My 4 signs of adulting...

54 70
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Date: August 7,2021
Author: Sequoia

No more introductions, adulting sucks. I am not kidding. If I could just turn back time, I will definitely slap the younger tree in order for her to gain back her senses and stop her from praying to grow faster. I believe that I am not alone in this. When I was a kid, I always want to grow because I thought that my life would be easier.

No more curfews, no more asking of permission to parents, and especially no more afternoon naps. Yeah, that is one of the things I hate the most when I was still a sapling. I was so busy focusing to the advantages of being an adult that I almost forgot its consequences and responsibilities as well.

In my own opinion, age will not give us the sense of responsibility. However, it will obviously put us in the bracket of adulthood. Our age will determine what stage in life we are in, but it doesn’t guarantee our maturity. Why do I say so? Because base on my experience, I have encountered a lot of people who grow old, but never grow up. Which means that, their age increases and physical aspect changes but the way they view life, take responsibility and act is just the same when they are still a kid.

Anyhow, that is not my topic for today. Therefore, let’s drop that thing and proceed to my real subject.

________________________

My 4 signs of adulting

Can’t work properly without Coffee

“Coffee is life.” Well I guess, this is undebatable. When I was young, there’s never a day where I can’t see the adults around me without holding a coffee mug wherever they go. My mom is my greatest example of that. She can’t function well without coffee in her side. Of course, I can’t understand them. But the moment that I reached my early adulthood stage, I am becoming like them. My addiction in coffee started when I was still a 17 years of age and it got worst as the year passes by. From a one cup of coffee to two, three and so on. It will depend on the task that I need to finish that day. However, most of the time, it is because my day would be incomplete without it.

Lack of Sleep

I just wanna call the attention of all the children out there to please sleep as long and as many as you can, because when you grow up, a long and good sleep will only visit you once in a blue moon. When you grow up, sleeping 4 hours straight every night feels like the Lord is giving you the biggest favour in the whole world.

Every penny counts

One of the things why I wanted to grow up really quick back then was because I wanted to have a job and buy everything I want. But it was expectations vs. reality, that happened. When I finally earned on my own, spending it became very hard. I can’t just spend to some useless and random things the money that came from my sweat and tears. Even a centavo became very important to me.

No to personal wants, yes to household items

This just happened today. I went to the mall today because I was planning to buy some gifts to myself because it’s been a while since I last bought something for myself. I found a very cute skirt and an off shoulder crop top with an overall price of 500 pesos or $10 . When we were almost in cashier, I am having a second thought about it because I remembered that I need to buy something for our kitchen. At the end, I returned the skirt and crop top and choose to bought the things we need for our kitchen. And to be honest? I never regret my decision. Seeing my mom’s smile is worth the sacrifice.

________________________

Closing Thought

When you reached the adulthood stage, a lot of things will really change. Being in that bracket is very stressing and satisfying at the same time. Stressing because a lot of responsibilities are waiting for your attention and you really have to work hard. Satisfying in a sense that you are already making a living and finally able to give back to your parents. Well, I am not saying that it is our responsibility to give back to our parents, because it is really not. But in my case, the reason why I am striving hard in my life is because of my family, especially my mom. I wanted to give her everything. Because she definitely deserves everything.

20
$ 9.72
$ 8.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
+ 16
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

lols. yeah. No one told me adulting will be 10% budgeting 90% looking for what to budget ... haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True ate pichi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I wouldn't be able to work if I drink coffee. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ka po pala into coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not that. I like coffee as much as the next guy, but coffee causes me to feel weird things. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinaunhan palang agree na dayooooon ko bebe Se! Adulting sucks. Hahahaha Pero ahak, relate man ko tanan ay. Labi na sa coffee is life. Jusko. Ug samot nas lack of sleep. 🤦🤦

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahhaa adulting suck jud kaau ate ay. Kung pwede palang i balik pagka bata lagi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaaaa trueee gyud ay. Kapoy man diay! Hibaw an pa. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sucks big time hahah! When I was a kid, I dream of becoming an adult. Now, it seems I am thriving everyday hahah! Life!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can’t work properly without Coffee

No need to say more.

Lack of Sleep

This is true. They say as you age you need less and less sleep. Four hours of quality sleep is enough for me.

Every penny counts

I would pick up 25 cents I see scattered anywhere. Mayaman ang Pinoy. Nagtatapon lang pera.

No to personal wants, yes to household items

Truth. If not that, food. I prefer to have food available rather than an empty refrigerator.

Bless you for thinking about the welfare of your mom. Surely you will be blessed with more so that you can continually do that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha adulting sucks, pero nakaka taba ng puso kasi nakakabawi na ako sa mama ko. Thank you poooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu..I can relate sa no coffee...diko talaga maiwasan..kahit na pinagbabawal sakin haha ..tas ung every penny counts . para bang nasasayangan ako gastosin..o talagang kuripot lang ako hahah . I like this signs of adulting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Grabe yung epekto ng kape sa mga katulad natin eh no? Hays kung alam ko lang talaga ganito pala hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's funny how we want to grow up fast not considering these things, not listening to our elders' advice... only to be disappointed when we are already an adult... anyway, this is inevitable, becoming an adult and we just have to deal with it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Growing old is inevitable. That's why, we really need to pay attention to what the elders says to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit halos ng nababasa ko na article pinipigilan akong tumanda haha parang mas lalo ako natatakot tymanda noong bata ako gusto ko maging matanda haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahhaa ako nga din eh tas ayun nag sisi ako AHHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this. Then, I was always praying to grow up fast so I can get to go to the office and start Earning. Little did I know with adulthood comes a bigger Responsibility and you wouldn't want to care for yourself alone, you must also help and support your family. It's not easy at all because you won't even have time for yourself especially getting to sleep enough when you know there are tasks you must perform on Time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True! When you reach the adulthood stage, you don't just focus on yourself but as well as to your family too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your "adulting" phase :) Welcome to the club! Lol!

That's amazing, you are still young and are doing those already. I started adulting quite late :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hihi maaga po kasi napasabak sa realidad 😅😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good, mas maaga natuto :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relaaatteeee ako lahat lol especially the last part which is no to personal wants, yes to household items. This is sooo meee hahha

Hays, every adults wish is to turn back time 🤧 if only.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kung pwede lang talaga ibalik sa dati lahat mars dba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh, lahat ata tayo wish ng bumalik sa pagiging bata kung saan walang problema. Yong pagod kalang sa kalalaro, Hindi sa trabaho. Yong may bonus na tulog sa tanghali, ung hindi laging bitin ang tulog. Hayssss, ang hirap maging adult. Ang hirap makisabay sa agos ng buhay. Pero ako diko pa to masyado nararanasan gawa ng may naaanuhan pa ko. Pano pag I'm on my own na diba aguyy. Haysss, pero seriously masarap ang kape pero di ako naaadik. Sakto lang, mas bet ko ang milk with coffee.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga ate eh. Dapat pala talaga nakinig ako ng mabuti sa mga nakakatanda noon hahaha. Hahaha excited masyado lumaki, ngayong malaki na gusto na ulit maging bata hahahh. Masarap din yan ate hah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo. Need ko din talaga ng kape pero nung mga High School ako kape na talaga iniinom ko pampagising pag gagawa ng assignments, projects ganyan sa gabi. Tsaka tam ka din sa part na imbes na sarili mo gastosan mo napupunta din sa mga kagamitan or kakailanganin sa bahay. pero pinapaalalahanan naman ako ni Mama na magtira din para sa sarili ko. Treat yourself din minsan kasi pinaghirapan mo yan.

Kahapon nga din eh, napadrama ako sa ate ko. Sabi ko "Bakit ang hirap kapag tumatanda na?" 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahha oo nga mars eh. Mahirap talaga pag matanda na. Ang dami ng responsibilidad sa buhay eh. Laban lang talaga tayooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The lack of sleep is real haha. Yeah adulting sucks, that's what mom told me don't dream to grow up faster but what can I do, the way she raised me I'll grow up mature early ahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hhaahha oo nga eh. Nako na prepare ka na pala ng mama mo noon pa haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu I regret wishing to be adult faster when I was a kid. Ngayon alam ko na ang pakiramdam, sana bata nalang talaga tayo ulit 🥲

$ 0.02
User's avatar Ze
2 years ago

Oo nga mars. Sana bata nalang tayo ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you -it sucks. I wrote an article titled "Nobody told me..." it's all about how adulthood looks so unfair. By the way it's debatable, i hate Coffee and i know someone that does too😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha it's okay. We have different perspectives and taste.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True every penny counts lalo at monthly ang bills walang patawad 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayy nako sinabi mo pa po ahhah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same madam.. Except sa coffee. Yung iniisip tlfmga household bago sariling gusto.. Tapus budget2 narn. And most especially..lack of sleep.
Single pa nga lng yan. Hoe much more kpg may asawa na 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayyy nako ate. Baka hindi na makatulog hahahaha. Dahil sa dami ng iniisip 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many youngsters wanted more independence, and rushing to get to adulthood, yet they will realized it isn't easy when you become one. Still, it will make you matured.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True.that's why we have to cherished every stages in our lives 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama lahaaattt to! Yung meron kanang mindset na "afford ko naman kaso di ko naman kailangan" adultinggg is waving talaga hays

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahahha yan talaga eh. May kaya nman kaso baka kailngan in the futymure yobg pera hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pang future muna haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulting sucks sometimes, yes I agree. I am on my way there and I feel the lack of motivation for it. Haha but still, we can't go back to being young so let's embrace this and get tired. After all, all we do is for our family and our future

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di talaga mapipigilan eh. Pero, we can still balnace the things. Basta go with the flow lang sa life hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm tama rin naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes to coffee. Coffee makes the day :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang kape talaga nag sa save sa akin po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun oh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I started earning money for my first job I was the happiest, but it became to a big responsibility and the rest is history. Sleep. I am deprived of it. Sometimes I Dont want money, but sleep and ice cream. Thats what makes me happy now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here hahaha sleep and ice cream is sometimes enough 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our priorities do change as we grow jod sis no. Labihan nas financial bisan. Piso ra na dako nana nato. Ug labi nas atong mga wants, mag duha2 pa jod ta kay lagi naay dapat unahon sa bay. Tinuod kapoy jod. Haha! Kapoy jod bsta gianak tang erbop. Laban lang gihapon ta haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaayo mars. Mag bag o jud perspective sa life hhaah. Di na patakag gasto kay lisud kwarta run pangitaon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha labihan jod

$ 0.00
2 years ago