18 Again

27 37
Avatar for TeacherLynlyn
1 year ago

If I have given a chance to be at any age again for a day, I would choose to be 18.

I'm 26 years of age right now, and it was eight years ago when I was 18. I choose this age not because to be young or what but because I want to experience having a debut. In the Philippines, the Debut is a traditional Filipino coming-of-age celebration that celebrates a young woman's 18th birthday, considering the age of maturity.

I know some of you also dreamed of experiencing this kind of celebration where you can wear a beautiful and shining gown, where I can dance with a glance my roses to give honor to the closest male in my life, especially with my father., Eighteen gifts, 18 candles, 18 wines, etc. 

I'm not into celebrations, because since when I was young, I never celebrated my birthdays. Not because I don't want to, but because we are suffering from poverty during that time. I belong to a big family, I am the 4th child of my parents, and all my older siblings have their own families already. My parents had no decent jobs then, my mother had a small carinderia, and the income was only suitable for a day, and my father was a farmer, and we were indebted during that time.

I was 16 when I entered College; K to 12 Curriculum was not yet proposed. I enrolled in a private school despite our struggles because of my Aunt, that is in America, and my Lolo, who is a retired soldier, but he's not with us because he is in his second family, who supported all the finances during my studies.

And one day, a nightmare happened, where everything seemed that my world fell apart when my Aunt died due to brain cancer. During this time, my parents were apprehensive that I would be able to finish college without my Aunt. And I'm turning 18 at that time.

But despite what happened, my parents pursued my studies. They face all the challenges, especially when it comes to my finances. I will not be able to transfer that time because not all my subjects would be credited to other schools, meaning I will be an irregular student or worse, I need to take all the courses again. It's halfway; I need to finish it by hook or crook.

So that's why I'm not able to celebrate my 18th birthday, even a simple celebration.

I know I have no right to think about the celebration at that time because the priority is to reserve all the money for my studies. And I'm glad that despite everything that happened at that time, I can finish my chosen profession with education, and now I'm a licensed professional teacher with a Master's Degree.

I'm not regretting not having that kind of celebration during those times because I fully understand why and why I have to set it aside. But if I am given a chance to be at any age, I want to be 18 again, to experience what I missed.

What about you guys? What would it be and why if you're given a chance to be at any age in one day?

__________________________________________________

9
$ 1.71
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Avatar for TeacherLynlyn
1 year ago

Comments

Woke up today and have been playing 'kids again by sam smith" really an interesting song, it talks about losing your childhood memories and trying to recall how it happened. Such am interesting song. I do fantasized being a kid again, so I will enjoy the attention of my parents and probably spend time with my dad 😭 but like they said, you can't eat your cake and have it back..maybe I need to focus on my future, as my past gets me sad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry to read about that my friend. You're right we cannot get back what already passed all we have to do is how we deal and focus on our future. You should not look back the pain from the past, you should look forward and be happy my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haven't experienced debut bonggacious celebration too sisy hahaah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehhehehe pwede natin siguro gawin yan sis sa mga magiging anak natin soon hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Obviously it is strange for my that in Filipino people do this but you know I think we all should adopt this one for our happiness more power to you and age is just a number go with the flow.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed, age is just a number we may not go back to in the past but still, we can be happy and do things now. Thank you for that, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It has never been a tradition to celebrate debut here in our country. It's only now that we have adopted that kind of practice especially here in our region. Growing up, I have only been to one now it feels like it is a must but only for those who can afford.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right, this kind of celebration is very relevant for those who can only afford to have it.
Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too walang 18rh birthday celebration kasi I am a working student that time and they don't even know na birthday ko pala. I cant forget na odong at tinapa ang ulam namin nung 18th birthday ko hehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehehehe, minsan nakakalimutan ko na din na birthday ko po. Hehe masarap naman ang tinapa at odong ate, naging special sila nun kasi birthday mo hehe. Di bale po bawi nalnag tayo sa mga susunod pang birthday! Thank you for dropping by po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Simple lng yong celeb ng 18th bday ko Lynn. Di ko bet yang mga 18 roses, and mag program-program. Di ko kase bet na nasa akin ang attention 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

heheheheheheh I like your simplicity ate, it makes you more beautiful po. God bless ate! Sana matapos na yung inaabangan namin from you and kuya Gifter hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Malapit na Lynn. Mag fi-film pa kase kami ng live performance namin and lyric video. Iu-upload namin sila at once.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kunting kembot pa ate! hehehehe. Waitings lang kami po. God bless ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice photo of yours in the school I believe in the beginning of the article. First time I am hearing about the 18th year celebration. You should be proud that inbetween the tough times you were able to complete your degree. Kudos to uou friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for that my dear friend. Yes, I'm always proud and grateful for completing my degree despite all the things that I've been through. Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naisip ko din ung series na 18 Again ang topic mo hahaha.

Anyways, why not try to have that debut. With thr fam lang diba. Pwd naman yun abah. Kaya naman na siguro?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hehehhehe, ako din po ate yan na inisip ko kaagad na baka ang isipin yung series na 18 Again hehehhe.

Yes po ate! Maybe I will have that soon kapag di na po busy, ngayon namna po kasi work ang medyo pumupigil to have some celebrations po. Thank you ate Ruffa for reading po. God bless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought you're going to talk about the kdrama "18 Again". Haha. Not having bday celebrations is fine. What's important I think is you're genuinely happy on your bdays.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hehehe, I also think that my readers will think about that, Yes, I'm still grateful for having my birthdays because life for a year is a great blessing already from God. Thank you so much for reading. Have a nice day ahead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, it's great to see that you are now a professional teacher and even got a masters degree despite all the struggles you faced, your story is inspirational!

If I am given a chance to be at any age, I will choose 16. That was the period someone invited me and my friends to an event but I didn't go. I ended up regretting it when my friends came back from the event and narrated their experience

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much Kushyzee! It's been a long and tough journey for me, but thanks to my parents who pursued all of these despite all the struggles.

Maybe you can invite them now and have some event with your friends now. Thank you for reading my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've heard about this 18th year debut celebration for ladies in Filipinos but I'm only wondering if it's still inexistence because the world has changed (most of the olden days are no longer celebrated)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some are still celebrating this kind of celebration, but it was lessened when our country was affected by the global pandemic which is the COVID 19. Thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also didn't celebrate my debut. Wala din kami pera at hindi din talaga mahilig mag celebrate ng birthdays family ko kaya parang wala lang yung mga debut debut. Pero gusto ko din sanang maranasan yun, pero since hindi na maibabalik ang panahon, sa anak ko nalang tutuparin yung debut party.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Opo, just like me ate na talagang hirap that time, so maybe I can also do it pa naman sa magiging anak ko, very soon. Salamat po!

$ 0.00
1 year ago