The Book All Parents Need to Properly Raise their Child

24 63
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Spiritual, God, Christian

As a child I thoroughly enjoyed Dr. Seuss and mystery books. My parents always encouraged me to frequently read and study. But there was one book they never provided me with that is perhaps the most important book a child of any age should possess.

Flashback

I grew up near the beach in sunny Southern California. When I reached the 6th grade I no longer brought home homework or textbooks and yet I still received A's on my report cards.

At first my mother continued to question me why, as did my father when he came home (an officer in the US Navy). When my first report card was sent they marveled and asked me, "How did you do this - did you cheat?"

I didn't cheat. Instead, I read for comprehension, then completed my homework in class. This continued until the end of high school.

A life of reading

Since those early days I've never stopped reading. Nowadays I read 2-5 books a week, though my tastes have changed from fiction and non-fiction to primarily non-fiction. Occasionally I'll read humor but that's about it insofar as fiction goes (aside from Shakespeare). Whatever you read, continue to do so, because real writer's read... a lot. I mean a lot!

The book

There are 66 books in the Bible. I'll refrain from the argument of the additional books in the Roman Catholic faith except to say that the early church leaders rejected them because they were not written by the Apostles and were written after the first century church Apostles has passed away.

The book is Proverbs, the most secular book of the Bible. Secular? Yes, in the sense that it lacks theology, but instead is a collection of wise sayings. Anyone can read and understand it, even if they are not a Christian.

People are wrongly taught that the 31 chapters of Proverbs were written by King Solomon. He did write many but Solomon was primarily a collector of wise sayings. He collected wise sayings from Arab culture, Egyptian culture and from other kings such as King Lemuel and King Agur (both Arab kings).

Solomon's purpose for collecting them was for parents to properly raise their children. Aha, bet many did not know that!

Puzzles!

The book of Proverbs is not meant to be read like one would read a regular book. A reader should approach each wise saying carefully to grasp its meaning. This is because they are meant for readers to solve the puzzle - some being much easier than others. Proverbs are not meant to be solved easily but to get you to grasp the overall application for life.

Themes

There are a variety of themes in the book of Proverbs. Some of these include wisdom (the first 9 chapters), proper speech, family matters, matters of the heart, rich versus poor, laziness, and the concept of humbleness over pride.

Proverbs has been called a book of how to live by numerous Biblical scholars.

Examples of application

Remember the US proverb, "A stitch in time saves nine"? It's not all about sewing as some think it is, though obviously that is one application. If a tear appears, we should mend it before it becomes bigger and more ragged until the item becomes a worthless rag.

Here is the actual application. The proverb means that when problems arise, and they most certainly will, we should address them quickly rather than procrastinate. If we address our problems right away, they prevent them from getting really bad.

The last chapter of Proverbs (chapter 31) is profound. Aside from life's biggest choice aside from God, it concerns the matter of properly choosing a spouse. Many wrongly believe it is about finding the ideal woman - but that is not necessarily true.

In fact, women and your ladies can apply the wisdom inherent in the chapter to finding the ideal man for their lives.

Think of the book of Proverbs as a book of rules for living an honorable life. Discuss them with your children, ask them what the meaning is. Both of you will grow and lead a better moral life if you apply the wisdom these wise sayings teach. Indeed, if you truly want to properly raise your children, then the book of Proverbs is a must have. Just don't let it collect dust on your bookshelf.

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

17
$ 5.65
$ 4.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.74 from @MarielB22
$ 0.21 from @RazorFist
+ 6
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Spiritual, God, Christian

Comments

Now, I'm pleading guilty... It's been a while since my last read "because real writer's read... a lot. I mean a lot!".

I'm not the kind of parent who pushes my sons, I only taught them to read. For comprehension development, I let them read the bible, almost Old English. From then on, my eldest aced reading at school and didn't have to worry about comprehension. Will be starting this again now my bunso is up to the challenge. Thank u for the read. God bless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me , the bible is the most complete book to read if you really want to be a success in every aspect. You just need to read the books carefully

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, read, but correctly discern and then apply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is more than just writing for a cash, it makes sense if we get wiser with what we read also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bible teaches us how to raise children and there are over 20 scriptures supporting it the few I Know are

Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it.

Ephesians 6:4 Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.

Isaiah 54:13 “All your sons will be taught of the Lord; And the well-being of your sons will be great.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good stuff. We can teach our kids a lot of wisdom from Proverbs and the Bible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Bible has so many lessons but people tend to read it like a story book. We should always read to understand, not read for entertainment!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You learn something new daily and I just learned two things: chapter 31 and the application of the US proverb. Thanks, Scotty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome, my man. Keep checking back to learn and grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a plan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad I read this and yes you're right, I will always be grateful for the man my dad is, cause he taught us the book of proverb.. Probably that's what help me in my life and decision making, I have said this before coming across this article.. If one want to be wise, he should study the book of proverb

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great to hear and know!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want my baby to be a reader but mommy isn't. Mommy can only read short bed time stories.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you can read those, you can read a singe proverb in an easy translation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are good things parents should know. Instead of introducing and exposing children to different gadgets, it's better to open those kinds of books to little children. It is necessary that they already know about morality in life because that will be inculcated in their minds that they will bring for their whole life. I could say I'm very much thankful that my parents thought about my future that I was also given with those kinds of reading. Now, that I've become a teacher, I'm doing my best to share with them what they should have known when they're little.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, as a former teacher, now turned Bible teacher, I know one thing for sure: it's never to late to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. We are blessed so why not share the blessing of wisdom we have for others 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays kids are exposed to gadgets that the parents themselves provide so it will be convenient for them to go on their lives. This will save them the time and effort of educating their children and entertaining them. But there are parents too that are passionate in educating their children and teaching them properly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, true. We homeschool our child daily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every wish sayings in the book of proverbs can be related to in different ways. One of my favorites is prov 22:29

It is one of the daily motivations I use.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah, the skillful worker! Yes, a good proverb for motivation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the whole truth about of the book of Proverbs, it guides you and show you practical wisdom.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can't go wrong by reading and applying its wise sayings. I know a 9-year-old girl who memorized all 31 chapters!

$ 0.00
2 years ago