Music: the unquenchable passion

2 32
Avatar for Tipster
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Life, Experiences

Read the first part here.

After I graduated from secondary school, I wanted more music and singing, but my parent's perspective haven't changed. It was still NO NO NO. It was not funny and I was bitter - that feeling when your passion is pushing you and your parents are pulling you back. But I had to obey my parents for whatever their reason.

Dears, I lost interest as the years went by and I told myself maybe it was not for me.

Then I got admission into the university of choice and resumed my studies. At the uni, I was constantly reminded of my love for music by the environment and people around me. My roommate loves to sing and she invited me to join the fellowship choir on several occasions but I turned her down. I even had dreams of singing with the choir. It got to a point I could bear ignoring the messages from nature to awaken my passion.

So, one day, I summoned enough courage to face my parents.

I told them "...it's a NO NO NO for me not to sing."

They were surprised and wondered how I had the boldness to confront them about the issue. So I just joined a growing choir without bothering to get a reply from there.

I became stubborn and unstoppable that even my choir master visit my parents to release me on days they stopped me from leaving the house. For months, I stood tall to defend my passion. It wasn't easy but I persevered. With time, they realized they can't completely stop me, they started getting used to the idea that I love singing and can't be stopped.

Without their knowledge, I was sustaining and supporting myself with the little money I make from my singing gigs. It became significant in my final year when my mum told me that they couldn't afford to give me money for my project practical, I studied Agricultural Science and Education.

I went all out to sort myself... I prayed a lot about my situation and boom a gig came to my rescue and as if that wasn't enough, I graciously became the best graduating student in my year.

And my parents were very proud of me.

So from that period till now still counting though, they turned supportive.

The blessings I have received is enough to celebrate my music life every moment because when I look back, I saw that the process was worth the progress so far.

The end.


This is not my story, but that of a friend. I shared it exactly the way he did, with little adjustment.

Thank you for reading.

I appreciate, @Pachuchay @Ling01 @JonicaBradley @Pandev @MarielB22 @francescawrites @Jane @Bloghound @Artemis for the comments and tips.

7
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @Ling01
$ 0.02 from @Pachuchay
Sponsors of Tipster
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tipster
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Life, Experiences

Comments

Your friend choose the right decision, although our parents wants what is good for us, we also need to speak out what we want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I thought this was your story. But I adnired your friend for puhing what his heart desired...

$ 0.00
2 years ago