Bizarre dying law

35 62
Avatar for Snezana28
3 years ago

Apart from the title of the northernmost inhabited city in the world, the Norwegian city of Longyearbyen, which is located on Svalbard, is special in that no one has died in it for 69 years because dying is prohibited by law - just like giving birth.

THERE THE POLAR NIGHT LASTS 111 DAYS!

Even if you have spent your whole life in it, if you happen to get sick and the disease reaches the terminal stage, you will have to leave the island and face death elsewhere.

If you do happen to die suddenly, your body will be shipped immediately and you will not be buried on the island.

A similar law applies to childbirth: when a pregnant woman approaches her due date, she must leave the island to give birth.

As for the really bizarre law on dying, there is a very important reason behind it: the protection of other residents. Back in 1950, it was discovered that the bodies buried in the city cemetery do not disintegrate because the soil is constantly frozen, so the viruses in the corpses can survive and there is a risk of future infections.

Something similar happened in the north of Siberia, where there was an anthrax epidemic in 2016. On that occasion, the cause of the infection was considered to be the bodies of wild animals that were in the frozen soil, which melted during the sudden rise in temperature. Then one person died and another 90 ended up in the hospital.

Also, it was discovered that the Spanish flu virus is still in the bodies of people who died at the beginning of the century, and the last person infected with that disease in this Norwegian guard died in 1917.

The settlement had 2,144 inhabitants on the 2015 census, and the island has an Arctic climate with summer temperatures of three to seven degrees, and winter temperatures drop to -13 degrees Celsius.

The polar night lasts 111 days (from the end of October to March there is complete darkness).

17
$ 1.46
$ 1.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Swca.ch
$ 0.01 from @deki
Sponsors of Snezana28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Snezana28
3 years ago

Comments

I don't know if I could endure living 111 days in the dark, and if I could fit in with this crazy law: D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know if I could endure living 111 days in the dark, and if I could fit in with this crazy law: D They would probably write lyrics at night.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To some extent, I understand why it is forbidden to die, but why is it forbidden for mothers to give birth to children? A very intriguing island!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To some extent, I understand why it is forbidden to die, but why is it forbidden for mothers to give birth to children? A very intriguing island!

That's what I was wondering, but I couldn't find the answer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is inexplicable, I do not understand why such a law applies to mothers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is inexplicable, I do not understand why such a law applies to mothers.

I have to find an answer somewhere!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read about him, mysterious and a little scary

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read about him, mysterious and a little scary

Exactly 110 days in the dark and a bizarre law.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As for the ban on dying, I can understand that for health reasons, but living 111 days in complete darkness, I could not stand it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As for the ban on dying, I can understand that for health reasons, but living 111 days in complete darkness, I could not stand it.

Yes, it's terrible for us, but they live like that all their lives.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have some impression that this kovid virus is also a more vampiric old virus that was activated thanks to climate disturbances. So this story makes sense to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have some impression that this kovid virus is also a more vampiric old virus that was activated thanks to climate disturbances. So this story makes sense to me.

Possibly, who knows what happened to us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

An amazing story about this city in Norway. But how is it possible to ban death by law?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

An amazing story about this city in Norway. But how is it possible to ban death by law?

They seem to have made such a law.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love winter, but I wouldn’t live there too much😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love winter, but I wouldn’t live there too much😅

Although my name is Snow White, I don't like winter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and good post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thqank you very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would definitely never live there for three days, I love the day, the sun ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would definitely never live there for three days, I love the day, the sun ...

The guy gets used to everything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would not like to live in this Norwegian city of Longyearbyen. It seems to me that what they do to people is inhumane.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would not like to live in this Norwegian city of Longyearbyen. It seems to me that what they do to people is inhumane. Yes, a terrible law. People are suffering.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No wonder Black Metal music was invented there :D :D :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No wonder Black Metal music was invented there :D :D :D

Haha great comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You could never live on that island, you live somewhere for a whole century and then they take you to another place when you die, meaningless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You could never live on that island, you live somewhere for a whole century and then they take you to another place when you die, meaningless. Yes so many abnormal and crazy things in this world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In Nepal, in high Himalayas we have such climates. And many climbers who gets lost or dies in the bulk snows are found after 40-50 years. But we don't have such rules and also such nights 😁😁😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In Nepal, in high Himalayas we have such climates. And many climbers who gets lost or dies in the bulk snows are found after 40-50 years. But we don't have such rules and also such nights 😁😁😁😁

Fortunately, we live in a temperate zone with a temperate continental climate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In Norway the nights last longer than the days

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In Norway the nights last longer than the days

Exactly like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I know it's very cold there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Damn, its is one of the weirdest law, I have ever seen. This is the first time I have known this strange law. Anyways thanks for letting us know something new.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Damn, its is one of the weirdest law, I have ever seen. This is the first time I have known this strange law. Anyways thanks for letting us know something new.

Thanks man learns a lot by reading articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

111 days? That is so long

$ 0.00
3 years ago

111 days? That is so long

Polar night is a natural phenomenon that occurs north of the Arctic Circle and south of the Antarctic Circle, during which the sun does not rise above the horizon, when the night lasts 24 hours a day. The time during which the sun does not rise depends on the geographical position of the place, and varies from 20 hours on the circles themselves to 186 days on the poles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago