Music Lifestyle: In the Beginning

5 38
Avatar for Tipster
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Experiences

A lot of people specifically my friends and acquaintances keep wondering why I celebrate my love for music and the lifestyle so much when I'm not yet great and famous at it.

This is why.

In as much as I love music and singing as a kid, I was so timid and didn't know the gift I had till I joined the Block Rosary Centre (BRC), a platform for catholic children. I started with lay reading in my mother tongue (Igbo) before I graduated to singing responsorial psalms. My first Psalm was not easy when I learned and rehearsed it, but I gave it my best. My mentor said I nailed it when I delivered it, that was motivating. then, he told me that I will join the children's Latin competition which I was excited about.

In the preparation of that competition...hmmm.

Any song that was taught, I literally sang it everywhere I go, in the bathroom, at school, on the road while I walk to and fro school, and even in my dreams. This helped me master the songs faster and I was selected to represent our centre in the competition.

In the first stage of the competition, we were asked not to sing it but rather recite the wordings.

Have you tried reading Latin? Guys, reciting was a lot harder than singing it.

In the end, my centre came fourth which left me sad the entire day. But our mentor encouraged me and was like "You really tried, let's go home and restrategize for the second stage. We've still got chances at winning it".

Though I was already conversant with the Latin songs, the preparation for the second stage of the competition came with more work. Some days I return home late. My parents weren't happy about it; "You should stop coming late or we stop you from going". I was beaten on some occasions, but that didn't deter. I continued going for rehearsal with caution till the d-day.

My mum couldn't help but become supportive. She grew tired of ignoring my passion for music and the competition. She even got me a new T-shirt, ironed my clothes, and polished my shoes. She ensured I looked smart for the day. She encouraged me to go get the trophy so that she can rest from my tireless song disturbing her. Imagine African mums.

Guess what? in the end we brought the trophy home. The joy eh...

The BRC was the talk of the community and guess what, I didn't stop sing disturbing in the house. I kept dishing out hymns and the fresh Latin songs.

Aside from the excitement of winning my first ever competition, something else happened to me?

My passion for music stepped up.

When I grew older, I wanted to join the church youth choir - going to church without celebrating the mass with a good choir is not a real service for me. The church choir was good that I really desired to be a member, but my parents bluntly disagreed.

Ask them why and they will say that I'm too young to cope with everything, and I should focus on my studies. Their words confuse me like I can't combine studies with choir schedules.

Well, I didn't have any other choice than to obey and I curled into my inner self and was sing mourning till I went to boarding school.

In my junior years, I remained in my shell and locked up my passion for music. Perhaps, I felt like I didn't measure up. So I just enjoyed other aspects of hostel life with the Catholic hymn book as a companion outside my study time. I later moved to a new school in my senior class and being part of the choir is compulsory for all students. So I started to pick up from there.

My interest returned. So when it was my turn to sing the prayer of the faithful, the Priest significantly talked about my rendition. His words were spirit-lifting and a relief at the same time because I thought he will call me out. Then, my turn to take the responsorial psalm came.

Responsorial psalm!? I was tensed because I'll have to stand alone before everyone to sing and it felt different from when I was little. I seem to have lost that confidence. But, I had no option, so I prepared for it.

After my rendition at mass, hmmm...I didn't expect what happened... First off, the priest said he loved it and called me out to sing it again. And then, the principal brought the school prefect idea... a story for another day.

After I graduated from secondary school, I wanted more music and singing, but my parent's perspective haven't changed. It was still NO NO NO. It was not funny and I was bitter - that feeling when your passion is pushing you and your parents are pulling you back. But I had to obey my parents for whatever their reason.

Dears, I lost interest as the years went by and I told myself maybe it was not for me.

It didn't end here. To be continued...


Do you like what you've read? Then give it a LIKE and hook me up with your thoughts on my story and perhaps your experience of a forgotten passion or with difficulty chasing your passion.

I want to appreciate my first contacts here on read.cash - @JonicaBradley @Pachuchay @Ling01 and @Artemis for their comments and tips on my previous posts. Thank you, guys. I hope for more of your support.

All images are from Pixabay.

5
$ 0.14
$ 0.05 from @francescawrites
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 1
Sponsors of Tipster
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tipster
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Experiences

Comments

Don't mind what others say about you. It's normal to enjoy such triumph. Congratulations to you and your team! I know that sooner or later, you'll make a mark in the industry.

Keep that passion burning. Inspire others with your gift of music. Go, I will wholly support you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the encouraging words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love to sing but the songs don't love me, hahahaha.. If you love to sing and it's your passion, go for it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats that you guys bring home the trophy! It is so good that you have this passion, and at the same time a way on how you can serve the Lord. And honestly singing psalms is not easy.

And also you are welcome! More articles to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the kind words as well as the tip. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago