Valentine's Scam!!

22 42
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago
Pixabay.com

Good evening lovelies and hope you all had an amazing Valentine's day and got some nice gifts. I just finished my works and literally feel so exhausted right now. My daughter is doing her Maths modules right now and God bless my husband as he is teaching her. I dived into Facebook to scroll for memes when I saw a very old friend appearing on my feed after a long time. He was one of my colleagues in the last office I had worked and I commented in one of his posts saying welcome back.. He did not like or reply back but he just gave me a simple "Hi" on my messenger. I'm a person who do not prefer to chat at all. But still, out of respect, I replied him back..

After casual hi and how are you doings, I asked him whats up with him as he did not sound so enthusiastic to me. I asked him why and he said something happened to him last week and he is moody from the incident. I asked him to share it if he likes because I usually do not go around poke into other's business but I wanted to know the issue and give him my support or solutions if any.. He said

"10 days ago, one of my friends messaged me and told me that he had purchased the newly launched I-phone 13 pro and because of some accident in the order, he ended up getting two phones and had to pay for both and he did. He started using one and he wanted to sell the second one for 30% less than it's original price as no one would buy from him at full price.. As a person who was searching for a nice gift for my girlfriend and fiance, I wanted to immediately buy that from him and told him the same. He sent me the video of him unboxing the phone from the box and showing it to me. The new phone was shining and amazing and 30% less to that new phone seems to be such a steal to me..."

"He gave me an address to which I had to send some money and he particularly asked for payment in crypto.. As I have online assets, I paid him through some private crypto and gave him my address. After few days, I got the package. I took the box, immediately gift wrapped it and yesterday, took my girlfriend to a restaurant as a part of Valentine's and gifted her the same. She was so happy and excited when she opened it only to find the phone inside the package was actually a TOY PHONE... not the original one. It looked exactly like the original one. we both were shook and I realized that I was scammed severely. My girlfriend looked at me, thankfully she understood the situation, gave me a hug and told me that she is not disappointed but we need to take a strict action on that guy"

"I immediately called my friend to question him about the situation and he swore on his grave that we never really had that phone selling conversation with him... Turns out, a total scammer had made a complete duplicate profile of my friend's profile online, adding the same pictures etc and messaging me, thus making me not doubt his profile at all. I was actually thinking that I was talking to my friend but I was talking to a random scammer that I did not even know"

Pixabay.com

My colleague finished saying all this and I felt really bad for him.. it's one thing to lose money in a scam but can you imagine his embarrassment when his gf realized it's a toy phone.. Good for him, his girl understood the situation but if it was somebody else, she would have made fun of him and rushed away from the restaurant. I asked him if he tried to complain it to the police and track him down and apparently he did, but the scammer had used a VPN which cops couldn't trace and because the payment was done in a private crypto, his bank info also couldn't be traced at all.. He literally lost around $700 and also could not gift anything to his girl. His day completely ruined because of one stupid mistake of not realizing whom he was talking to ....What a scam I thought...

Ladies and gentlemen.. there are lot of scammers online... DO NOT buy anything from anybody without DIRECTLY TALKING to them on the phone and also, never ever click any links, EVEN IF YOU KNOW YOUR FRIENDS SENT THEM TO YOU because most of the times, that would be hackers sending you viral links in the name of your friends.. always be alert...

That's all for now guys, Love you my sponsors and friends

Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty

Yours bloggingly

@Theblackdoll

20
$ 4.35
$ 3.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 14
Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

Comments

Omyyy that is so unfortunate Dolly. May that scammer have a day that he deserve. I mean how could he? How could people be so clever and smart in scamming other people. The world is getting worse day by day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree, the world is turning to so scary these days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a massive amount of money but it instantly get out of hand just because of the scam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel really bad for that your friend, I can't imagine losing $700 now, I would go mad..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fraudsters are devising new ways to scam people. So unlucky to have fallen for it. Good that his girlfriend understood and didn't make a scene about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn! 😓 This is just crazy. There are a lot of scammers like that in my country and I usually see a lot of them on Facebook trying to lure their victims with crazy offers. It's too bad that he fell for a scam like that, and the worst thing was that he didn't even check the phone when he got it and he ended up giving it to his girlfriend. But thank God the girlfriend is very understandable, most girls would have walked out on him before he even thinks of explaining

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah! This is so bad, I feel really bad for your former colleague. I'm sure he didn't bother verifying because he thought he was talking to his friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many friends sent me different links but I didn't bother to open, Im just being cautious as what you've said scammers are everywhere and with the use of technology they can easily do their wrong doings. So we should be careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really awful and I really felt for the poor young man . I have heard worse scam stories... I just wonder if the time and energy these scammers spent in coming up with such evil plans, if spent on more productive and legit ventures, wouldn't it yield better results in the long term ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kind of sound somehow, how can he be chatting with his friend and he didn't even bother to hear his voice if it him or a video call, cause business like this needs confirmation of the person you are buying sometimes from instead of just chatting. Maybe he has carried away with the price and he didn't even bother to ask relevant questions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes exactly... his greed let him down.. people need to be more smart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kinda thing is becoming rampant as the day goes by, scammers everywhere with new tricks everyday.

I'm always fond of calling before sending help to any relative that request for my help on media, no matter the amount, I make sure I put a call first

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why these people have guts to scam people? Hmm. Thankfully I haven't been scammed or anything. Be careful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was pretty bad experience, if I were the girlfriend I'll understand and feel sorry for him.. just like the gf did at least she isn't materialistic and that's what matters most. We should be careful who we are dealing with.. stealing identity is rampant nowadays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so sweet of you.. these are the things that make a perfect partner.. people like you make life so easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so bad, scammers are literally everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dude! That poor guy was literally messed up with his mind by trusting that scammer. I cannot even imagine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg!!! Hope that scammer get choke while he is eating!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahhahaha yeah right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh this is a very terrible experience. Your friend is absolutely right to be upset. And I no longer think he trusts anyone in his life. We really shouldn't trust anyone so easily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why it's better to verify first if the person is scammed or not, some are pretending like they are professional but they are just good at social engineering. I really love to grab opportunity but I ask first if they are legit or not and so other people if they really engage on that thing. I thought it's a true story, we made mistakes but we learn from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg, that's a huge of money, we tend to buy a gift for our loved ones but it's vanished like dust, so sad to him sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago