I Got Attacked By Malware

23 59
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Nowadays our Gmail account is a great storage of important information related to our activity and data as in most applications and websites we give it while registering or creating an account. Some even use it to save important data and passwords as recovering this information from email is very easy.

Gmail accounts require a password to access and I hope you have a strong password containing Capital and small letters, numbers, and special digits also. Are you among the ones who put easy passwords like birthday numbers, phone numbers, etc, or even 'iloveyou', lol. Found out that's the most commonly used Gmail password. Immediately change it into a strong one in case you are using something like that, because getting someone's phone number and birth date isn't hard at all even I can know yours with some digging if you are a social media user.

Nearly Got HACKED

I woke at 5 a.m. as usual, freshened up a bit, came back to plug the phone for charging, and saw these serious notifications which nearly gave me a mini heart attack. I got a security alert notification for 4 Gmail accounts at once. I immediately clicked on it and found that it was due to some malware or virus in my laptop.

Great thing was that all my accounts were immediately logged out when the malware attacked. I did a full scan on my device only to find nothing. This means I have to format the Windows and reinstall it to be extra careful.

Such incidents are common nowadays as many people don't know the basics of using the internet. The first thing if you are a PC user is to avoid downloading files from any non-official website. Not clicking on unrecognised links. Avoid using of pendrive from other people. Once installed the malware can harm, steal or corrupt your entire data. The same applies for any other devices but for PC it's a must. I may have got this from a movie downloading website.

Google Security

There are some steps you can do to enhance your Google Security which I have done. My accounts are very hard to hack unless someone gets their hands on my device.

2 Step Verification Or Use Your Device To Sign In

The most reliable common security feature according to me which will require your phone number to be set up and will ask for an OTP code or simply permission in your primary device to get access to it whenever you login into a different device even though you wrote the correct password.

There are other security measures also which you can use like the Google Authenticator, Security Key, etc. Those are stronger than OTP.

Add Recovery Email Or Phone Number

Always add a recovery email address in case you forgot your password or someone hacks your email though if you have already a phone number set in your Gmail then it will be easy to get your account back still a recovery email address will come in handy.

Sponsor Of This Blog:-

Image by Unity, Follow NoiseOdyseeLinkedIn, and an article for more info.

Final Thoughts

Gmail is like your secret box. Nowadays we even connect our Gmail to contacts. This secret box must have extra layers of protection. Being hacked or fooled in this digital age isn't hard at all. A click or a virus is all needed to hack someone's account.

Be wary of where you are using or giving your Gmail. And have one primary mail and use it for private purposes while makes another one for internet usage. Protect your data it's damn precious.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Noise.app

15
$ 1.35
$ 1.01 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Shani59
+ 10
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

One of my British connections used Google Pay as a paid service. The problem started when he wanted to stop the paid service! His credit card was still active in his account despite repeated emails to the Google helpdesk! He sent 13 email requests to unlink his credit card, but it was not done! Then, he had to send a legal notice to get his card unlinked from Google Pay!

What should you call Google? Scammer or criminal?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Scammer seems right, lol. Such irresponsibility looks intentional.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always use 2FA in all my accounts. Good you got rid off of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Smart, 2FA has saved me a lot of times from attempts like this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That happened to me too. One of my password was also compromised however 2FA saved me too and changed that password everywhere I had been using

$ 0.00
1 year ago

very important that our gmail account is installed with 2-step verification to prevent the account from being hacked. especially on our important business account or personal account.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We store a lot of data in mails nowadays and these layers of security will enhance its security.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Already I did this thing for my securing Gmail because I have a lot of data in my Gmail account. Bro, I have a question mostly I use the same password on every platform, is it the right thing?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No man that's bad, use different ones. Because if somehow one is hacked, a hacker can hack your other accounts easily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am especially benefited by the very informative article you shared with us. Such incidents often happen to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Add extra layers of security to your Gmail account to counter them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should be aware of it. Nowadays, it's very common.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup, these attempts are common nowadays.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are very right. A lot of people use some simple password that people may easily hack. As you said, this is why we are always being advised to download files from the right source. I'm glad that you have a strong password and that was why they were not able to hack your Gmail account

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, the password is very hard to hack lol. Also the Two factory saved me as I didn't accepted the authorisation permission.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I couldn't help feeling scared with this article, because the truth is that I'm a bit of a grandmother when it comes to technology and I don't know much about password or email security. The only thing that relieves me is that I have a certain email for important things and another to use in new pages or subscribe to sites so I avoid putting my personal email anywhere

It's good that nothing happened to you and in time you corrected some things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's already a safe approach never use the main one in internet sites.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really want this kind of information regarding protection of email I lost my mobile And there is also suspicious in my mobile

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh man learn cyber security a bit, you can get tons of informations in YouTube and in my part I will always share what I know and will learn about such measures.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wrote an article on how to create a strong password that you won't forget more than a year ago. With that, plus 2FA activated, you're account will surely be secured... however, how we "behave" online is the ultimate factor when it comes to security.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sir, even with the security we can't act rashly especially in the internet where new ways of hacking developed now and then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have never experienced this ever, probably someone trying to hack you Google Account. Hopefully you are safe! Yes you are right strong password with special characters are crucial to avoid cyber attacks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup, dodged the hacking attempt there due to extra layers of security.

$ 0.00
1 year ago