predicted the Bitcoin price will reach $50,000 before the end of the year.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for creating an article that contains a lot of information and makes people even more enthusiastic about learning for the better

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's a sad thing with MIST/MAZE mining which actually causes a lot of double spending in the blockchain. Kinda would be nice to have this lessen the chances.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It’s all about the money

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The market acts completely irrationally. It is driven by charts and propaganda and not by technology. The price will only start to rise when mass adoption begins.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good articles dear plz subscribe back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great idea and thank you fir this concept. I'M pretty sure thatr not everyone not have th8s but surely, with rge help of this. We can learn more about it. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm subscribe your channel, Please subscribe me ..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great work from bch.I hope they maintain this continuity. Will move towards further improvement in the future. Many more good wishes. Keep up the good work. We are with you. May the Lord bless you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Helpful articl, thanks for share it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The notification has disappeared, hope the doubling is still on

$ 0.00
3 years ago

interesting SirPotato likes quality informations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

interesting SirPotato likes quality informations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This could be the next level idea for crypto currencies, who knows?

$ 0.00
3 years ago