Some things to do and some things not to do

58 83
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
1 year ago

Hello Hello you beautiful people.

How are things?

I have seen many readers join Hive and thought i would share some tips and pointers about what and more importantly what not to do there.

If you are new and have not made an Introduction post then you should do it, but take your time with it and don't just rush it.

As with any post on Hive, proofread it and make it your best.

Hive is a much bigger ecosystem and you should think of being there for the long run.

Don't just post and keep taking your money, it gets noticed.

Powering up your Hive is essential to grow your account and get bigger curation rewards.

You will notice there are loads of tokens and investment opportunities there as well, but I won't dwell on that today.

My sky last night: Picture taken by me with my Canon Powershot HS70

Tag Abuse

Tags are very very important in Hive, many autovotes are triggered by what tags you use, and using the wrong tag could get you into trouble.

Communities

Before you post in a community for the first time, read the guidelines and rules! It does not feel nice getting your post muted, trust me it happened to me when I first joined and I left in a huff! The reason was tag abuse!

Talking about communities brings me to another point.

Don't spread yourself too thin

There are so many communities and contests all over the place on Hive that you could end up jumping all over the place.

If you like a community, then get to know the members and moderators. Remember it is those moderators than upvote your post and get it curated. So be polite and engage on posts in a community. If you join a contest then do the same thing.

If you are engaging meaningfully it will get noticed in a good way.

Discord

Discord is huge on Hive, and all the frontends and most communities have their own servers. Join in the fun and again you get known and people will come visit your posts.

Don't spam the servers though. I see people just come in and drop their posts and run, stay and engage if you are going to do that, and again make sure that the community and your post are a good fit.

Cross Posting from Read is a NO NO

There are some big curator groups on Hive, one of which is OCD and many communities are part of the OCD program. When you get an OCD this will usually take you past the $20 mark for a post. However there are criteria for OCD curators to follow, I know as I am one. One big criteria now is rewarding content creators that are growing the Hive ecosystem, and as such cross posting from other blockchains is frowned upon.

So if want to use Hive and Read, then make sure that your content is different, don't just copy and paste.

Sourcing and citing images and text in your post

When we curate we go through a post and make sure that the images either belong to the author (if they are yours then say that in your post) or available to be used commercially. If you are using pixabay for example, put the link in your post, don't just say it is from pixabay- actually link to it. A good curator will check that the link works and is available to use.

You have to remember that scammers are all over the place, and the idea is to reward Hivers that are posting original content.

If you are quoting text, then again cite and link the source.

For example, copying and pasting a paragraph or two from Wikipedia without quoting citing and linking the reference could well get your post noted as plagiarism. Do that too often and you will get blacklisted and your posts downvoted and rewards will be 0.

I could go on all day about tips however this one is important.

Do not vote on comments

You will notice that you have voting mana (or power) of 100%, this goes down the more you vote. When you vote you are curating something and do get rewarded, however nothing under 2 cents gets curated, so as your vote is probably worth less than 2 cents it is a wasted vote.

In fact it is even worse than wasted. It takes approximately 24 hours to cover 20% of your voting power. A 100% vote will use up 2% of your power. So 10 full 100% votes is a daily total, you can of course make smaller votes to have more of them, but do not vote comments or replies.

It is much better to reply and if you want to show appreciation then along with your reply leave them a token tip such as WINE LOLZ BEER PIZZA ALIVE PGM LUV etc.

You won't have any of these tokens at the beginning however everyone can use !hivebits once a day and this will give you and the recipient a bit of hivebits, which in time you can sell.

Any questions please do give me a shout.

Have a good one!

Do you want some specific posts or tutorials on Hive, I can do those if needed!

18
$ 2.55
$ 2.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 13
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
1 year ago

Comments

This is a big help for me. I am very new to the platform and I am too scared to make mistakes there that is why I post often. I read more and leave comment. My problems are the right tags and discord group is a big help for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaoo.. This has helped me understand hive more.. Before I do tip all my comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really helpful and informative, most specially to us newbie. Anyway I wanna ask why do some bots downvotes a content? Is screenshot photo not allowed?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This cleared some of my questions even though I'm still super confused. I should definitely follow you on hive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much for this and I believe a lot of people would learn from this, Partner just as I have. It was recently when I made a sport post that I was told that it was rejected for OCD curation because I posted it on Blurt and Steemit after I just posted it on Hive. They want it exclusively for Hive and ever since then, I've been making my posts for Hive now without posting it anywhere else. Better to be careful than to be sorry.

I once used the teamuk tag before I was told it's for those in the UK 🤣🤣😂😂🤣. I can't wait to leave Nigeria so I can comfortably use the tag 🤣🤣😂🤣🤣

There are so many contests on Hive and that keeps things going. I should be joining more soon.

Thank you for these hints, Partner.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hey partner, sorry to hear about your sport post. But yes anything that is cross posted won't be curated. In fact, as you say Hive content should be exclusively for Hive only.

hehe yes I have seen a few Nigerians use teamuk and told people they should not do it. Some of the bigger accounts are not too friendly about it. So people need to make sure they only use the correct tags.

Yeah there are contests all over the place, it is fun to join in some:) Have a good one partner!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what I've been doing now...making posts exclusively for Hive. It's safer and better that way.

When I get to the UK, I will use the tag 🤩🤩😍😍🥰🥰

Thank you, partner. Do enjoy the rest of your week.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for dropping by on such an important matter... Many of us are actually unaware of these.. And I guess I had a lot of mistakes there 🙈

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No problem Jane and just to clarify, don't post from read to hive OR from hive to read.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for sharing this with us! Really appreciate and was much needed!

Tho, i was voting on comments and now I've like 30% power left - still collecting tokens to tip ( will make this soon and won't do upvote on comments anymore).

Again thank you so much!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My pleasure and yes voting on comments eats up your power and is pointless, the more your voting power goes down then the less your vote is worth and so the less curation rewards you will get for your vote, so just don't vote on comments until your vote is worth something decent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yay! This was indeed a usefull tips kuya! That tags, I remember my attention was called by Galenkp last weekend because of my tags. I was a little worried because its galenkp! Just to find out I lack hyphen😂😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hehe galen is okay, just follow his rules, you are lucky he told you. When I was helping him when the community was really busy, we disqualified people if they had the hyphon missing;) At least now he tells you, but yes read and read again community guidelines

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh really? Yeah he is okay as After i saw my mistake and edited the tags he even upvoted my post. Yes learned my lessons well, proofread anf check well before publishing. I don't want to create negative impression.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes and make sure post is in the right community, that is easy to get wrong too! I have done that inday :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this, it's appreciated. I just started writing on hive, i guess my Introduction post wasn't good enough because it didn't get as much attention as expected. One constant mistake i can say I'm guilty of is tipping comments on my post. It's just $0.002 and i thought it's a way of showing my appreciation, i didn't know it's of no use. Thanks once again for this article.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea voting on comments is worthless, just write a reply or use a tipping token:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Noted! I'll connect with you there, same username right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yep same username

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so interesting. Many users here already joined Hive and they may think Hive is easy like that but not until you have understood things there.

Hive isn't where you will post and leave. Constant engagement is important and you must understand that hive is a long term goal and not an immediate one.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

you must understand that hive is a long term goal and not an immediate one.

That is the most important thing Busayo , and people that just post and take out their rewards will not grow in the long term!

You know what you are doing there though:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course, I do. Hive is my home too😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Ed, I find it super interesting that you share your experience on Hive with others. I've been on this social network for a while now, but I recently started interacting a bit more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Juany how are you :) Ah it is good that you are interacting now!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh,thank you a lot sir. I've been having troubles about that website. This information is really helpful

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are welcome, it is hard at the beginning but then gets easier!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a helpful guide for beginners who are and who wish to join hive. Thanks for this Sir Tengolotodo. Warm greetimgs from Ph. Smiles and wink.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

MY pleasure porsche and greetings from Scotland :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really need this, master, because I just signed up on Hive earlier. I am still confused about how it works but I will study about it tomorrow after work.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

oh my wee BC, then let me help you when you are ready. Hive is great as long as you are shown what to do properly and of course anything for my wee BC:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate that, master. I recently downloaded a discord application but not on my phone since I have errors every time I tried to install the app on mine. I am using my friend's phone to connect to other hive users. Hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lol okay my wee BC. well you know where to message me if not in discord. Are you BC on hive?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sent a message already master hehe. My username on Hive is BreadChamp hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ok my wee BC, today has been chaotic and I will look for you :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not on the hive platform yet, but I hear a lot about it, thank you for these tips. I will save the post to read it again if I decide one day to create a hive account. Thanks a lot sir

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My pleasure it is a fun place, but if you do it wrong, then it can become a miserable place!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thankie for these tips Kuya and thanks also for always giving me some informations on what should be or not in Hive... I really appreciate it. Hoping to learn more from you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

way sapayan inday, Hive is fun and of course I will help you whenever you want:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really great to have you who can help me anytime Kuya. Thanks once again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

no thanks needed inday pero salamat :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been there, man and when I read this article it turned out that there were many things I had to do there, it turned out that there were still many things to do in the hive even though I had read the rules. thank you bro this is very useful.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

no problem, any questions just give me a shout

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ok, how to apply the correct tag for an article? did you join discord? maybe I'll ask more there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah i am on discord, i think i saw you in ecency?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes i'm also on ecency, what's your name on discord? so that I can communicate with you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am planning to join this 13 after the hive webinar so that for me to understand the guidelines and concept. I'm also reading some of the introduction so that I can make mine. But I want to attend the webinar first for me to understand the exact guidelines of the self introduction

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The introduce yourself post is so important and if done right is a great rewarded post to get you off to a flying start, let me know if you need any help and let me know when you join na.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes kuya, I'll make an article rin for sure about my first journey sa hive. I'm excited to learn new things since Hive is another lever of blogging ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

okay inday, if I can help just let me know. It is different but it is also fun:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes kuya, salamat po!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

walang anuman inday :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello sir Ed, it was nice to hear from you again po. I am in Hive and I appreciate your tips. Great shot!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

oh are you, what is your username there? Thanks nature is a wonderful model.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, thank you sir! It's really helpful for us to read something like this from old users on Hive. I noted all of this to avoid bad things to happen in my account. Hehe.

Can I ask how to join the Hive engagement league?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad you found it useful. As for HEL the post comes out on a Monday, what you need to do is leave a comment tagging Asher the author saying that you want to join, and you should be included in the next post.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I see. Will he noticed me? I'm new in Hive. Is there a rules or requirements in HEL?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

just engage and post like you normally do, the stats are calculated automatically.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

if you make a comment on his post and tag him in the comment, and say that you wish to join the league he will notice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago