How do I deal with Spammers on noise.cash and a guide on how to comment on a post

44 102
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Spammers. They're everywhere. You can easily identify them. If you check their account, (based on my observation) you'll see,

  • Pictures blatantly lifted from Google or other users, sometimes with the watermark, along with an out-of-context caption.

  • Posts asking (the obvious), why aren't they receiving tips (I was guilty of it too).

  • Plagiarized content, straight from the might ol' Wikipedia.

  • One or two-word comments, which might include, 'nice deer', 'I like it', or 'good picture'.

  • Posts that are stolen from other users. Oh, how I despise these kinds. I don't think twice before reporting them.

They could easily be new users who were not guided well about the rules of the platform or someone whose first language is not English.

But what separates new users from Spammers, (apart from lack of interest in content creation) and this is fun-

  1. Their comments won't match your content.

For example, when I made a post about my funds not showing correctly in my wallet, someone commented this-

  1. They will blatantly promote their post on your post, can you believe it?!

For Example, yesterday someone *had the audacity to* comment this-

Sometimes, they really are new users, and it's best to guide them. They are only humans trying to learn. When I was new (a month and a half old now), I used to ask a lot of questions and bug a lot of people. Some people had given up on me lol. Please don't be discouraged to help new users, we're slow with technology and will catch up soon!

I'm grateful to @abraxas and @Demonlord who helped me understand the platform and the rules.

So when I come across new accounts or a comment like this, this is how I respond-

I believe this part is important, whether a spammer or a regular account, on what not to comment-

  1. Dear/Deer, sweetie, cutie, baby, or even babes- is not an appropriate comment. I'm sorry if no one told you this. Your parents have raised you better than this.

    1. I agree I was a bit mean on this one here, but it was the same person bothering me again. I'm not sure if I should've hidden the display name of a regular offender.

      Btw, I'm in my early twenties, in case anyone was wondering :)

  1. Sometimes, I like to be a little witty, because why not! They have a keyboard and a sharp tongue, and so do I!

    Reasons why we do not need a direct message feature on noise.cash, or basically anywhere.

In case you're wondering how my day went that day, I have written about it here- https://noise.cash/post/l479q3rk

  1. Sometimes, it's best not to engage, for your mental peace and theirs.

    Blocking them would be an option too. But, there will be so many accounts like these.

    When I was only a week old here, I received so many like messages. I kept blocking them, but more comments from different accounts appeared. I was really scared too. I had blocked some 15- 18 members of their army. I made a post about it here, and only then they left me.

If you are new here, this part should help you on what to comment, or to escape being marked as spam and sent to noise jail- *ow, we all hate the jail, don't we*

What is appreciated-

  • Your personal thoughts/views/opinions

  • Your experience in a similar situation. It would be fun to learn and share about it.

  • Start a conversation. Interaction (and good posts) are the lifeline of the platform.

  • Or, my personal favorite- some casual roasting

If you really don't know what to comment, how about, *conversation starter*

  • This post is informative/educational, could you share some more details?

  • I learned something new today, thanks for the post.

  • The view looks breathtaking, I'd love to travel to this place, may I know where was this picture taken?

  • The food looks great, could you share the recipe?

(Tip- Grammarly *not sponsored lol* can really help form better sentences, especially if English is not your first language, in fact, I use it too! Don't be hesitant to use google translate either!)

Comments in languages other than English are also welcomed, especially on my posts. I'm quick to use Google Translate and will respond back in your language :)!

Do you come across odd comments like these? How do you deal with them?

I hope this was helpful. It was a bit arduous compiling all the comments and my replies to them, but I really enjoyed making this one :)!.

This is my tenth article, I really didn't think I'd last so long or come this far hehe. Let's thank my sponsors for believing in me, you guys are the best :)!

Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty

21
$ 7.90
$ 7.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 6
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you Stea for sharing this experience of yours. I am new here and I don't have any enough knowledge about this one , my friend just recommend this to me because I am lonely and was just a little frustrated so I tried here maybe next time around I can share here my experiences and feelings. By this article of yours it helps me to become aware what i should do not to be called spammer. I am very much willing to learn and glad to read and write more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi! I would love to read more from you! Please keep writing. I'm glad this was helpful. Please tell me your id on noise, I'm interested to subscribe you there :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh.i dont have id at noise yet..maybe next time around.😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how you respond to those spammers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can be brutal when you want to and absolutely diplomatic when you want to, while dealing with spammers! I was laughing through your entire article. I do occasionally leave a sarcastic response to a spammer. Maybe one day, I too will have a collection of the funny and weird things scammers have posted as responses. Thankfully, I haven't got those indecent or personal requests from spammers. I guess those goons exist as much in the online world as the real world!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe I'll be waiting to read your article :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you blocked 18 people in one week thats scary you are really brave to not have left, I am also new here can you give me some tips so I dont get tagged as Spam

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I blocked them all in one day hehehe. It's very important to post original content, whether pictures or writing materials. Be active and make interactions with people :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much!!❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking of these, I just recently received this type of noise user who just commended the same phrase on 2 of my posts. I think I might need to use the block function. Hehehe!

Thanks for this post!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The fact that they can't be creative even at spamming is annoying lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! Hahahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Outside of noise I am somewhat more brutally honest than inside of noise. So, often times I just refrain from saying what it really on my mind in certain situations. For example, politics. I will tell you that I am a life-long strong conservative Republican—anywhere else, including on other platforms I will state my opinion and debunk falsehoods and dig into the heart of the issue. But not on noise.

But the latter isn't really in regard to spam so much as just my 'demeanor' on noise—currently.

I saw that today there were several "new users" using some hashtag, and I can tell all of them are spammers. I very badly wanted to respond in some fashion, but I figure why bother? The algorithm will catch up with them soon enough and they will likely be gone anyway, and I'd rather spend my time engaging real posts and real users.

But sometimes...oooh...biting my tongue is REALLY, really hard to do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am very (x3) kind in real life. Like, I'm literally the sweetest person outside noise. But, not many people are annoying, or pester me in real life either. Oh, and when they do, I'm kind to them also!

Politics. I'm afraid to talk about it. Politics, human rights, climate change, lgbtq+ community, religion, or any other sensitive topic.

I refrain from talking on these topics because what might seem right to me, might seem wrong to you and vice versa. There are people who are adamant that their pov is right, and there's no other perception, therefore, I find it futile engaging with them.

Then there are times when, there's no 'different pov', sometimes, it's just wrong. And if the person (during a discussion) fails to understand that, I simply avoid talking to them.

I talk to very few people regarding these topics; I know who are open-minded to accept other's views.

With regards to engaging non sense comments on noise, it looks like a place for me to release my frustration lol.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love how you respond to them. I also encounter some newbies and tried to inform them of do's/dont's. I blocked others who are persistent yet didnt change even if I already taught them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Helping new users is really good! But I heard interacting with spammers might affect your account. I'm trying to keep a safe distance now lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I responded to some of these comments on my posts before, but most times I'm too scared to even heart the comment, because I read somewhere that interacting with the spammer can get you marked as a spammer too. :/ And I'm afraid of that :D So I'm glad that I don't get those comments often.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I have heard that too! Interacting with spammers might affect my account. I'm keeping a safe distance now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spammers are really existing here? I think read.cash can identify if we own that specific article and pictures,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello :)! I was talking about spammers on noise.cash. Yes, Spammer exist there, a lot of them:(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh ok, but I'm pretty sure read.cash did not allowed that if they caught sorry to them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once became a victim of spammers. I mean He used my exactly my content. I became alerted cause one of my subscribers bumped into it and call my attention. If I may recall it correctly the spammer just mispelled one of the word from my original content. maybe so that system will allow it..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh my gosh, this is ridiculous. This is the one kind I really really hate!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. I immediately reported then blocked that user.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In these cases, it's best to report.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah there are a lot of spammers on noise. I would often get long comments that really doesn't concern my posts and I just try to ignore them as much as I could.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I used to block them before, but, if I'm receiving heart tips from them, why block them lol, it's best to ignore :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. Hahaha so I just let them and ignore hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once he commented on a tragedy that had happened in my country, I expressed myself about something that disappointed me about the corrupt government and someone commented to me: beautiful detail. I didn't know whether to laugh or block it xd

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol hahahaha, apologies, but I can only relate when you read that comment lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello.. Spammers are everywhere specially at noise.cash.ive been 6 months there and im not replying to those rude/pathetic users there. Thank you also for the unexpected sponsor from you. God bless and keep always

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello :)! I sometimes like to be witty with my replies hehehe You're most welcome :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made my day for those replies of you lol but honestly your advice here is really good

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehehe, thanks :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha ha ha ha! Your replying of these spammer are great. Especially "I'm waiting for an update where I can block" and it’s already had. Ha ha ha ha. I read you full article because I'm also new on noise and try to understand the process. Thanks dear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi! :) hahaha, thank you :) Please don't hesitate to ask me anything related to noise, I'll do my best to help you, if not, I'll direct you to someone who can :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how you deal with spammers. They are rampant now after the affiliate program began. Like you i also guide them and told them that they are doing it wrong..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes! I have to agree. Spammers are on the rise due to the affiliate program :(.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope they are well guided..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great of you guiding Spammers, I do it sometimes if they come to my post try to guide them but some are stubborn so I end up sometimes reporting or ignoring them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe, I used to block them before, but now, if I'm receiving heart tips from them, I do not block them lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome, you have such a quick wit, I love it. I am I think lucky in that I don't really get spammers on my posts, nor am I a beautiful young lady, so don't get the chat up lines.

I do reply similar to you if I receive an appropriate comment and try to guide a newcomer, but I have just gone through posts I see on my feed and unsubscribed from many users due to them posting what you have highlighted.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

To receive, 'You're witty' as a compliment is a big thing, I've heard, hehehe, thank you :)! I have only subscribed to a few people, they know who they are :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago