My experience in typing

45 85
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

"Every sunrise gives you a new beginning and a new ending. Let this morning be a new beginning to a better relationship and a new ending to the bad memories. Its an opportunity to enjoy life, breathe freely, think and love. Be grateful for this beautiful day".

Norton Juster

Heaved a sigh!!! It's sure a beautiful day, even though at the start of the morning, I was feeling dizzy while in the family's morning devotion. I slept at 1:50am and was woken up by my Dad for prayer and when I checked the time, it was 5:50am. I only had 4hrs of sleep. Am I not depriving myself of sleep considering that we wake at 6am and instead of sleeping early?

I just need to grind more just as Jane would say. It was my sister's turn to take the devotion as she led us in praise and worship and prayed. My cousins were all laughing at me because I was already asleep in the middle of everything and it was the sound of the last Amen for the closing prayer that woke me up.

After praying, I went inside, still feeling sleepy but had to force myself to wake up while I did my own personal prayer with my devotion. Then, I checked the Hive community since I am expecting the instructions for our last challenge ending this week by Dreemport. I quickly did other things by exercising, jogging around the house four times, then taking a walk down the street, then returning back home. Everything I did amounted to 30 minutes.

I was inspired to write how I learned how to type on a computer or laptop when I read a post where the user said she is planning to buy a laptop with Bch money. I can't remember the user but if you are reading this, then you will know I am referring to your post.

When I was still in secondary school, I didn't know anything about laptops or computers and the first time I saw it, I was surprised at how it is being operated and I am always amazed when I see people typing on it and would wonder how they are typing on it. Then, I knew android phones too and dreaded having one so I can also be sliding left and right, up and down with just the tip of my fingers.

At the age of 15yrs, my Dad took me to enroll in a cafe and to be taught how to operate on computers because I was preparing to write my Post Utme exam and it's a computer based test. I learnt this for 3 months and I stopped because my dad couldn't afford the money. While I was learning, my boss taught me how to type fast using Mavis Beacon's Typing Software.

This is a software designed to help people type faster by learning its systems. There are lessons to take, games to play which will help you type faster.

I started with learning how to make use of all fingers to type. It was difficult at the beginning when I was instructed in using different fingers because they each have their functions. I was slow at first but gradually, I started typing at an average speed even though I wasn't using the fingers as instructed because it was hard. My boss saw how I was improving but without making use of each finger because it makes it slow. He explained the importance of using all fingers but I skipped it. What matters is learning how to use the computer and typing fast especially when the exam is around the corner.

The exam came and I traveled to my state to write the Post Utme exam in 2012 in Unilorin (University of Ilorin, Kwara state). When we got inside, we were all given different computers while no one was there to help us. When we were told to start, I was confused on how to put the computer on as it was totally different from the one at my boss's place. I was lost. I called one of the supervisors assigned to our seat and asked how to switch on the system. The reply I got shocked me as I was embarrassed while all eyes were set on me. He said "Don't you know how to put it on? You are on your own"

I was shaking and also scared because others already started. I finally figured a way out to put it on and the time started. We were all given 40 minutes to answer all questions even though I was slow to finish all. I couldn't finish it all because it was automatically submitted for me. I left the hall in the hope that I would be admitted.

Unfortunately I wasn't admitted as I was down with 4 marks. Out of 50 for the score, I got 46. It really pained me but I had to let it go.

When I got my first laptop in 2016 through a God sent, the first thing I did was to install Mavis Beacon and start learning again since I wasn't going to the cafe again. I had to learn on my own through the software while I was enjoying it. I began to type, also with the help of an Android phone I started using then. I learnt the basics of computers and how to switch them on and off.

This morning while engaging on Hive, I did research on who Mavis Beacon is and surprisingly, it wasn't a real human being as I thought then. It was just a software designed in 1987. The lady called "Mavis Beacon" wasn't real but fictional. The name's idea was given by a man named Les Crane, a company chairman and a former talk show host who gave the name "Mavis" because he was a fan of the famous singer called Mavis Staples, and the "Beacon" was because of the inference of beacon light to guide one's way. That was how the name "Mavis Beacon" was birthed.

Just a snippet of the lady that was used as Mavis Beacon

Her identity is known and she has a name that rivals Mavis Beacon's in memorability and grandeur: Renée L'Esperance. She was discovered while working as a salesperson at Saks Fifth Avenue in Beverly Hills in the '80s and paid $500 for a one-time photoshoot, according to Abrams.

Click here to take you to the source. Also, the image of Mavis Beacon was gotten from the link.

Thanks for reading

Image by Fabian on Unsplash

[April 11, 2022] (No 101 article for the year)

23
$ 5.29
$ 4.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Useful!

$ 0.00
2 days ago

learning will never look at old or young age, the most important thing is consistency to be able to know and be able to operate it. typing is a way that is not too difficult when I first have to deal with the keyboard is always a problem but because I get used to it then time will tell everything will be easy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they say practice makes perfect. When we keep learning, it get easier along the way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I began using a Pc when I was six as we had one at home. Within two weeks I could do basically everything and could type fast. I even competed with my elder sister regarding who typed faster. We didn't use Marvis Beacon, we considered it useless.

I remember we used to play Mortal Kombat 4, Monopoly, Virtual cop and blah blah...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This also reminds me of my Aunt´s little children then. They were introduced to computer at a very early age. The firstborn was 4yrs then when he already was used to using laptop with an android phone. You know these rich children na. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have has short lessons using Mavis beacon and till now I just wing it when it comes to typing. I like the sound of the fast typing on the keyboard and I hope to learn better someday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am not good yet but I want to be like the woman who is my Aunt´s friend. This woman is really good at typing. The only time she looks at the keyboard is when she is done typing more than two pages of a book. She is a witch, I do say 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was difficult for me but I finally learnt how to so stuff in computer. The computer studio in our school was robbed during our time and the robbers carted away with all the computers so my brother had go teach me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can imagine how it must have felt with the owner then. Computer isn´t a small money oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats is good, though I also used the same Mavis Bacon to increase my typing speed but I didn't really go in to deep research, the software can really help and I can boldly testify of it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I never went into deep research too not until yesterday my mind just went there afer years of knowing Mavis Beacon 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's is great at least I have also gain from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mavis Beacon is what I used in learning to type also. I also thought it was a person. Thanks for sharing this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It´s my pleasure. Thank you for reading too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, this just reminded me of my time in computer school back in 2014. After my waec, my mom asked me what I wanted to do and she gave me an option between going to a computer school and learning tailoring, I picked computer school. Marvis beacon was very fun for me because me and my friends are always competing to see who is better. Some of them were faster than me, but no one could beat me when it comes to accuracy, I rarely make mistakes 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe. I also enjoyed Mavis Beacon especially with the games I play each day to test my speed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss Mavis Beacon. This makes me want to search for it online lol! It is now that I have learned the reason behind the name Mavis Beacon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, I haven´t tried downloading it for a while now and I am even reconsidering checking online for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great! Thank you, friend 👍👏 I should see it now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I recently opened up the software on a customer's laptop as I waited for him to print my work. Mavis Beacon brings a and nostalgia as it was the first thing I learnt in practical computer science

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, it was an effective software which helped many people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2011, I remember that was the year jamb introduced the CBT test. Alot of jambites found the exam difficult becos of the new technicalitiy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, you made me remember too because I also heard CBT was just introduced then. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also use Mavis beacon to learn typing but most time I die the angry bird game to learn because I love games and till now that why I’m not that perfect in placing my finger appropriately on keyboards.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don´t mind if I can place my fingers on keyboard. All I am after is being fast in typing even if I placed the, wrongly 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mavis beacon teaches typing … 😂😂😂 I can’t forget this app on my desktop .. I learnt front it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, I can´t forget too. It is interesting and fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned about computers when I was in secondary two.. Then do type tests when we have spare time. Haha .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My school lacks this training. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't learn how to type with this process but learnt from my phone. This was as a result of blogging. During my secondary school days, I do not have any access to computer just because of the nature of the secondary school I attended.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes . one can learn how to type with phones like android since the keyboard is just like computers own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not close to perfect when it comes to typing on computer, infact I struggle compare to phone. This is because I haven't taken my time to tutor myself. The little operational processes I know today were from the one I learnt via strong eye🤦

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, if I should compare my typing speed on phone and computer, I can type fast on phone than computers especially when the auto correction is being shown on phone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We learn operating a PC during High School day as we have Computer subject. Good thing we have that subject coz if not, I don't know haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Funny enough, we also studied computer subject but not practical because the school didn´t have it then. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my primary school then, we had computer laboratory, but they infrequently brought us there for the utilization and typing. It was when i nearly finished secondary school i had a noticeable access to computer, so i started learning the typing process via the help of one of my uncles.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In one way or the other, we learnt how to use the computer. Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the guy you are referring to is @Dennmarc! I have bumped into his article too earlier. I have acquianted myself with the computer during highschool and now I am still learning about it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, I think so because I had to check my activity but the comments I have made then were so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right that we should already know how to use a computer or laptop

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am an IT Support Engineer. I am expert in typing with great speed. It helps us to do Data entry and many documentary work.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are way long in the stuff so you should be fast in typing 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Gotta research on that name! Thanks for the trivia, Princess!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It´s my pleasure ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago