Worries of an Anxious Introvert

Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago
Click the image for the source

Who is an introvert just like me? What qualities do they have? Let me list some of them before I continue my interesting article. Trust me, you will find it fun.

  • An introvert is shy.

  • An introvert loves to be alone.

  • An introvert do not find fun in socializing.

  • An introvert is gentle and keep things to themselves.

  • They are silent, calm, passive, rigid, reserved, reliable and quiet.


Now, let's talk about their worries and how anxious they may be. I was opportuned to stumble on an article about the six worries of an anxious introvert and going through all, I could see it was pointing at me because I would be explaining with my experiences to understand this points. You can disagree with me if you think they doesn't point at you too because whether you agree or not, these worries are found in all introverts.

An introvert getting ready to socialize, mingle or associate with people, you will see they find it difficult to do unlike the extroversion type of people who finds it easy because they are used to it. So, should we start?


You are imagining the worst case scenario in your heard instead of being optimistic

In a scenario where I am being invited to somewhere or to talk to people, instead of being positive how it would turn out but I am trying to be pessimistic and would start thinking of the worst case scenario, how it will go bad at the end. Introverts look less at themselves and with this, they believe if they should attend a meeting or gathering, they will be shun at or disappointed by people.


You are uncomfortable because you haven't been to the venue or event before

This has always happened to me on many occasions. I don't feel comfortable when I am invited or trying to go to a venue I have never been before. Of course, every introverts would be worried especially thinking People would look at them and talk about them and they think they are been disgraced or humiliated. When it's my first time visiting a particular place, I'd rather go in the company of someone or two people to make me feel comfortable.

Many times when I am walking alone, I would just focus on the ground especially when passing in the midst of people. I won't be comfortable until I pass through them. I can even pick up my nails and start biting or concentrating on something I shouldn't have with my body, clothes, hair etc until I get out of that place. It's always uncomfortable for me unless I have people I walk with then.


You feel like leaving early as an option for you

When you invite me somewhere, I prefer going there early so that I would have sat down before other people comes in. Unlike when I attend a gathering late when others have arrived, I would instead sit at the back to avoid People gazing at me while entering to sit in the front. I hate it when I walk in the midst of people and all attention is on me, it feels like the ground should open and swallow me up. I feel embarassed (let me use the word).

So, an introvert would rather want to go early than being late and become centre of attention.


You don’t know anyone else who is going.

This is another worry of an introvert. This is why I said I am comfortable walking in the company of two or more people to keep me good. Going for a social event, an introvert would ask if another person is going so he or she can find someone they can walk with and when the offer is turned down or the other person isn't going, they feel worried and likely change their mind of going.

Another example is going for an event where you do not know anyone there. You are new and it seems no one cares, how do you feel? You rather change your mind instantly if you ever noticed you do not know anyone and it's difficult to make friends there because of who you are-an introvert who is shy

An introvert needs someone who he or she can lean on, talk to and create that "woohoo" "ermm" conversation with, so standing alone in a social event will definitely cause anxiety.


You’re anxious about having all eyes on you when you get there.

Just like I said that introverts would prefer going to an event early to avoid all eyes on him or her. Getting to the event at just the right time is decisive to your introvert comfortability factor.

The author of this article talked about her experience too that whenever she goes to an event early and no one has arrived, she would sit in her car and await others and when she sees people entering, she quickly walks in their midst into the event as this would make her feel comfortable without anyone looking at her.

Let me make mine too. Whenever I go to church, and they call those who are paying their tithes or coming out to drop offering, I will have to wait for people to stand up and then walk in between them to the altar and do the same while going back to my seat. I feel nervous walking alone😣


You and your anxiety try to talk yourself out of going.

How do you feel when you invite someone as a guest speaker and didn't show up, sad right? Same thing with someone inviting you to attend his or her party and made you the important guest of the day and while at home, your mind is racing if you should go or not. The truth is no one knows if you are there or not, everyone minds their business and it's your mind rationalizing. So face it and do not make such person feel bad that you didn't turn up.

I hope you enjoy this?


Happy weekend everyone and I wish us the very best of the day. Don't forget your health is important.

Thanks for reading

|November 06, 2021|

25
$ 8.94
$ 8.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 20
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Excellent, excellent article. I'm an introvert with social anxiety and OCD ( Obsessive/Compulsive Disorder ). Having an online presence has helped me become a little more comfortable with my real life social situations; especially being able to have discussions here on Read & Noise. I've met so many people from all over the world that are just like me. I feel that has really helped me become more social. God bless .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure introverts enjoyed reading this, and I am one of them, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! This is a well crafted piece ( ku isè @Princessbusayo ). You have successfully cooked and served a rice of humour to us— your readers. And with a delicious soup of your experiences, we dine and wine in this sumptuous edutainment.

It is indeed fascinating how the human mind is structured to respond to different situations. You have exposed me to the facts hidden behind the shades. This is a colourful piece, decorated with the reality of life. Reading it was fun. Thank you for a wonderful read.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! Should I take you for a literature guy with the way you described the content? 😁😁 I am glad to see another Yoruba guy in here. Thank you so much for coming by. I do appreciate it πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty as charged, I'm honoured to be appreciated by the one whose pen flames wisdom on the grass of ignorance. You are welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ™ˆπŸ˜„πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For many years I was an introvert. It has been hard for me to let go of that. But little by little I have been overcoming that, although some of the points you have written remain in me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am trying too to be a part of an extrovert at least and I believe I would get over it too. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be so introverted before I got Into school. I remembered my first year I could not even walk past the front of the class while it was full. I'm still quite introverted but now I'm way better at expressing myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am also trying to practice expressing myself in public so I don't get to keep myself to a place alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an introvert tooπŸ˜‚. I switch depending on the situation and place i find myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Then you are an ambivert 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh! There's a name for that too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, ambivert is when you are an introvert and extrovert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi busayo, First off I want to commend you for a very educative article and your other articles. An introvert can still lead a healthy life and become better at the end. i am a nigerian and i want to ask you a question about how you use special designs in your articles especially designs you put before the next paragraph. please i will be expecting your reply.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Okay, thank you for stopping by at my articles. I am really glad. Yes, being an introvert doesn't mean we can't rule over the world, we can actually be the best we wanna be.

About the designs, I downloaded the image divider online and used it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so accurate. I hardly want to be in a place without a familiar face

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same with me. I prefer being around those I can always talk to and be familiar with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All my life, I have never imagined myself being an introvert but i'm a full time extrovert

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's great. I would say extroverts are likely to benefit more than an introvert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here I am an introvert in your comment section. hehe, I can relate to each and every word of yours. While reading I feel like I am reading about myself. I love my introverted life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Great! I love my introverted life too. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You nailed it to the cross, with the two hands widely spread just like christ on the cross Symbol. Hahaha. You see the part of searching for anyone attending the event to make it in a company of two or three, I think we are all victims of that or I should say I'm a full time victim πŸ™ˆ. It happens to me often, when I don't find someone attending, I better stay on my bed and press my phone, last last I go apologize to the event owner 🧐

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Did you just say I nailed it to the cross? 😁😁😁

Same with me, In fact whenever I want to go out for fun, it seems so difficult and I would end up postponing it unless I see someone to accompany me which I know the bills would be on me 😣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not an introvert but I behave like an introvert... I'm not shy but I prefer to be silent, I can go out and talk on stage confidently but I do not want to as I hate humans in general lol.. I can understand tis post

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Then it means you are an ambivert. One sided introvert and another side of extrovert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL. I can definetly relate to everything you've just said since I, myself is an introvert lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you can. It's just not possible to see an introvert not have gone through these stages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an extrovert type of person and thus, a friendly person too. However, there are still instances where I like to be alone. Being alone has enabled me to meditate and reflect on life stuff. My goal is to keep away myself from the people who inflict toxicity in my system. I know some people would want to talk to you or be friends to you @Princessbusayo but they are hesitant to approach you because they know your an introvert person. πŸ’™

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is it! You got me there too. They know what I can do and so they find it hard to move closer to me.

And also, I also love to be alone as I tend to release different ideas from my head.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really me OMG!! I hate crowded places and I just want my peace alone. I don't go outside if I don't nees to and I love my room πŸ˜–

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love my room too but these days, people tend to criticize me because I stay indoor all day but I don't mind 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In addition to this, an introvert would rather not contribute to talks in public gatherings. But I'm an extrovert and I don't talk in public gatherings like church. What can you say regarding this???

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think in such a situation, we fear that we would be shun. Like People won't buy our ideas and that would be embarassing to us. So, we only talk when they ask us to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly how I feel and what I do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, you got everything correct dear, I hate going to places without anyone, I always ask if anyone will follow me before I can go.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You aren't alone in this world as an introvert 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like visiting a crowded summit, maybe it is because I do not have big stature.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😁😁 I do not have a big stature either

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly how it feels being an introvert. I have learned to speak up when it matters though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am trying too and I don't want to keep being silent but to speak up when need be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Introvert here.. Maybe because I just love the silence and solitude, and I don't really like the crowd or socializing with them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are in the same shoe 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My life story.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are an introvert? 😁😁 We all Experience this. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a introvert and I really flow with your story cus this is one of the only ways we can share our worries without seeing anybody πŸ˜“

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😁😁 I am glad it happens to you too. I think I love being an introvert because of its advantages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was once at an event I never knew we were going there because my friends just told me we were going to watch a football match. They knew if they had told me I won't go. On getting there I was shocked I couldn't go back because we came in a car so I had to stay, I wasn't just myself because I hate going to places that is occupied by too much people that I don't even know

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same with me. I find it hard to be among crowded people when I don't know them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago