To be a freelancer or an employee?

48 68
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

โ€œPleasure in the job puts perfection in the work.โ€

Aristotle

There is a need to understand that both Freelancing and Full-Time Employment jobs are good because we still earn from them, but we also should understand that there are pros and cons to everything in life.

The world is going into digital already, and this is why we have been advised to have the skill(s) to complement our offline Job.

Gone are those days when, being a salary earner at an organization pays because of the high payment at the end of the month and the country's economy hasn't gotten to this level. The dollar is increasing, and so, the naira value is depreciating especially when you have to realize everything is now expensive. This has made every employee broke because when they are given a little pay, how do they cope with family?

Teachers are affected so much in this regard. Imagine being given #30,000 at the end of the month and you have bills piling up for you to pay. How do you even save?

This is where an online job comes into the picture because I don't think someone would want to settle for such little monthly payment that wouldn't even go anywhere, and to add to it that they will stress the hell out of your life. You should try out private schools.

Freelancing is when you offer your digital skills (photography, blogging, writing, market affiliate, data research, web development, editing, proofreading etc) to clients online and make money.

As a writer on any blogging platform, we are freelancers as long as we get paid for the skill we showcase which is writing, vlogging etc. There are so many benefits of being a freelancer which you cannot enjoy as a full-time employee. Also, there are disadvantages too which definitely would make an offline job worth it.

Some of the benefits you get as a freelancer are;

Flexible working hours: You are in control of your work. No one will force you, or give you time to resume office. Whereas, as a full-time employee, there is a fixed time to resume and close for the day without considering if you are okay with it or not.

Good life work balance: There will still be time for you to pursue other goals in your life. Being a freelancer would give you time to choose your best convenient time, even if you would only spare two or three hours a day and still do other things like going out for fun, and having more time for family and friends. Can this happen in a teaching Job?

My friend who is now working as a teacher told me how CCTV CAMERA is being installed everywhere, from the school gate to each classroom, except for toilets. They work till 7pm and more, depending on who is on duty. Will such a person have time to pursue other goals?

International clients: One benefit of being a freelancer is working for clients who are overseas, but as a full-time employee, I don't think it's possible, unless in some organization.

Earn in Dollars: With the way the economy is going, it is better to earn in dollars and not naira. This would be worth it for a freelancer.

Control over your workload: A boss would give you loads of work without considering your health, and it must be ready at the stipulated time. Whereas, as a freelancer, you can control your workload. You know when to stop and take your rest as no one would fight or threaten you. The only thing there is that there would be unstable income.

This cannot happen as a full-time employee because whether they like it or not, your boss would still pay you at the end of the month.

So, with all these being said, If I were to choose, I would go for freelancing, because I love working from home where no one would boss over me or threaten to make me lose my Job because of how much?

In another sense, because I love to be a teacher, but I can't tell of the future. If it's the case, I will have to make freelancing a side hustle. It's all about balancing and self-discipline.

Thanks for your time.

Image created on Canva and here is the Link.

[August 28, 2022] (No 239 articles for the year)

25
$ 4.86
$ 4.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

What you wrote is exactly true. Working in the comfort zone of our home is the best part. In freelancing the best part is be your own boss. Where you can relax and work

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There is nothing good as staying in your comfort zone and working, plus having to be your own boss.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll always go for Freelancing even if my skill set is not yet fully equipped ๐Ÿคฃ I don't like to have boss, coz I am a bossy myself haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… There are free courses online to help us get perfected and we can pay too. Whichever way. I know we can do it as long as we put our mind into it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, that's what I am doing right now.. keep learning first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would choose freelancing too if I'm to pick one. Even if I am sick, I can still do a little work online. It is not like an offline job that requires taking transport.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. No one will care if you are sick. You just have to get the job done but with freelancing, you can choose your day to work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would prefer freelancing than being an employee. There is much stress in being an employee. Most of the work that the employers does doesn't even worth the payment.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

At the end of the month, the employee is given a meagre as salary. What will that do? I love freelancing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think freelancer should be okay by me because being an employee, on the long run you can be deployed so...........

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You can oo. It is when you don't expect it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, being a freelancer has a good benefits to all of us, most specially to a mother like me as while staying at home I am also earning. I don't have any boss and I don't need to follow someone's order as I am the boss of my own time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You will also have more time for your kids and family. You can set your own convenient time to work and no one will question you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its better you choose where you can have your time as much as you can.its a big difference when we are full-time employees you always follow the boss which sometimes makes me annoyed when there are lots of things you need to do, when we are not feeling well we cannot have our day off oftentimes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is the con of working as an employee. You will be bossed over things in the company. You don't have your time except when you close or go on a leave

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like your conclusion, balancing the two is the best idea.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. You just have to balance if you want the both.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The article makes more sense for Nigerians, how can someone live on a 30k monthly salary? That's equal to committing suicide. Earn in dollars: that makes more sense and it's the reason why we are surviving as freelancers residing in a country like Nigeria.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. I have been surviving for some years now, all because of blogging and freelancing. What will such a salary monthly do for a family person? Even an individual? It's too small.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In this fast-paced age of digital and technology, we have to have skills to keep up with the times.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Having digital skills is the best now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have plan to work in freelancing but I don't know what are my skills to offer and use huhu. All the advantages that you've shared is true about being a freelancer.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are many skills under freelancing. If you go through them, you can take free online courses to help you hone those skills and you are on your way to being a successful freelancer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also want to try freelancing too if ever I have the chance. Being a teacher is not easy, and the salary comes next, so I have this side hustles that help me with my bills and more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, as a teacher, you can continue being a freelancer even on blogging sites like this. It's all about balancing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Freelancing baby! I like working with my time and the flexibility of it while still being their for my family is a blessing I don't ever want to let go of.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is it. Freelancing is much more better. You have your time to yourself and family. No one to threaten you or boss over you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No threat at all... You work at your own pace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The way the situation of the country is right now. One cannot adequately cater for his/her needs especially if you have dependants under you unless you have at least two streams of income. Except of course you are a politician. Lol.... Being an employer on a fixed salary when in a a country where inflation is on the high on a daily can be so frustrating

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Fixed salary that isn't even enough at all. You can't keep receiving small amount every month as someone with people to feed. It's frustrating at the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Obviously in the days of the information which are going on right now freelancing is much better than doing a job

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. The world is going digital

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As the world is progressing digitally, so I would also go for freelancing. Moreover the easiest thing about freelancing is that, we can work from home.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we can work from anywhere. Someone in his post said he would prefer freelancing because he even works from his coffee shop and no one would question him. That's the good thing about freelancing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I shall consider freelancing as a perfect work because it increases interaction as well as our good earning in USD. I agreed everything has pros and cons no doubt.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love to earn in dollars because it keeps going up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also love working from home and even more being my own boss. We usually get stressed because being freelancers requires more work and effort, but we don't know how lucky we are.that we are by being completely free in our jobs.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love it too as it gives me time to do other things at my free time. Well, in all, let's still be grateful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will choose freelance job also, as the word free is there,you are the boss of your self.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. You are your own boss without anyone threatening to sack you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

๐Ÿ˜˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being an employee is too tough one and sometimes you'll do works that are out of your job line. Bosses took advantage of their positions. I will rather be a freelancer. I have time and freedom and can do other things like traveling while working ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I even praise your efforts combining both together. It's not easy. With freelancing, one would enjoy his or her freedom and no one to shout or scream over a task.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, when I was working in the office and everyday I wake up early it was really hard princess then when I encounter the world of blogging, I don't know how I'm going to explain this like I'm more comfortable with it because it's like I have a freedom princess.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Freelancing brings freedom my friend. I love my comfort and no one should boss around me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes princess that's true. No one will dictate us because we are the boss.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have 14 years job experience but still I prefer my own business. 2-3 years in free lancing now , The free lancing is more moderate version of own business where more freedom of timing and comfertablness hidden. Then it is almost stress free Vs business. So my vote is to free lancer is better then a 9 to 5 job.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are good benefits of being a freelancer when you have good clients and already perfected your skills. You will enjoy it more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago