Happiness/Success

23 28
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

I saw this while reading @Olasquare 's article. I intended to write a well-researched article today, but my day turned out to be full and hectic. I'm so tired and sleepy right now, I'm going to have to go with something not too mentally tasking, hence this. Here goes nothing

Museum Or Amusement Park

I'm the kind of person that makes the majority of his decision on their utilitarian value. An amusement park is to place to have fun, relax and have a good laugh etc. As a result of this as well as the business model most amusement park operates, the place is usually packed full of people.

For someone like me who's almost claustrophobic, that is a problem. It's not like a museum is that much better as it's a confined space, but it's not as bad as an amusement park as there are usually more bodies in a museum than in a park. Going to a museum also allows me to learn about history. Overall, the utilitarian benefits of visiting a museum outweigh that of a park, so museum for me.

Intelligent Or Funny

I'm naturally not a very funny guy, but I can claim to be intelligent. People who know me would say I take everything too seriously, so I hardly laugh. A good joke made for me would have been to waste; at least that's what most people believe, and if I'm being honest, they are mostly correct. But the truth is that I do know how to laugh, I just don't do it often, and in that same vein, I can be very funny, especially when I'm not trying to be.

Having actually kind of lived this choice over the years, I think I'll effortlessly go for intelligence instead. Laughing might be good for healthy living and having fun, but when the chips are down and it's time to get serious with life, it's intelligence that will count, always. I'm going for intelligence.

Freedom Or Hope

This one is quite easy. It's said that when there's hope, there's life, but have you been forced to do something or be in a position/place you don't want to be? If you have, you would know it's a nightmare experience. For someone like me that doesn't talk much and doesn't like being made to do things outside of my volition, freedom will sure come before anything including hope. Freedom first.

Handmade Gifts Or Expensive Gifts

I'm good at appropriate emotional responses. If someone were to get you a gift, you'll get to be surprised and make them feel appreciated. Try that with me, you'll feel like you got me the worst present, so generally, it doesn't matter. But I'm also the kind of person that is reasonably careful how I spend every kobo I get, hence if you get me something quite expensive, instead of looking for the words to thank you, my mind would start calculating all the money you'd have saved if you had gone for a less expensive option and all the good that money could have done, especially if the first you got is not a basic need, not luxury goods. So, if I must pick, it would be handmade.

Happy Or Successful

I think it's technically impossible to separate this too, cos I don't think there's anyone on the earth who does not have happiness as one of their plans or goals. Hence, if you're successful, it already means you have achieved happiness as well. Again, it all depends on what happiness and success mean to the person. For me though, one of the things that can cause me to be happy is to be successful and the only way I can be successful is if I attain my goal of happiness. So, either way, you look at it, for me, they are intertwined. It doesn't matter what I pick, it contains the other.

Thanks for reading..

11
$ 1.73
$ 1.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Shohana
$ 0.05 from @Ellawrites
+ 5
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I think all people who are successful are very happy. But not all happy people are successful.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is when we try not to be funny that people find it funny.

To some people, their success does not give them happiness. Probably because it is not the kind of success they want.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's why you need to understand what success is to you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aaah, lol. I can't imagine this ooh, it means you are the economist kind of person, who doesn't value expensive gifts. It could be disheartening too though, but I guess that's just you for you.

Omo! Mr Talon, you're too serious ooh, try and laugh abeg. Laughing is great, you should prolly start practicing it. I can't imagine how people feel when they crack a joke and instead of laughing, you stiff your face and give them a serious look.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't necessarily stuff my face but you get it 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very interesting write up. I know you look hard on the outside but you are most definitely soft on the inside. One thing I really like about you is you don't lie or pretend about your self. PS: The right phrase is 'when there is life there is hope'

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks for the correction jare. Local man was tired and sleepy. Hard guy like me, soft?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😁 you are welcome

Omo, you soft die. Only trying to form hard on the outside

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do what you love and love what you do and that what makes you happy and successful.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Can't argue with that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes happy people are not successful in their career they are just being contented, and so successful people on the other hand sometimes are not happy. So maybe with this choices, I would go for happiness ☺️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's why I said it all depends on how one defines those terms for him/herself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know you would definitely not pick the park...yeye person. As of part na poison. For someone who doesn't laugh often, you have a good laugh and it's so nice to see you laugh. You should try it often.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah. I'm getting better at it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Success in what I do is preferable, I can create my happiness myself when I get to the level of success i need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is awesome, i think I have also contributes to this topic from olasquare's article, and what I prefer was really happiness if I am not making mistakes, but you have also bring in another sense here, or would I say that you have like expand it by explaining that happiness and success works hand in hand with each other, that is really a good idea..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks... They go together, like a gun and its bullet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah you're right, that's exactly how they works..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you jumped in on this. I know you strike me as someone that would love the museum.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Really? How so?? Didn't know you were a nightwalker like me😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. I mentioned that in one of the prompts too. I work better at night.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago