Speak Up and Do Not Fear!

45 69
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Many people are afraid to speak in front of even a small crowd. Nerves, butterflies in the stomach, vomiting, and an unwillingness keep many individuals away from speaking up. The irony is that amongst friends one can hardly get the same people to stop talking.

University

When I attended university years ago, the core curriculum mandated that a student take at minimum two courses on public speaking. As I sat in the back of one class I was amazed how some students were shaking, mumbling during their speeches, refusing to make eye contact with other students, and how several were totally unprepared.

Yes, I had a few butterflies in my stomach, but I also knew that the worst thing that could possibly happen was that I would forget an important part of my 5-minute speech. As it was, once I opened with a joke everything followed smoothly and I made a 99/100. I had overcome my initial fears.

History

Throughout history numerous people refused to speak up at the right time. Whether out of fear or prudence people remained silent. The consequences included people sealing their personal fate, or country's destiny was decided, and many were exonerated at trial. This shows us that there is a time to speak or remain silent.

During the Salem Witch trials, many people (mostly females) were convicted of being a witch. The testimony of witnesses came from jealous people concerning the person on trial or were cajoled into giving false testimony. Only one woman was put to death, however. Most refused to speak on their own behalf.

During World War II when Hitler rose to power and began his pogrom against the Jews, he enticed the German population to hate certain people: Jews especially, homosexuals and gypsies.

As history demonstrates, over six million people were murdered when the German people refused to speak up. And don't tell me this did not happen, as I have been to one of several Holocaust museums and have seen the evidence.

Testimony

In a court of law a witness swears to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. A multitude lie in spite of this vow. The truly guilty are sure to lie out of fear in order to save their own skin. But even innocent people have been convicted for crimes they did not commit and many have been put to death by false testimony.

Have you ever wondered why few people are ever prosecuted for breaking their vow to tell the truth?

Bible

There are stories in the Bible where people both spoke up and when people remained silent. In Acts chapter 7, Stephen rose to speak and gave a testimony about Jesus as the Messiah. It so enraged the Jews that they stoned him to death.

Paul was also jailed, beaten, and nearly stoned to death for speaking up and telling the unadulterated truth.

On the other hand, when Jesus was on trial before Pontus Pilate He remained silent. He was asked to speak but refused, as He knew His destiny -He obeyed the Father even unto death to pay for the all the sins of those whom God would call His own. Jesus, like Stephen and Paul, had no fear.

What about us?

Are we fearful to speak up? It's easy to remain silent and not be subjected to backlash. But I submit to you that many of us sit back and allow wickedness to speak and refuse to refute it.

Here is something to consider as we move forward in life: we must reject evil and speak the truth.

Jesus said: "Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven. But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven" (Matthew 10:32-33).

Are you willing to speak up without fear for Jesus or will you remain silent and seal your fate?

Images free at https://pixabay.com/

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

22
$ 11.33
$ 9.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.89 from @MarielB22
$ 0.21 from @RazorFist
+ 6
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Comments

Never knew a Texas who couldn't talk a dog out of his hide 'cept when it comes to preachin' the Lord.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No doubt about that. A mile a minute with the jaw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All true. I remember one time I was when I was a witness for the prosecution in a theft trial. The police persuaded me to testify to something that MAY have been true and I did it. The male was convicted. I felt uneasy later on as a result. Maybe what they "cajoled" me to say wasn't true. Good wake up call post.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The Holy Spirit got your attention! He always does. t least a lesson was learned.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, man!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say for myself that I am a good speaker but it is true that many people have fear of speaking. I always feel free to express my opinion. I think everyone should be free to share their thoughts and express their views, without fear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's great! Do you speak up for Jesus when people disparage Him and Christians?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really have never been in situation like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? REALLY? You've never observed it on social media or overheard conversations? Interesting. I hear it often.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this post. I'm encouraged never to be shy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This has become very common nowadays. People are scared to speak.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is true of those who are scared but not me. They can cancel me but they cannot cancel Jesus. Thanks again for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't let our fear put us in a situation where we can't help ourselves again, fear is False Experiences Appearing Real And God hasn't given us the spirit of fear but of sound mind

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Excellent reply! Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much , for your encouragement you have given me the boldness to speak up with fear a couple of days back I am called in the school to give a welcome speech , am so afraid i wasn't able to talk , but I think when I read your I will be able to speak up for myself and Christ 🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Action speaks much louder than mere written words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Courage and the amount of boldness we have to talk or speak out just like you said can be enough in saving the day for either we ourselves or for some other persons but i must tell you the whole truth, this post i think was made for me as i'm not usually the bold type especially in front of a huge crowd as that though my own problem could be said to be shyness

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, shyness is able to be overcome. Some of the best preachers I am aware of speak softly behind a pulpit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not good if someone when silent without speaking up. No matter how the fear I do force myself to speak out, even although am speaking rubbish, I will speak out, There are some things sometimes that someone needs to speak out to help here destiny

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When referring to the gospel, yes, but there are times to remain silent and allow others to speak on your behalf, like when in court.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe there is a time to speak and time to be silent and when you see something going wrong it is your responsibility to speak up and let things are in order cos when Jesus entered the temple and found them selling, he didn't just keep mute cos he is the christ but did stand for what is right

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right. Jesus cleansed the Temple twice, once at the beginning of His ministry and again during the last week of His ministry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, when we were little, we were afraid to talk. And I know you have to learn to speak in front of people. Otherwise you will be far behind. I like the topic of your article. To be successful, you must overcome these fears.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you: Our fears can be overcome. That is the way we progress and build the confidence to face other fears.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read a quotation once that says, the majority suffers because those who know what is right don't speak.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is so true and sad on the surface. We must be bold and speak up against wickedness and proclaim Jesus.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

While I am shy in front of a crowd, I can speak, especially about Jesus and all without fear. If we deny Him, He will deny us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know you are and do as you say!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is easy and convenient to stay in silent and watch others but it would take courage and your faith to speak up and reject evil.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Spot on. Faith gives us courage but we need to act on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my public speaking was totally disaster hahaha.. Btw, speaking up with the word of God is not easy lalo na pag hindi sincere at walang desire.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nobody ever said it was easy, but if we have true faith we will not be ashamed of Jesus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Concerning Christ I will definitely speak up without thinking about the consequences

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is good to hear and know, because we are to tell others about Jesus in and out of season. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

University days are best because you learn many things there and you made a lot of friends a lot thing's that's was new for you and one the Most Attractive things you will speak InFront Of people when you have a presentation

I miss My university days and enjoy also Hope you will be able to speak InFront Of many other people

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do not miss my university days. There was a lot of indoctrination which I fought against. At least as I pursue another masters degree in seminary I am not affected by false teachings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! though i opt to seat and watch, i can always do public speaking anytime. Its not about the butterflies in the stomach, I just dont like people. Way back school days, at 6th grade my adviser was furious at me for not participating at class simply because i dont want to be noticed. Then college, simply because same issue. I refuse to participate. I never really understood why i need to participate, and I need to lead the pack to participate? I mean really? Why cant they just not carry on? lolz... hihihi... Everything has its own time!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well what about the main point of speaking without fear for the sake of Christ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that! I believe I already started. hihihi!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

During my college years, I tried to speak in front of many people when I was the emcee of our Defense time. It was the scariest day to me but luckily I surpassed it since my classmates really helps me too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is good. Yes, we can gain strength to do what we would not be able to do with the encouragement from other people. Good point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This notes speaks some part about me whenever I was called on to speak on a debate or topic I was always shy to face the audience since I didn't have the courage to do that,I just need to summon courage to be able to face the audience though btw we shouldn't be afraid to speak the truth always though the truth is always bitter but let's try to speak it out to clear our conscience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is great, but what about speaking the truth about Jesus?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am trying my best to go out and evangelize to people about the good works

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can introduce the gospel casually, too. The religion topic usually surfaces sooner or later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago