Life of a Working Student

38 7900
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

I was once a working student before way back in my high school days. It was a challenging moment of my life not because I work, I am already used of working in other people's house. It is because I work while I study and this would mean I am doing two things at a time. Working while studying was not an easy job. It required me to do so many things without leaving my study behind.

How I become a working student?

When Father got his operation, which I had shared it here through the article about health awareness, we stopped our study since father needed to rest for three years in order for him to fully recover from his operation. Since father was resting, this means no one would be working to provide our needs. Mother was the one taking care of father, assisting all his needs. So, as children, we need to attend our needs for the family. All four siblings worked for the family. After two years father insisted that I should go back with my study for me not to be left behind and for me not to fully lost my interest to study. I follow what father wanted but I become a working student so that it will not be hard for father to attend my daily needs as a student. That time my teacher needed an assistant in the house since her mother-in-law got operated and she most not do laborious things. I need to assist her needs and do the basic household chores. I stayed there for two years up until I graduated my high school years. As much as I and my teacher wanted me to stay but they can't afford me to send to a University because my teacher and my in-law was staying in the same house and my teacher was the one providing all the needs in the house because her in-law stopped working that time because of her operation. Plus my teacher's husband didn't had a job yet.

I was so thankful that I got to experience working while studying with them. It is because they are very kind to me. They treat me like their family member and they did not give me hard time in my stay there. Not like other working students that I got to know that they were being maltreated with the people they had been working while they study. But as of me my life as a working student was good. Though I got to attend few things for me to become also a good working student. I got to doubled my hard work and do my best to not left out other things either my study or my job.

My life as a working student rotate with this things.

Wake up early for the water

Since the water in the area wasn't that good that time. I need to wake up early around 2 o'clock in the morning to stuck all the container available for our daily consumption. It would provide us for almost everything, taking a bath, cooking, washing dishes and clothes and cleaning he house. So, I will make sure I don't neglected it since it was part of our basic needs. This would cause me sleep less nights since I got to wake up early and would prefer not to go back to sleep because I don't want to missed the time and afraid if so, would end up not prepare our breakfast and would not go to school. So, in need to stay up until sun rise and continue my job.

Food preparation

This is a bit challenging for me since I need to cook the food that would suit with their taste. Every morning I cooked for breakfast and prepare the table since my teacher and I would be off to school. During lunch it's very rare that we prepare food to eat especially viand because we just buy something for the lunch everytime. Mostly I prepare the dinner for us and eat together in the table. The food must be like by everybody thus gave me pressures. So, what I will do is that I would always asked them what they wanted me to cooked and how they prefer it to be serve. In that way I wouldn't have a hard time.

Go home early

Every after school I made sure I went home right away. Sometimes I went home with my teacher, other times I went home alone. I need to go home early for I would prepare the food and make sure the house is clean.

Clean the house

I am grateful that their house is not that big so it's not that tiresome spending time cleaning. My scheduled for cleaning was every weekend since I will be in school during week days. Though there were few things to clean everyday such as sweeping the yard and inside the house. Fixing the room, the dinning area, bathroom and the kitchen. I would make sure I maintained cleanliness at all time.

Wash the clothes

I washed clothes every weekend too. It's not that tiresome too because I used washing machine in washing. A bit tiresome because we are six members in the house who changed clothes everyday, seven days a week.

Iron the clothes

My scheduled in ironing was every Sunday. Ironing is quite easy for me but the hard things is that I need to stand up for few hours to finished my job. And the sad thing is that I should prepare dinner right after ironing that would mean indulging my hot hands in the water. (Pasma is real πŸ₯΄πŸ˜…)

Attend the needs of the members in the house

Aside from the chores I also needed to attend few needs in the house such as:

  • Baby's need

My teacher had a one year old baby that time, and I would be attending her needs when her Nanny is out and gone home. Or sometimes if she's in her weekly day off, which is every Sunday. I am the one who will feed her, dressed her, bathed her, sung and dance her to sleep, played with her and many more.

  • In-law's need

As I told you earlier, my teacher's mother-in-law had an operation I needed to attend her need and assist her with few things. It's not hard though because she's still capable of doing things, it's just that I need to make sure that she won't do laborious task such as pitching water or carrying huge things.

  • Teacher's needs

My teacher asked me to assist her of few school works such as checking of assessments, recording and writing grades in the school cards. I enjoyed doing it though but it add my tasked and job as a working student.

  • Pets' need

Aside from the humans needs in the house, there were also pets who needs my attention and my services. Feeding them, walking, and bathing were few of my job from them that required my time and effort.

Attend my needs

As a human being I got to attend my needs too. I made sure there where nothing left behind and I cover all, from personal needs up to my studies.

  • Personal needs

My personal needs is as important as my other needs. And I made sure I wouldn't neglected it. I always made sure that I am clean and healthy for me to attend my other needs. It is very much important to have time with my self in order for my to continue what I started. One of the personal need that I got to attend was my faith. As a daughter of God, i need to attend my soul's need, making sure to listen the Holy Gospel and receive the Holy Eucharist every Sunday. It is as important as all the other aspect of my life. So, I need to make sure I put time and effort of doing so. It is necessary for me to continue my journey.

The other personal need that I got to attend also is my parents. As a daughter to my parents, I need to have time to visit them. After attending the mass, though it's not everytime, I made sure I visit my parents and asked them how's they're doing. Catching up with few things and spending time with them.

Closing thoughts

That's how my life goes as a working student before. Did you wonder where my study time was? Why I wasn't mentioning it? It's because it's always in between those different duties I performed I incorporate my study. When I wake up to stuck water, I am studying while waiting to all the container to be filled in. After I filled all the container I don't go back to sleep because as I said I am afraid if I could sleep soundly and couldn't prepare breakfast. So instead of going back to sleep, I study. While preparing the food, I study. While doing the chores, I study. After doing all the chores before I sleep I study.

That's how a life of a working student. It's just so busy and full but you need to manage all of that for you to not left anything behind. It should be balance. Those times teached me how to have a good time-management skills. Yes, it's hard but because of it I survived my college days. Maybe it's a way of God preparation for what's about to come in my life. I do believe even right now, with the sluggish growth I had with almost everything, God is preparing me of what's about to come. Maybe not now but soon. In Jesus name.

Let's always remember that in every situation there is a hidden purpose. Don't be too focus with the hardships. Focus on who you can be and what you become along the process.

Thank you so much for reading.

Lead image from unsplash

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

Thank you to my sponsors and friends. God bless and more success to come.

I appreciate you all. I love you πŸ₯°πŸ˜˜

12
$ 15.05
$ 14.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
+ 5
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

Students from all over the world spend thousands of dollars a year on their applications to graduate programs. There are many graduate programs, and meetings with advisors are pricey. This cost is decreased by https://www.gradchances.com/ by calculating your likelihood of admission to colleges using data-driven analysis. GradChances also provides guidance on how to improve your admissions chances.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi guys, I never used this source before but I would like to try it. For now, I was searching for some help with free essay examples and someone told me to definitely check it out where I can get information regarding the top-class sources like this one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you. Since I entered High School I began working to support my studies and gladly received an Scholarship. And also when I study college and took up my chosen course, I became a working student also and apply as part time librarian in our University. Luckily, here I am now, Not yet successful but I am working on it. Salute to us brave spirit πŸ‘πŸ»β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saludo ako sa mga taong masisipag ,gawain lahat para makapag aral ,hindi madali yin ,Ako din naranasan ko din mag working student nung highschool ,napakahirap kasi naglilinis ng bahay ,nagluluto tapos nag aalaga din ng matanda ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But we survive Maya kudos satin mga working student. Hindi madali pero kinaya. Thanks for the visit Chelle ☺️ I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tapos na po ba kayo sa school niyo? Anyways, salute po kami sa inyo haha. Ako po sa ngayon, tamang ipon lang po ako ng BCH habang bakasyon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, tagal na po mag 2 years na Rin 😊 Good to know. At tama Ang ginagawa mo na mag ipon Ng BCH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi labs, just got inspired and motivated because of you. Love you always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love you more πŸ₯°πŸ˜˜ happy to know nga naka inspired ko .. nindot sa paminaw 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww! I salute you for your dedication and hardwork for your family and for your dreams. I am glad that your teacher's family is very kind to you :).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kudos to you! Mataas respeto ko sa mga working students. Ang galing nyo magmanage ng time talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's necessary in order for me to survive without leaving my dreams behind. Thank you so much πŸ₯° I appreciate your visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dili gajud lalim ang kalisod sa usa ka working student mem. Fortunate kaayo ko na wala ko naka.experience anang klase sa situation. But I salute you for that.. Despite sa mga kaagi, naangkon gihapon ang kalampusan, especially na ang pag.graduate as a Teacher..πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

God bless memsh!!πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeyy lageh mem go grasyahan sa ginoo Ang pagpaningkamot inubanan sa pag ampo. Salamat mem. Bisan paman tuod sa atung naagian karun blessed gihapon. God bless pud nimu kanunay mem πŸ˜‡πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes!Yes!Yes!πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜ŒπŸ˜ŒπŸ˜Œβ€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

β€οΈβ€οΈβ€οΈπŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A salute for you po..labis ang paghanga ko sa mga katulad niyo po na nagsusumikap pagsabayin ang pag-aaral at trabaho po.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you 😊 nagsusumikap Kasi may pangarap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo lavarn langπŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaw din lavarn πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swrte ko hndi ako nag working student Kaya saludo tlga ako dun sa mga nakaranas nito. Nakaya nla pagsabayin pag aaral at pagtatrabaho na hndi kaya ng lahat ng tao. ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swerti ka nga. πŸ₯° I know iba iba Ang struggles natin sa buhay. Alam ko Rin you have different story to tell too.

Napaka swerti nung mga batang mayaman pero anong ginagawa nagbubulakbol sa pag aaral.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just wow! I'm a working student too for 8 years but it is nothing compared to your experiences! I was amazed while reading this. I salute you! You surpass all those hardships. Big clap for this working student! Sorry, I'm just happy for you. You will be successful, I know! Wishing you all the best! πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I am flattered. It's not that I write this for me to give myself a boast but to inspired others and also as a reminder to myself of what I am experiencing right now. Your experience may not compared to mine and don't compare it for we all have different story . I believe you have different story to tell. I am happy too. I really appreciate for your kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks to you too! I don't see it that way, I am inspired by your story po. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your most welcome πŸ₯° I am glad to know that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko dai! Kalisod ba ani oy. Di gani ko ka ugaga sa ahong kaugalingon samot nag daghan pa tang lain asikasuhon usa ato kaugalingon. Grabe ka mem oy. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lisud pero nakaya man mem. Ana ka power basta taas ug panganduy sa kinabuhi mem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagduha duha na kog naa ba jod koy pangandoy hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

being a working student is not easy dahil minsan nawawala ka sa mga atensyon na dapat na nakatuon sa ating pag aaral ngunit kailangan ren natin kumita upang matustusan Ang ating lag aaral😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka Jan sis. Kailangan kaha kinakaya.. kinakaya Kasi May pangarap. Mga pangarap na Hindi Lang para sa sarili kundi para sa pamilya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ka puno ang sched mo 😲😲😲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super. Pero Kasi may pangarap kaya kinakaya πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a working student is hard but fulfilling at the same time. I have not tried that but I can feel how sacrficing it is through this article. I can't even manage to do all those chores you did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you have all those dreams in you, you will and you can. That's the only thing I have that keeps me going. We have different struggles that made us who we are today. Even though you don't experience what I experience I guess you also have your own struggles that made you who you are today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, but i am sure those struggles are very much different than yours. thanks for the motivation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome πŸ₯° Happy to know that it motivated you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago