My Happiness

15 38
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

This is a question I'll normally evade. It's one of those questions that I'm kind of afraid to even think about it myself, but it's also a question you have to answer at some point, whether you like it or not, and that's what I'm gonna do here presently. I'm an emotionally resistant person; that is to say, my ability to respond to the emotion of the environment/circumstances is almost non-existent. I do understand emotional states, but I don't just react as most humans would do. So, as a result of this, my 'happiness' hardly radiates off of me, and as such, most people tend to misunderstand my person and classify me as an unhappy person, meanwhile, I'm mostly always happy. So, what makes me happy?

Making Ends Meet

I know how it sounds, but one of the things that can steal my happiness is the inability to make ends meet. I've come to notice that whenever I'm having money troubles and the like, I'm far less receptive to positive emotions, cos I'm the type of person that only see my problems and nothing else until I fix them.

Family

Growing up, I was always isolated from every other person in my life. This is because I am an introvert. I didn't allow myself to appreciate what it meant to have a family and to spend time with them. This doesn't mean I was away, I was always with them physically, but not emotionally. Later in life, I started enjoying those family time, family dinners, movie nights etc. I've been mostly away from them these past few years, and every time I get to be with time, I savour it. 

Another thing about my family that gives me joy, is when they have no issues or problems, as well as when I'm able to help put with anything they need help with.

Spreading Happiness

There are several things that I'll always be grateful to my parents for, and one of those is that they thought me how to put people before myself in a healthy way. I grew up knowing that I'm supposed to help people whenever they need my help and it's within my power to give it. I was also raised in the church. So, I know why I should give and offer help where possible. 

Understanding this, I've always felt happy and fulfilled whenever I'm able to do something that will alleviate or better a person's life, no matter how small. I love it so much that I can go as far as causing myself a great deal of pain or discomfort just to put a smile on a person's face.

Friends

On this subject matter, I'm very picky. The quality of our lives is mostly determined by the kind of people we surround ourselves with. You can't pick your family, but you can pick your friends, and so I do. I look at my friends as an extension of my family and as such their happiness is also mine. Because of the calibre of people I choose as friends, just spending time with them alone can make me extremely happy. 

Conclusion 

While for most people, happiness is a feeling that is best experienced in the present, for me, it's the best experienced after the causative events. If we are having fun, for example, everyone would be happy, myself included. While the happiness will likely dissipate for others, with time, after the event, my happiness will only be fully felt and expressed after the causative event. 

Anyways, these are just a few sources of happiness for me, and I love them. Everyone deserves to be happy, don't let anyone tell you otherwise, so make sure you find and own your happiness and its sources.


10
$ 1.41
$ 1.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @Ellawrites
+ 6
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It is important to pick the right people as friends. I have friends not too many, but good ones and I am happy with them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

When it comes to friends, I choose quality over quantity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah that's what I did too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's smart, real smart..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The happiness that we could feel when we are in our family is different from the people outside. Yes we are all deserved to be happy to lessen our pain and stress in life. As long as we are healthy, don't let the happiness be not recognized when it knocks us as our opportunity to be happy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Happiness is very important, happiness is not sold in the market, and most wealthy people have much money, but they cannot buy happiness with it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Happiness is something you observe rather than buy. You're quite right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happiness can be created anywhere, it just depends on the mood of the people, there's always a reason to be happy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

There's always happiness in everything, even in little things

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting 🤠... Happiness is what most people desire but can't find. May we all find happiness.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! These are lovely sources of happiness, money also makes me happy, lol, the feeling of having more than enough and just like you; family and having to put a smile on the face of others really makes me so happy.

We should always do what we can to help those we can. There's the joy that fills our hearts whenever we help those in need.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah. Sometimes, the feeling makes it more than worthwhile to go out of your way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice one dear....happiness is part of what makes life worth it. I pray your happiness flourishes and lasts longer because very few people are truly happy in this life and others tend to just fake it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm happy and Amen to the prayers

$ 0.00
1 year ago