My sister is good at surprises.

6 41
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“There is no surprise more magical than the surprise of being loved: It is God's finger on man's shoulder.”

Charles Morgan

Right from when we were young, my sister has always loved getting surprises from friends and families. She grew up to getting surprises and many times loves to surprise other people too. She is very good at it and most times, we make her know how dangerous it could be especially when travelling.

One thing I know about my sister is that when she is travelling, she will never tell you she is on her way. You will just see her bump into your arms or startle you from behind and you'd wondered if she appeared like a ghost. It was always an unexpected visit for her. She enjoys it because she loves seeing that surprised face on people and to her, it's so much fun.

I also love surprising people when I am travelling because I wouldn't want people to know I am coming over to their places. While this is always interesting, we should always know that we might get disappointed most times when those we are visiting aren't at home or they didn't plan to make any meals for us.

Then, it will now dawn on you that if you had known, you would have made them know so that they could prepare something for you because you might be starving on your way and waiting to meet delicious meals that would pass you by eventually.

There was a time I wanted to make it a surprise to go to my hometown even when my sister kept pestering me to know when I would be coming home. I told her I don't know yet even when I was in the bus already. I intended to surprise my grandma and dad but I ended up spoiling it when I mistakenly took a picture of me in the bus and uploaded it on my WhatsApp status with the caption “In the bus, going home.” 😅😅

I forgot that my little sister was online and she viewed my status and my plan was forfeited. There was no need to hide again because I spoiled it myself. It was painful but I let it go.

Now, for my immediate younger sister. Since we would be having the burial of one of my relatives that died last month, we all decided to attend too since the deceased is our family. She already told me she would be going home on Thursday which is tomorrow while I told her I will be coming on Wednesday which is today.

I was surprised when she called me last night that she is already in our hometown. I couldn't believe her because I reminded her that she already told me it is Thursday she would be coming. We both chatted yesterday afternoon and she didn't say anything about her trip. She said she was on her way when we were both chatting.

Thank God she got home safely with one of our aunts. By the time this post is published, I will still be on my way to our hometown and it's a far distance. I am happy we would be seeing each other again after many months. Though, we saw ourselves last this January because we all were together during Christmas in the year 2021 and the new year in 2022. We departed after the celebration and we are seeing each other again before everyone goes back to their destination.

For me, this would be the only time they would be seeing me until another year since I will be going for my NYSC service by March or so.

Who doesn't like surprising people. One needs to be careful with it because as sweet as it can be, it is also prone to receiving disappointment when you do not carry the other person along.

Imagine planning to surprise a lady to propose to her especially in the public and she turns you down? It will be a great embarrassment. This is why you must be sure and see your relationship on the right ground.

Also, if you want to meet a delicious meal prepared for you at home when you are trying to travel, please let them know you are coming so that you won't have to face what my elder sister and I faced some months ago.

We visited our maternal grandmother surprisingly and we didn't eat anything till we left that day as we were craving her delicious stew. There is this style she uses to make her fried stew and we thought she would prepare it but we failed as we didn't inform her. She said if we had told her of our coming, she would have made something for us. We were pained but we left without eating anything that day.

Thanks for your time.

Image by Vjapratama from Pexels.

[December 14, 2022] (No 333 articles for the year)

8
$ 0.50
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
+ 2
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Hehe when traveling I'm not really fond of surprises princess because when you get there they didn't prepared some foods and it makes me hungry. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That kind of surprise has it's good sides and bad sides. I am glad she got home safely too and that's the good thing.

You ruined your own surprise by uploading your picture 😂😂🤣😂 e don cast.

I wish you safe trip too, KP... whenever you choose to finally go 😂🤣😂😂

I can't even visit you as a surprise. You that you won't eat or spend money before...I will now let you starve me 😂🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also love to surprise people when I am travelling towards their home ☺️ so many times I did this and it was really fun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like you said, it has the good and the bad side, but I love going with the traveling surprise, e dey sweet die🤗.

For the engagement, omo! I'm never in support of it because of "what if"?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The part that got me was where the mentioned you visiting your Grandma without telling her ahead. What did you later eat?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gez, I hate being surprised coming, haha. I don't know what to do after. Well quite hospitable for us to get prepared when we have some friends to come, so I always tell them to say in advance. It was stressful in part not expecting anyone; go in the hours they suddenly jumped on the doorsteps, haha. No, for me, for surprise visits, haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago