Life of an old person.

28 43
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Every day, it’s important to ask and answer these questions: “What’s good in my life?” and “What needs to be done?”

Nathaniel Branden

This post was supposed to be published by 11 am this morning but I couldn't access the Readcash platform and I guess it's a general issue for everyone. It came back later when I thought it was already late for my posting time but I guess my time of posting is about to change or perhaps, I would try to fix it back to its normal time which I am already used to.

I don't want to leave my blog empty again without posting for the day and so, I am changing my mind posting at 8:10 pm tonight.


Stages of development according to Erikson starts from being a child who learns to depend on an adult for survival and chooses either to trust or not to trust an adult depending on how he or she is being cared for, and it moves on to the last stage for an old person who tries to reflect on his or her life to see if he or she has lived a life of integrity or despair. It's such a big regret when someone reflect on his or her life to see how miserable he or she had lived her life while being a young child.

I have always heard from people that living the best life in a youthful day will grant you the best physique while in old age but I have seen many old men and women that have lived their life so recklessly which is now telling on them today. By that time, they start to think of how they have lived their lives, either in a good or bad way.

Whenever I sit with my grandmother, I will always be surprised and proud of her because she lived a good life even when she was still in her youth. She never used her body carelessly, and to see an old woman of over 90 still looking agile and can see, also walking by herself without allowing anyone to hold her, is a sign that she lived her life in the best way and she has never for once regretted her lifetime.

There was an old woman my friend talked about one day. My friend's grandmother and this old woman were friends in their youthful days but she had lived her life as a harlot that she couldn't even stand straight today but bend. I wonder how she would feel so comfortable in such a position and she will never want to be left alone indoors but to work around the surroundings even in her state.

One thing we are always reminded of is how to take care of ourselves, eating good meals now that we are young because whatever we do now will bring the result when we have reached the old age stage and by then, we would start thinking of how we have lived our lives as a youth.

Also, there is a need to live the best life now as we won't be able to do that when old age strike. Returning home after seeing my boyfriend off, two old women were carried like a baby from one car to another. One of the old women was brought into the car I boarded and while waiting for other passengers, she saw someone hawking necklaces and bracelets, she told her daughter to get them for her because she likes them.

For someone like her, I believe she would enjoy her prime them and even be someone who loves to party and rock any style. Perhaps she had no time for such then and seeing it now, she felt like a young girl again with that necklace and bracelets in her hand.

There are some things like exercising and eating good meals, as young people so that when we are old, we won't have to spend money on hospital bills trying to treat one ailment or the other.

I have seen an old woman who still looks like a young person and someone of the same age already faded and her face wrinkled and when I try to understand why it is so, I conclude that it is how they have lived their lives.

One example I will give is that of my father. When he was a young man, he has been advised to stop drinking alcohol especially dry gins with harmful substances but he never listened and he still drinks them today. Now, he is over 63+ and not looking okay as he should be. Whereas I know of an old man who is 70+ who still looks so much like a young person and can still lift his body very well.

It is how you live your life today that will bring the result for you tomorrow and whatever happens while we are old is as a result of how we have lived our lives during our youthful days. I hope you understand my point in all I have said here.

Thanks for your time

Image by Ding Lei from Pexels

[October 13, 2022] (No 285 articles for the year)

15
$ 2.46
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

What we do to our life today will also contribute to our life in the later days. Honestly speaking, even at my age now, I already felt that I am a weakling.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We still have time to change before old age strikes. It's for our own good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You said it right dear. We should change our lifestyle for the better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I find it really amazing when I saw an old woman still strong as bull some can still live over 90s. I don't knkw if I will evsr reach that age. To be honest, I am good in abusing my own body 🤧

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My friend's grandma is over 70 and she still goes to the market alone and not only that, she would prefer to walk than take bike or car. She is so strong and I was shocked to see her life. This is a proof that she lived her life in the best way during her youthful days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed agreed sis, my father lived a good life and now he is 62 plus but he still looks like young people call him as my brother haha but he is actually my father, well when you are old and the way you look it reflects how you have spend your life in your younghood, better we as a young person should avoid drinking, and eating junk foods which will cause harm to us not only in our younghood but also we will see it's bad results when we become old.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is the truth. I love your Dad's stature even though I didn't see him but the way you describe him has said it all that he lived a good life which is what we should look after too.

Thank you for showing up on my article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very important to live a healthy lifestyle earlier in life and live by it as we move forward. It will pay dividends when we get oldier. Sometimes waiting to late in life it's too late

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I totally agree with your point sir and that is what we should aim at to have the best old age. Thanks sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What we do today may affect our future. Sometimes there are unfortunate chances we encounter during our old days. Being old person needs help no matter what is there background we still need to open our helping hands to them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. I agree with your opinion on this too. Thanks so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you dear, the life we are living today will also impact our life in old age. We should try to live a healthy life, to be fit in older age too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is the best thing for us. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We ourselves share the good and bad of our life. The effect of living in youth will come in old age. Even if the drug goes well in youth, its health will start to deteriorate, it will be seen in old age. So we have to spend our hardworking beautiful youth so that even in old age we will remain fresh. The impression of age cannot wash us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We won't see the result now but in the future and then, we would know if we should be happy or sad about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grants for our current work we will receive in the future. Again, people grow old even if they work more than their own strength.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our dialects in Igbo say's like this.... ọ bụrụ na ịgba ọsọ mechaa ... ị na-agụ kilomita .. meaning if you run finish...you go still count how many kilometers you run.... that reflects how we live life carelessly in youth age only to get old and suffer for it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If we do not want to suffer at our old age, we should take notice of how we live our lives today because it's important. Thank you for your feedback.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes true article, so times I can imagine how my old age will look like "it is how you live your life today that will bring results for you tomorrow"

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolutely right. We should listen to our bodies now before it's too late. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Living a goof life should be our priorities as this would make us or would make our old days be the best of all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Good living is important to have the best old age.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If we are making decision good in our today's life then our future life will be brighter and good also

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. Thanks for your input.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sometimes didn't listen to my body, I reach to the point that I choose to skip meals, that results to have an Ulcer. I also reach to the point that I have the worst UTI ever. I learnt from my mistake and now I'm taking good care of my body.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not eating well causes Ulcer and it is really dangerous. Thank God you realized your mistake and taking good care of yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eat well and use yourself well when you are young so you can look sweet sixteen at sixty

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly 💯

Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago