Social Media I Breakup With You

21 65
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

I have sacrificed my social life. Yes, I'm no longer active there it's just if I have free time or am bored I visit it for a few minutes. Once it was part of my life which killed my boredom but with time it acted differently like a disease to me and so I parted my way from it.

Past

  • I created my Facebook account around 2014 or 2015 and was using it on a Nokia phone. I didn't know what it was for. I sent random requests to anyone with a good profile picture whether real or not lol. I am a shy type but on social media, I was very forward. In my teenage, I used to spend half of my life on social media from Facebook to Instagram WhatsApp To Snapchat and a lot of other applications. In most of the apps, I used to talk with some people. Even I had made lots of online girlfriends, lmao.

    Funny thing I found one was a male friend of mine tricking me by portraying himself as a girl, lol. I kicked him hard for this and distanced myself from going deep in conversations with opposite genders as I was never interested in an online fling.

What Went Wrong

  • Do I have to tell you this? I was spending half of my day there without getting anything. Feeding myself with other people's lifestyles and show-off status. I wasn't affected by it at first but with time I realised they are entering my subconscious mind and are indirectly affecting me. It's like a virus which you can't see or feel at first unless and until it damages you inside. Not to mention the toxic and cringe posts social media suggests you for no reason. With all the unnecessary feeding by social media, I left it as many of the motivational pages were also two-faced. Posting about motivation and a few hours later promoting some hot girl. Like seriously I want positive vibes, not horny vibes, lol. And some pages go to extreme lengths to bully or harass other sectors of work or business and they have millions of followers. Like wow, how can people be so arrogant and worship their sector only. Understand that every sector of work or business has its own value. You can list the merits and demerits but know the limit of babbling like a maximalist.

Not to mention the fake news and propaganda you see people supporting. It indirectly affects our mental peace and health.

What I Missed

  • Social media is the best source available to promote your work and business which I failed to do so as in the 'Internet Revolution' time, I didn't have any skills to showcase to the world as the majority of my teenage hours I used to chat with people and all.

  • Now the place is a bit toxic as cringe content is shared more both by algorithms and people while the interesting and talented ones aren't given much exposure.

    But still, it's the best place to promote yourself for now despite all the toxicities. As companies and organisations hire and sponsor people digitally more now.

After Leaving Social Media

I have not left it completely. But it's like the least important thing to me now. I just visit it sometimes to talk with my dear ones. I have more time now, I am more focused. My heart and mind are more peaceful and calm now. As many times scrolling in social media traps you for hours on webs of entertainment. No stress on others or even myself. Notifications of all the social media are off. If I haven't left social media I wouldn't have gotten the idea of Blogging or time to write blogs. So social media kinds of blocks your creative mind.

Future

I won't abandon social media for now completely. There are many informative and knowledgeable things to get from there. But if you spent a minute later you are forced to see something irrelevant to your taste. That's what I hate now in social media. The recommendation algorithm sucks. And I do believe in network as I know my small Network is capable enough to uplift or support me in bad times whether it's the dot platforms or other social media platforms.

Final Thoughts

One of the best decisions I took in my life was to distance myself from social media. As long as there's no business or work involved one shouldn't spend much time on those platforms. They are capable of distracting people in seconds from their work and goals. Life without social media is peaceful, just try it for a week. Indulge yourself in some other activities.

Socal media holds a huge power to boost one's business if you are involved in that line of work this is the best tool you can use.

Lol, where's Telegram and Twitter. I guess I use them the rarest.

Otherwise normal people stay away from this entertaining activity. Currently only using Instagram, WhatsApp, Facebook, Telegram And Twitter as a social media. And I spent half an hour of my whole day in all those platforms.

Lots of research has proved that people who don't use social media or use it very less are happier, calm and in cheerful mood compared to the people who use it.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telgram

24
$ 3.10
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 17
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Brother social media has both role negative and positive. It is up to us either we make its use effective or just time killing. We in past were not known about effective social media use and accept it we waste our time. Our time is more productive on both dot platforms.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's just friend sometimes the social media we read is not good. So we choose what is good for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will be taking a break from Social Media too, but not Netflix. I am obsessed with watching movies while working recently.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Social media really helps a lot, but it is all left on individuals, it depends on our we use it or what we used it for and it becomes a good benefits to us...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are so many people disguising on social media, trying to act in a cunny way. There's no how you can part ways with social media, it's the one keeping us lively from boredomness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to this my friend. Like these days, I started to spend less on my social media apps because I find them time consuming. In the end, I embraced an unproductive day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I started to be very dependent on social networks in the pandemic since I was very bored, I also made the same mistake as you of sending random requests to many people on facebook than today day I want to delete. I'm glad that I also got away from social networks in a healthy way like you, nowadays where I spend a lot of time is here at Read.Cash, which is totally different

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After using noise.cash and read.cash I forget about another social media platform just like you and now spend my whole day on both these platforms

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually don't have your top 4 apps in the photo. It's not popular here I guess. We rarely use it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh among them Keep Notes is for writing blogs and Yt music for listening songs, the below there are actual social sites which I use sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

just like me friends, I spend almost every day on FB, but after joining read.cash slowly drifted away from it. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still.open my FB but read news.. I seldom post updates..I just felt like I prefer privacy rather than flexing my whereabouts

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey, for news don't follow fb. Your local newspaper is still a better source. Just use fb for the memes!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I am.checking the fb page of local tv/radio station for the news..not that memes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i think social media toxic and full of fake news nowadays which is not healthy. for our minds and for our mental health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The fake news spreads like crazy there and many times people act on it. The environment isn't peaceful at all in social media.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't remember last time I updated status on my Facebook account, maybe since I know these two platforms, noise.cash and ReadCash, sometimes a notification appears on my cellphone screen, but I let it pass.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Social media is a great help for us in terms of communication. But it has also lot of disadvantages tht ruin lives especially young people. It's a waste of money and time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, that's how social media ruin some people's life. I admit that I spending too much time for a nonsense activities in social media but I think in our times social media if use in right way it will give you good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The platform is very powerful for self promotion of your work or business.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I totally agree with that..this could be the best way to do that

$ 0.00
1 year ago