We Can't Direct The Wind But We Can Adjust The Sails.

Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Sunday, 8th August

"We can't direct the wind but we can adjust the sails. For maximum happiness, peace and contentment, may we choose a positive attitude" - Thomas S. Monson

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

Lying down on my bed completely bored out of my mind, I think to myself, "what can I do to alleviate my mood?" It seems luck is on my side because something has caught my attention. A quote written on the cover page of my notebook. It says, "We can't adjust the wind but we can adjust the sails..." I don't know why this caught my attention but it actually got me thinking about what the quote really means. I reckon that the quote was trying to say, majority of the times we cannot control the situations we find ourselves in but what we can control is our reactions and response to those situations and that ultimately will decide our course in life.

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

You see, life is filled with vicissitudes, all kinds of surprises, both the good and the bad, and that's not going to change any time soon. But, we must allow all these misfortunes to be an impediment for our journey. We can always adjust to reach our destination in life.

As I ponder on what this mean, at least to me, I recall an experience from way back when. I would like to share said experience with you...

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

It happened some years back, my siblings and I were seated in the den watching one of our favourite TV shows "Criminal Minds" I remember because my sister kept pestering me with unnecessary questions about the show. I could say everything was going well, at least until my parents walked in and told us to turn off the TV because they wanted to talk to us as a family. At first, I was confused because they hardly act this way. I felt the ambience in the room change from a cozy, relaxed one to that of a worry and uneasiness. Paying attention to our parents, my dad began; "There is something we need to tell you. Please, I'm going to need you to be understanding and know that this is for the best."

I was already freaking out and I had a frantic expression on my face. My mom continued, "Well, the truth of the matter is that we are relocating within a week. I have notified your school authorities and I've transferred you all to a different school. Your father and I are going to need you guys to start putting your things together from tomorrow because time is of the essence. We know this is short notice and we are sorry about that. You should know that we are not intentionally trying to uproot your lives here but this move is the best thing for us as a family."

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

At this point, it felt like my world shattered; the rug was pulled out from under me. I wasn't even listening anymore. All I could think about was leaving my friends, my schoolmates, even the school itself, starting in a new place. I wasn't a fan of change so naturally I was devastated, angry and sad. I threw a conniption fit and walked to my room.

A/N: Recalling this experience, I really wished I responded directly because the move was actually one of the best thing that happened to me and my family. Even if, at the times, it seemed like my social life was over, I should have been understanding and adjusted accordingly instead of acting like a petulant child. Well, I learnt from the experience and now I know better.

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

>>Good day everyone, I'm just glad to have the opportunity to share my writeup here. This is one of many amazing writeups I'm going to be sharing and I'm just so excitedly ecstatic. I'm Grateful literally and figuratively.

Looking forward to your comments. Please endeavour to subscribe and upvote. Also, I want to take this time to appreciate my sponsors for the sponsorship. Thank you all so much and I trust you have a great day. I love you all.

9
$ 0.40
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 6
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I used to be afraid of changes. But I have had quite a few, and I am not longer afraid of them. Rather I like to think that they can be an opportunity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I know right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I myself is not a fan of change. But I learned to adapt to it because that's life. Change is constant so I try my best to deal with change and am glad yours turned out well dear. That's very nice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I accept change easily considering the fact that it is the only constant thing in life. When you see a change don't be paranoid, just adjust, you'd find out that it is beneficial to you in the long run..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I get that now. I learnt from the experience. I appreciate your advice. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I myself fear change, but that's the only constant in this world! Regards to your family! Glad your move turned out good!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I see that too. Thanks

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think what you did was our normal reaction to change. We just react based on what we initially think of without giving a second look. I am glad the move turned out great for you and your family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I appreciate your feedback

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are things that we can't control sometimes and it's hard to understand. I would have reacted the same way but it seems that things have turned out well in the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it most definitely did! Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, Ada. I love your writeup, it's really not easy to write fiction using the first person narrative but you've done something captivating here. Well done, I look forward to more of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I appreciate the feedback

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As the saying goes "when life gives you lemon, turn it to lemonade". We need to adapt to some situations for our own good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah we do. I learnt that from that very experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago