Brainstorming or Freewriting?

54 68
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

2nd November 2021

Happy day to all of you awesome readers. The second of November is here, well actually I am sure it is the third of November for some of you that are reading this just now.

I made a goal yesterday for November. It was simply just one goal and that goal was to write one article every day in November.

I am determined not to fall at the first hurdle so let's get cracking.

Have you heard of freewriting?

“Don’t think; just write!” —Ray Bradbury

Freewriting is a writing strategy that was developed by Peter Elbow in 1973 and is similar to brainstorming except that freewriting is written in sentence and paragraph form without stopping

Do you practice freewriting?

If not then I think you should!

It is actually good practice for when you have writer's block or to practice writing in a foreign language. Something that affects almost all of us at some point in our read.cash journey.

“The consequence [of writing] is that you must start by writing the wrong meanings in the wrong words; but keep writing until you get to the right meanings in the right words. Only in the end will you know what you are saying.” —Peter Elbow

Sounds simple doesn't it?

Well, it really is simple, just trust me!

Freewriting :

  • increases the flow of ideas and reduces the chance that you’ll accidentally censor a good idea.

  • helps to increase the fluency  of second-language learners.

Just as in Brainstorming:

  • DON'T worry about using correct grammar or even having correct spelling!

  • DO write down every idea you can think of no matter how crazy it might sound.

Unlike in Brainstorming:

  • DO write in sentence and paragraph form.

  • DO feel free to use an occasional word from your native language if you can't think of the English word, look at me and my use of foreign words every so often!

  • DO KEEP YOUR HANDS MOVING. If you can’t think of anything,  then keep repeating what you are writing (e.g., “bonnie wee lassie, bonnie wee lassie") or write something like “Oh come on, I'm waiting for ideas to appear, Oh come on, I'm waiting for ideas to appear” over and over again until those ideas do appear. (And appear they will!);

  • DO keep going for 5 or 10 minutes or until you think that you have enough to start your article.

In Peter Elbow's original freewriting, it was designed to generate not only ideas but even a whole topic. The writer writes for a few minutes, chooses one idea or word from that initial freewriting and then freewrites about that new topic for several minutes. Now rinse and repeat and you can be churning out articles in no time.

This method is awesome if you are truly starting from scratch and are not even sure what you want to write your article about.

There are even FreeWriting prompts all over the place, an example is the Writing Prompt community here in read.cash.

I find though what works best for me is sitting down and starting to look around as I type. I will see lots of things from plants to books to food to what is on television. I write sentences about them and before I know it I have six or seven drafts saved in my articles, that are ready to edit and publish!

So no more writer's block people, start Freewriting today, and get your article written and published as if by magic!

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

I can also be seen at ¤ Noise.Cash  ¤ Hive ¤  Torum  ¤  Twitter

23
$ 9.75
$ 9.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Winx1988
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

I had one very difficult situation in February this year and I was trying all the time to find a way to feel better. Then I started free writing. I wrote everything what I have on my mind and when I read it now, it is very confusing and without sense, but at that moment, free writing brought a stress relief to me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It serves a purpose, and in that time it was to bring stress relief to you. Maybe looking back at what you wrote in that period can prompt and article form it , you never know?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It could be good idea. I will think about it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very educational po, thank you. I badly needed this one!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are so very welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will surely save this one DF and might do some freewriting one of these days.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh I think you should DF , be interesting to see what you come up with 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so Informative Sir, thank you for this. I always love free writing and Brain storming both are them I used to do.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Yes brainstorming is good and for me freewriting is fun, am glad you do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always free write, even my 31 days of Halloween and everything else I wrote until now was free writing haha.. brainstorming always bring me migraines, hate to do that

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ouch migraines are no fun, the Kelpie gory story for you was freewriting lol. Cool that is what you do!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm always freewriting if I can't write something useful, or nothing particularly happens in my day to inspire me to write. It always saved me from resorting to procrastination.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Anything is better than the dreaded procrastination and I love your Halloween article just now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this article. Every time i face writer’s Block and that’s why i do free writing. I didn’t know the term used for it. Thanks for the information. I was used to write my thoughts whenever I write an article, when i have no thoughts. Actually, it’s a best way to improve yourself i think. Keep it up mate and yeah, i am reading this on 3rd November. Good morning.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are spot on, it is a great way to improve yourself. Good morning to you or maybe your afternoon now. I am glad you know what is called now that you do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do free writing kuya, sometimes idc if my grammar is wrong I just type and type and type and type until I finish it 🤣. it helps me more especially writing essays in school project, sometimes I think of it as an article and a prompt 🤣.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes type type and keep typing. If you want to correct it, you can do later or just publish it! Yes I used to do at University too and it is great for essays, and welcome to read by the way inday 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I am doing these free writing:)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is good to hear, it is fun I think

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely like free writing. It helps me to express my feelings.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly you can let go and express yourself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do freewriting most of the time kuya ed. I sometimes just let my hand do the work, just letting it type all the words and ideas in my mind, and later on, I would notice that I was finally able to write an article lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe your articles are so much fun to read, so freewriting works for you then 😁😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Oh come on, I'm waiting for ideas to appear". I need this and I hope the magic works! ;) LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe the magic happens whenever you write Eliana 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Ed 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhhh hehe I'm used to be like this also. Freewriting has something a magic that without knowing u will composed already a paragraph.

Actually, when I am going to write an article, I don't have any ideas or topic to tell about. I just click the "write an article' and then booom the magic is there hahha my mind already functioning without any outline of my mind.😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe you do it perfectly, it is like magic and yes really does work. I am so glad you do it already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always do this Everytime I'm out of topic and it's amazing that I ended up publishing an article

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

It is a great way to make something from nothing 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My hands can't move if my brain is empty hahaha loading always or out of idea.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe there is always something in your head, just write what you think and keep writing then see what happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's keep our hands moving and write. Yes! 💪😁 Thank you for this master, this is a big help for me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad to hear it my wee BC, keep them moving and you will be surprised how easy it is to write something.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is quite a helpful article. Thanks

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Glad it could be of use, and good luck with your fish project.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do a lot of free writing when I have writers block it is my get away 😹

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly as it is with me. It is surprising how much you can write when you just write anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah and with less stress

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually do this when I can't think of a certain topic to write 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe somehow I think you never don't have a topic to write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I already do that freewriting a lot. Typing/writing anything nthat comes up in your mind for some time and then you'll gonna read everything when you feel satisfied and you'll gonna be shocked on reading everything you put to your work.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly snail, just write and see what it happens. It is amazing what we can write when we just don't think but do write whatever we think of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Freewriting is my comfort zone, especially when I am not someone who writes about formal or technical stuff. 😄

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo freewriting is brilliant for read cash and do it from the heart, like you do , means your articles are a joy to read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so very welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually I really want that to do it noon pa. HAHA kapag lagi akong nawawalan ng topic eh kaso yon nga natamad na din utak ko magisip kung pano sisimulan. Try ko to minsan 😂

Oh wait. Are you Pinoy?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oo, subukan ito minsan, kung hindi ka masyadong tamad.

No I am not Pinoy 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the ideas you share

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My pleasure I hope you find it useful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it's very useful for me because sometimes I don't know what I will right and I don't know how to make a good article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I am the same, so this is what I do

$ 0.00
2 years ago