Seven States Apart

Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

"How do you reconcile the idea of the one person closest to you, the one person who gets you, your rock, your person, moving seven states away from you?"

Well, try as I might, I don't know how to reconcile it. I've been trying not to think about it. Some might say I'm in denial. Truth is, if I had my way, this move wouldn't be happening at all but it isn't and I better get used to the idea cause this move happens in 3 days.

This person I speak of is, my younger sister, my only sister. The reason she's moving is because, she got admission into one of the prestigious universities in the country (Nigeria) and I couldn't be more proud. She'll be studying Pharmacy, for 5 years or more, amazing right? I know! Trust me, each time I think about it, I'm elated, reeling with joy. It's like I just know she's going to kill it over there. The only thing I find unsettling is the distance, "seven states apart"

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

My sister and I have never been that far from each other or even for as long as that. She has been with me through it all and now, it's time for her to make her own way and this is just the beginning. I'm only a year and some 5 months older than her and we're as thick as thieves. We both attended the same schools from kindergarten, primary and secondary schools, although we haven't both been in the same class. It's only reasonable that we also attended the same university but life had other plans.

This takes me back to one of my previous articles, "We can't control the wind but we can adjust the sails" here's the link - https://read.cash/@The.Ada/we-cant-direct-the-wind-but-we-can-adjust-the-sails-49bb57b8

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

I definitely learned how to deal when plans change or things don't go according to plan. I couldn't be anything but happy for my sister regardless of the plans what I wanted. I'm hopeful that her moving for school would be one of the best things to happen to her and to our family too.

Recently, I was asked...

"What is it like being a big sister?"

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

I didn't know how to answer the question and I still don't know how to answer it. Being a big sister is all I've ever known. I can't remember a time when I wasn't a big sister nor can I compare being a big sister to anything else. It is in being a big sister I find my identity. I'm a little worried about the whole distance thing. I know it's not going to be easy and I'm definitely going to miss seeing her and her being so close. I'm going to miss a lot of things...

I'm going to miss her learning to play the guitar. You see, she named her guitar "Clarice" after a character from one of her favorite series, "The Gifted" She got Clarice late last year and ever since she's always playing everyday, learning

and getting better at it. There's this thing we do almost everyday, she called it "Jam-sesh" (ridiculous, right? Yeah! Ridiculously funny🤣) What we do is, I sing and she plays along. It's always fun and sometimes we record ourselves. I'm surely going to miss that.

These are some of the pictures she sent to me. So, when she's bored out of her mind, she takes pictures of random things at home and just sends it to me. I'm going to miss that about her.

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

Another thing I'm really going to miss is our "Laughter nights" (another ridiculous name she came up with) How "laughter night" came about; laughter night happens when for instance, we're both working in the kitchen and making small talk, then as we converse we begin to reminisce on funny moments when we were younger. Not just the funny moments, the ridiculous moments, the embarrassing ones, and we literally laugh out loud! always at night too. It just happens. One minute we're making small talk while busy with one thing or the other and the next we're reminiscing and laughing out loud, crazy right? Trust me, I know.

Wow! "Seven states apart" she leaves in 3 days, my goodness. I'm so thrilled for her. Although, long distance friendship/relationship isn't my strongest suit but I'm going to try my hardest to not let our bond suffer. I know she's always going to be my sister but I still would want us to be as thick as thieves. At least, technology has made things easier.

I better end this writeup because I'm already starting to feel emotional.

Signing out!

10
$ 0.40
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

The distance will surely be difficult, especially at the beginning, but surely you will have other moments of complicity. I'm also a big sister, so I don't know how to be something else. I don't think I would know what to say to the question either. Good luck to your sister!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel the love! It's a good thing really that you can at least ease the longing for we now have the power of technology that you can use to your advantage. You can communicate anytime as long as your and her time permits. I'm excited for this new journey in her life. Good luck to her!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very hard cheer up tho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo I fit die

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel the emotions running through your words, cheer up :) I believe you will get reconciled to that 'separation' anxiety as time progresses. The good thing is that you can still connect virtually. And yes, I agree to what HappyBoy says, there will be more fun during the separation stage and the bond between you and your sister may as well become stronger than ever and you will have many more things to talk and laugh about :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish her the very best in her academics. From all indications she's a smart girl. I'm sure she will make the family proud. Don't weep too much😂 Holidays are there for you guys to reminisce. In fact it will be more fun with the separation. Sorry for laughing by the way😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago