Fly London to South Africa in 45 days

44 76
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Hello all you awesome beautiful people of read! 4th February 2022 4/28

Today is February 4th 2022, and I was earlier doing some research for an article I am writing and came across some interesting facts about today.

It really proved to me just how far we have advanced over the last 100 years, in a technological sense anyway.

Let's rewind to this day in 1920 and let me introduce you to Lt. Col Pierre van Ryneveld and Lt. Col Christopher Joseph Qunitin Brand.

They were two pilots who took off from London in a Vickers Vimy plane named the Silver Queen.

Their destination was Cape Town in South Africa, and this was to be the first flight from London to South Africa.

There had previously been several British teams who set out in a bid to pioneer this new air route, however, of them had crashed their aircraft and ultimately abandoned their effort.

Upto the plate stepped the South African duo of van Ryneveld and Brand.

Van Ryneveld's full name was Hesperus Andrias van Ryneveld but he went by the nickname of Pierre, much less of a mouthful if you ask me!

During the first world war he served in the Royal Flying Corps and then the Royal Air Force.
After the war, the South African Prime Minister Jan Smuts recalled him back to South Africa to set up the South African Air Force (SAAF).

This was why on February 4th 1920 both he and his fellow pilot Brand set off on their mammoth 45 day trip.

Image by Moshe Harosh from Pixabay

During bad weather, they had a leaking radiator and they were forced to crash land at Wadi Halfa in Sudan. Unluckily for them they wrote their plane off in the crash landing.

Jan Smuts managed to pull some strings and they pair were loaned another Vimy F8615 from the Royal Air Force at Heliopolis, in Egypt, which they called Silver Queen 2.

After 11 days, the pair were able to carry on their journey. Then Silver Queen 2 had a disaster similar to the one that befell the original Silver Queen!

Silver Queen 2 was overloaded and it crashed on March 6th in Bulawayo (which is the second-largest city in Zimbabwe).

Jan Smuts came to the rescue again! He arranged for another plane to be flown to Bulawayo, this time it was a de Havilland DH9.

After another 11 day delay, the pair of pilots were able to depart Bulawayo on March 17th.

The pair finally touched down on March 20th at Young’s Field in Wynberg, Cape Town, 45 days after they had set off from London on February 4th.

Their actual flying time was 109 hours and 30 minutes.

For this heroic and mammoth journey the pair were knighted.

van Ryneveld did set up and establish the SAAF in 1920, and he directed it until 1933, when he was promoted to Chief of the General Staff in command of the Union Defence Forces.

So there you have it, a 45 day flight from London to South Africa with a couple of wee stopovers thrown in for good measure.

Could you imagine taking 45 days now, we take things for granted and would grumble if the flight took more than a few hours.

Thank you for reading and investing your time with me, I appreciate it!

I hope you have a great weekend, I might go to the beach tomorrow, do you have any plans for the weekend?

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2022 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

26
$ 5.50
$ 4.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @annayks
+ 18
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

reading your title I thought you will be flying to Africa in 45days. can't imagine if I gonna travel this long. The longest travel I had was way back 2013. I left here in Manila (capital of Phil) Dec. 26 and I arrived in my hometown Dec. 31. But it was due to delay, I just took a bus that time. SInce then, I make sure to travel by air, it only took 45 minutes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a good story. Today we complain about many things that people could only dream of, considering them perfection that will happen in the distant future. We sometimes don't appreciate enough this future that gives us a comfortable life. I had plans for the weekend but I just had to hang out with the doctors again 😊, I should rest more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The plan for the weekend is to try to relax as much as possible, but can I really do it? Lol. Thank you for the history lesson sir Ed, you always put something interestingly unique in your articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand this. This is a comparison of time between ancient times and now. closely related to advances in technology and communication. maybe we think now when the ancients had 45 days but they struggled to get to a destination different from ours, traveling 1 hour already made the seats hot. Sending a message by mail takes a week to a few months because of the distance. currently sending messages only takes a few seconds. this is talking time.. good friend this analogy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it is a comparison between ancient times and now. One other thing between ancient times and now...In older times they had more time to do things. We have so much more technology, but we have less time to do things. So who had the best times I wonder..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn it is not really easy to do that they must have being starving. Going on a 45days journey is not easy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not easy, but they did it and survived!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article, impressive those 45 days, but they were the first steps to get to the current moment. My plan for the weekend, is to try to earn even $2/day on the web.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope that you succeed with your plan Frank.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do it, dear friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gracias

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have fun and be safe as always 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was raining so I was safe 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

45 days? Isn't that too much? I mean it's okay unless you already have everything you need to travel

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is how long it took with all the crashes and waiting for replacement planes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was reallly worth it in the end, but journeying for 45 days. Mehn!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe a long time, but it was a long way to go and never been done before , so kudos to them!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thinking that I am flying my knees feel terrible but hopefully kuya I can make it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can make it inday Maryel I have faith😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you told a very interesting story. Thank God that they finally reached their destination safely. They were truly the heroes of their time... 👏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, yes they really were heroes of their time and brave!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I am terrified of flying and this sounds like my worst nightmare! Also after one crash I would have called it a day and walked back to London

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha I really don't like flying now (I have been in two plane crashes) and wherever possible will not take a flight! So I am with you 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two plane crashes?!? That is my biggest nightmare. I only needed one broken engine and emergency landing to forever turn away from flying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My jetlag would probably last for weeks f I have that long long trip.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha it would wouldn't it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't imagine being on board for a day yet they journeyed for 45 days even with the obstacles coming their way. Such promotions well deserved for him.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes they deserved all they received, but yes a 45 day journey is hard to comprehend Kim!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

45 days? It should be good enough to have a vacation in one place haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha or maybe four

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhmm, might do yhe laundry tomorrow after church service DF haahha. Or, maybe, I'll go to our river and enjoy its cold water haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The river, it will cool you down if you go for a dip DF, pero sounds so cold haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get some fun in the Beach Ted.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe the weather was atrocious so I didn't go!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The test of patience sir and that's the biggest important. We should be patience and do not give up easily whatever happens.

I remember the movie I've watch with this sir. I felt the struggles they had but they never give up, they were determined and patience.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is the key, never give up. It is amazing what we can achieve if we keep going!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir indeed. No matter what happen just continue and never stop sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The determination they have was what makes that flight a successful but right now, if it happens it makes one become impatient and irritated...Doesn't have plan for weekends. Just staying inside the house coz the weather isn't fine here

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh we have had rain all day, so I stayed inside too apart from when I had to get some medicines. Yes we have so much to be thankful to our ancestors for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No plans for weekend. But impressed with you you. I can't wait.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah well sometimes the best things happen spontaneously.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a great patience and determination they have, but now we lost our temper if our flight would be delayed even just a 30minutes only

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes that's right, how times have changed, now we expect to happen immediately!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago