Beware the cobra effect

47 56
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Saturday 29th January 2022 23/29

Hello Hello you wonderful bunch of readers.

I have been busy as a bee the last couple of days, only surfacing to watch the football early this afternoon and what a blooming disappointment that was, as we conceded a goal deep into injury time so only managed a draw.

Not a happy chappy is me, however, the research I have been doing has been worthwhile.

Whilst doing research for both my book and an article about the future of cryptocurrencies in 2022 I did stumble across a little story that is actually a recognised effect, and most probably you know an example of it.

Image by Michael Kleinsasser from Pixabay

The Cobra Effect

In India during colonial rule and in particular Delhi, the head British honcho realised that the city was being overrun with cobras. They had a cobra infestation problem. His solution was very simple. Can you guess what his solution was?

Yes, his solution was to offer money to the public for every cobra skin that was handed into the authorities. There would be a bounty paid for every cobra skin.

What a simple solution you might think. Offering the bounty was initially very successful and the number of cobras started to drop in the city.

However, some members of the public saw a golden opportunity to cash in. They were annoyed that this easy money was drying up. Can you guess what their answer to this was?

They started to breed cobras, and they actually set up cobra farms. They were getting rich as they were breeding more and more cobras, killing them, handing the skins to the authorities and getting paid for it.

Finally the British, realised what was happening, so they stopped the bounty payments.

What was the effect of the British stopping the payments for cobra skins?

The Indians who were breeding the cobras, now had no reason to breed them, so they just released them. This now meant that there were even more cobras in Delhi than before the bounty program was implemented.

The term "The Cobra Effect" was coined by German economist Horst Siebert in his book of the same name in 2001. It is also known as perverse incentives.

Basically, the cobra effect is an unintended consequence when the proposed solution actually makes the problem worse.

Have you heard of the Cobra Effect? Can you think of any examples?

Here is one more example. It is also based on a pest infestation, but this time it was in Vietnam whilst it was being occupied by the French. It was not a cobra infestation but was a plague of rats in Hanoi. The French authorities offered a bounty for each rat tail that they were brought. Just like the cobra breeders, these guys thought they could make some quick and easy money and started to breed rats. It was quick and easy and they got their money for these rat tails. The French got wind of this, and stopped the bounty. The effect was that all these rats that were being bred were released into the city, and of course there were many more than before.

Last one from me and if you know any examples, do drop them in the comments and I might give you a wee surprise!

Airbus the maker of planes, thought they could improve the passengers flying experience by reducing noise in its cabins.

However when they removed the noise, they discovered that the cabin noise was covering up lots of unwanted noises such as toilets being flushed and babies crying. Instead of improving the passengers flying experience they had made it worse. 

The Best Way to Avoid the Cobra Effect

Before you put a reward scheme in place, try and figure out a way to beat the scheme, then go back and adjust the rewards scheme until you can't beat it!

That was a different wee story from me today, now to get reading your articles!

Thanks for reading and have a wonderful rest of your weekend!

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2022 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

19
$ 3.10
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 12
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

It is my first to know it about cobra effects. Here in us kuya, government will support the poorest children to assist his/her education which many misunderstood it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

well it is good they help the poorest children inday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is kuya but the problem is people start to give birth that cause over population.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So this is all the misery behind the cobra effect i've been hearing for ages without caring to know its meaning huh? Wow! This is great as i now know of it. Moreso, most humans really know how to abuse privleges so much so that other genuine ones will then be affected when it back fires

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is often the minority who abuse things for the majority as so often happens in life!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard of the cobra effect but in all sincerity, I never really knew nor understood what its meaning was but you helped me did, thanks a lot my boss I'm really learning very fast from you here

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are so very welcome, I am glad that you are enjoying yourself here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, and now I know why it's called the Cobra Effect. In the Philippines, when people have kids and are very poor, the government gives them allowances and exempts them from paying their taxes. In effect, more poor people are having more kids. Sigh. I enjoyed your educational article for today po sir Ed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat Glessa, oo we have that same problem here in the UK. It does make you think!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess it's time to make some changes in the government po sir Ed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You explained it well DF and I was able to really understand what cobra effect is. It is my first time hearing about it tho. Hmm, people are really smart just to earn easy money.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe my pleasure DF it is fun to know things like this, and it is everywhere once we start to look for it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cobra effects hehehe . It my first time hearing , I have never seen something similar to these but thanks to you for informing me . I will made more research on it🙏🙏😁😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My pleasure and I am sire you will see the effect around you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was only my first time to hear this statement😳 and I have learned some people will always take whatever opportunity to earn money.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yes and often the minority abuse everything and the majority suffers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

another lesson learned today! I haven't heard about the cobra effect kuya, I only learned it today when I read this article hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I have to teach you things inday Jini 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha love this story. Just goes to show that sometimes what you think is an easy solution will become a headache later on

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know right, sometimes it is better to do absolutely nothing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This goes to show that people become smarter when money is involved, lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

lol yes it does!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know what it is called..haha.. Sometimes we tend to give up the situation when we thought we can't make it..just making everything worse.. So better find other ways than focusing on one solution.. So you are making a book? Wow.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes my book lol I started publishing some chapters here last year 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

think there are some who don't think or look at all the angles before they decide. not all can be solved by bounty rewards.. most of the time...they produce another problem

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes sometimes doing something is much worse than actually doing nothing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cobra is one of the most poisonous snakes. I also like watching movie aboit King cobra

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Never seen that movie!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember I am fan watching cobra movie or something that snakes film. Honestly, when I saw a snake in reality for sure I reallt hate it and its getting into my nerve badly.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes they scare.me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humans are quite smart to abuse that opportunity and get rich by that easy money, sometimes not all solutions are the best solution and we just realized it too late.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes humans are smart and will find a way to abuse anything. You are right sometimes it is actually better to do nothing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really scared of cobra sir. I read and watching a lot of news about the people got bitten by Cobra. It's really poisonous. The news that makes me cried a lot when a kid was bitten by a cobra. His parents cried a lot because he couldn't take it anymore. I cried so much sir. Cobra is a big scary snake.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a big scary snake really I don;t want to see one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Impactful & boomerang effect. I heard about it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yep you got it bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about your game, draw is better than losing? hehe. That's some nasty cobra effect! So we do need to consider things from all angles before doing anything to avoid the bad cobra effect :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly CJ, look at something from all angles!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm scared with cobra eventhough I've seen a lots of snakes in our old house. Now I know the effect of cobra. Thanks Teng.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh need to be careful of snakes Jean!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Teng but I'm always careful with the snakes. But I let them out to my house and I never hurt them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't saw a cobra in my life yet and one thing I know their bite is poisnous and they are also looking scary.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't want to see one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Cobra breeders take large risk just to earn . I feel very soon there would much more mysteries in the world.😅😁😁😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes they did and there are so many mysteries lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time Uncle, Hearing about this cobra effect.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am sure you know an example

$ 0.00
2 years ago