The Best Things in Life that are free

29 70
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

“You aren't really wealthy until you have something that money can't buy”

- Garth Brooks

Hi awesome people! How are you doing? It's a beautiful day already and I am so overwhelmed because I will be doing what I did yesterday and was able to meet up with all I planned to do and had time to rest. In fact, I was finding some other things to do as I looked for what to do but all I just did was to rest and finally slept. It was a great day for me which made me happy. Today will go the same way for me since I do not have anything else apart from my activities online and preparing meals for the house. 

Today is the last day of the six weeks challenge we were doing on Hive by Dreemport and it has been amazing ever since we started. @FarmGirl @CoquiCoin @TengoLoTodo and others would testify as we all are part of the dreemport challenge. 


Okay, let's get back here. For the next three days, I will be discussing three things that are the best in life which money cannot buy, but are free. Yes, they are free. 

Have you gone to the market to see accessories and clothes that you really admire, and you paid for it? Those material things are what money could buy and aren´t free except you are gifted, but what of the giver? Didn´t he or she pay for it?

We have heard that there are things money cannot buy apart from the food we eat, clothes we wear, places we visit for vacation and the likes. Those things are happiness, health, love, peace, Grace etc

To make you know also that there are beautiful things in the world that can be obtained freely without having to save or borrow money for it, it all depends on how you take them seriously and want to be better too. 

I read a book about a couple who had everything, houses, cars, lands, maids to serve them and other things, but they weren't happy. Why is that? These people are wealthy and have everything in their possession, they could buy things with their money but something was missing and the first time they invited another couple into their house, they were surprised at the games that were introduced to them. They never knew life could be fun aside from the idea of staying indoors all by themselves and getting served by their maids.


Nurturing your friendships

In our lives, we want to be loved, feel special, and have friends who would be there for us even in our tough times. We all crave friendships that will build us up and guide us in the right path. We long for someone to laugh with, play with, someone to cry with, and someone to cheer us up, those friendships that would look at us and say “I'm rooting for you” but all these are lacking in most of us because we struggle when it comes to building and creating friendships. 

Yes, life gets hectic and we are on the run hustling to make our lives better, it is hard to keep tabs on your life, not to talk of someone else´s. Many people now ignore real relationships and focus on the superficial Facebook variety, trying to convince or assure ourselves that when we see their photos on Facebook, and like enough status updates, we will be caught up with friends' lives. 

But all these aren't going anywhere because I have come to realize that the most basic lesson of friendship is that “in order to have a friend, you must be a friend.” What will it look like when you haven't loved yourself and want to love another? How do you show love to another when you are unable to truly love yourself to understand how love goes, the sacrifices one needs to make in order to prove that you love someone? If you do not love yourself, you cannot show love elsewhere. 


Some of the loneliest people in life are those sitting and waiting for people to come to them, which makes you wonder why they do not have any friends. There are those who believe that if you don't come for them, they will not come to you either. At that moment, they feel unappreciated, unwanted, ignored and grow resentful when they see other people creating friendships that come naturally and yet, it never occurs to them that they have to make the first move. 

I remember I told you sometimes how my younger sister can easily build up friendships naturally, whereas I struggle to make friends. Perhaps, I would say it's because of my introverted nature that makes it so, but I have understood how friendship works, if you do not make the move first, you will always feel lonely with no friends. 

When was the last time you checked up on your friend? When was the last time you picked your phone to call that friend of yours without waiting for them to call you first? We will always be there if we expect people to call us first without making the move to do that. 

It takes effort and intentionality to be a good friend. This means being willing to go out and putting yourself out there and risk rejection, because the reward of true friendship is always worth the risk. 


How do we renew our old friends and build connections?

Make a list of the friends you have, even your acquaintances which you are intending to create a true friendship with. This could be those old friends you have lost touch with or your new friends. Keep the list close to you and start thinking of ways to connect back again. Put the list in your front and start praying for them. If it is possible, reach out to some via text messages and ask if they have any prayer request you can pray for them about. Pray for them in your closet and keep doing this everyday. 

Block out time. If you actually make friendship your priority, you will always find time out of your busy schedule and make up with them. You can both go out to share ideas, interests and have fun. It can be volunteering for a coffee time together with them, also, you can bring up a game you can play with and have fun. This is a way to build and connect with old and new friends. 

Reach out. Do not wait for others to reach out to you first, but reach out to them first yourself and don´t waste time on it. 

Then lastly, show grace. How do you do this? We need to understand that human beings are not perfect. They will make mistakes, hurt your feelings, betray you and forget to show up, making a decision we do not agree with. To have a friend, we must be a friend. It means we must learn to forgive them when they wrong you. Give them grace for another chance to make amends, look for the good instead of the bad in them and treat them in the way you would like to be treated.  Being able to show grace by forgiving others from our heart is what true friendship is all about. 

Watch out for the second beautiful and best thing in life that is free. 

Thanks for reading. 

Image one and Image Two from Unsplash, edited on Canva.

[April 15, 2022] (No 105 article for the year)





25
$ 12.97
$ 12.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
+ 17
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Friendship require nurturing which is important for both intellectual and social growth. When friendship go south, couples often wish they had handled the situation differently. One of the most common reasons for a friendship to show signs of extreme strain is lack of nurturing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. When we do not nurture friendships, it lacks many things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’ve been so glad with friends I’ve been associating with because they are generous beings who have helped me a lot. Like one of my friends introduced me to this platform and if he doesn’t I won’t meet nice people like you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, there are true and good friends we ought to keep in our mind because not all will be called good friends to you. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Money can buy all things but cannot buy the fresh air around us neither can it guy happiness. Yes, I agree with you that most people finds it difficult to make friends whole some make friends with ease. Making friends can truly go a long way and also it is beyond what we call friends. You need to select the one who you can both share pains with and share happiness with. Friends are not just friends but are there to waste your happiness away. Most friends run from you when you don't have, but when they have, they run from you because you are not their levels any longer....

I'm speaking from experience....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand your point that we need to choose and select the kind of friends we want. Yes, this is why I said "true friendships" because not all people can be categorized as friends because of their bad intentions they have. So, we must be careful who will call friends. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, money can't buy happiness or love. There are wealthy people in this world who still find it hard to live happily despite their money, houses and fame. Also there are some lovers who's money can't divide, they prefer staying poor with their broke husband or boyfriend than to go for a rich man.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If we don't make friends, we can't have friends. It's a principles! More so, if we keep hiding in our corners, nobody will willingly come there and be our friend. It's time we move out and meet them, all my friends whose contacts i have lost, I'll start looking for ways to connect back to them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am blessed even though we are not wealthy, I have great friends who are very nice to me and are the most reassuring people in the world. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, money can't buy genuine friendships. If we have friends who care for us so much, we are so blessed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Definitely, we are blessed because they have true and pure intentions towards us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always agreed that what cannot be bought is much more valuable than what can be, and sometimes we understand it when it is too late and there is no way to get back what is not you can have twice in life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is why true friendships are valuable. We must cherish their existence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the one you're talking to here, recently i lost relationship with friends and the zeal to go back is what I'm still searching for. Yeah, I have their contacts but something keep pushing me away to make that call or chat,,,at their end too, I guess we are all looking for money and we need to be settled first. I'll adjust🤦

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you adjust because if we think they should call or chat first, that is the same thing in their minds and if one doesn't take the step, we all would be there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Socializing is really needed because when you get moral support from a person or group, the spirit of life will be realized and it can't be bought. It generates self-confidence, which is a positive influence from other people and the social environment where we are.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think you are so addicted to reading books and quotes because I do love how you make your comment which is always meaningful. Thank you for always showing up 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well...humans are not perfect but I think we forget about our imperfections and demand the best from people when even we know that if it were us we'd do worse.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. We aren't Perfect and we need to know that we can make the worst mistakes too. No one is above mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say that I am the least social one in our family. Also terrible at maintaining relationships, but I have been trying to work on that. It would seem everything I do doesn't work in my favour

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It only takes practice and never giving up to do these things and in the end, we would be glad we did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friends plays a vital role into our life. They are the best things happen that they were there in times of trouble. I love my friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm like the old couple cooped in their home minus the maid of course lol! as I can't afford one. Me and my partner are opposite. I like staying home. Aside from my walks and meeting with some friends, then that's it. My siblings are all sociable and can make friends easily whereas I am the opposite.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe, it sure happens but we need to learn how to make friends. Your siblings can actually help you know? 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some friendships are not meant to last no matter how much you try... speaking from experience!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, I know. That is why I said true friendships. Not all friends are meant to stay in our lives because of the real beast in them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friendship requires nurturing but only when both party wants it to because I have friends that I don’t speak to all the time but they are my bestest

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, it's all about your decision.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it’s true sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago