I am being distracted.

37 57
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

I remembered two days ago, I was distracted by something that deviates my focus from writing the concluding part of my story but thank God I had a drafted article which I quickly did some editing and published. Distraction can come in so many ways that we tend to remove our attention from necessary things and then wasting our time doing what we shouldn't be doing at that moment and at the end, we finally forget what we are supposed to do. Distraction can be so dangerous and unhealthy for us.

Many people are easily distracted in their everyday life and I don't think a day would pass by without being taken away from the real things you supposed to do. No man can deny that.

A man who focuses on his computer at work but only to get carried away by the beautiful curvy client who came by. Should I say it's a good distraction because he has found something attractive to his eyes? Lol

Or a woman who is busy writing an article on Readcash and was distracted by the noise outside and then decided to check what is happening but came back to forget the ideas she was battling with earlier on. I have been in this situation many times. One of the things that makes me distracted more is noise especially when I am reading.

Yesterday, I was commenting on a post on Readcash and I received a notification from YouTube that someone liked my comment, I quickly swiped my phone to YouTube and I was completely taken away from what I was doing before. I ended up watching different videos and laughing that I forgot to comment on that post again.

Many times, I have been indoor trying to compose an article and someone would knock on my door, I won't answer such person until I finish downloading all my ideas from my brain but they don't understand and calls it pride. I am being proud, they say and whenever I try to explain to them what I do at that moment, they won't accept. Only if they know what it is to be a writer though😁

Sincerely, a little noise is a distraction to me.

In fact as I am writing this article, there is a music being played outside my room, I am only trying to patch up words because I am distracted already by the music that I am even following the lyrics of the song even though I don't know it but I am still shaking my head πŸ˜…

Come to my hostel, the only time you can peacefully read and assimilate is from 11pm to 4:30am. Anything other than that is a no go area unless you are the type that loves to read with music on and you can adapt to the noise around you. Many would suggest I visit the library but for me, I can't because I find the library a big distraction to me also. Why did I say so? The first time I went to the library, I couldn't concentrate on what I was reading because of the students coming in and out anyhow and the sound of their shoes and talks, I ended up reading a line for several times. This is why I love to stay in my room and wait for the said time to read and assimilate.

There was a day I just woke up and was praying, I intentionally wanted to pray before seeing my devotional manual for the day when I was distracted by some fights in my compound which led me to wrap up my prayers because I couldn't concentrate again. I started repeating a prayer request for a while until I stopped. It was later in the evening that I remembered I didn't read my devotional manual. I was distracted by those fighting then. Perhaps the devil sent them to come and disturb meπŸ˜…πŸ˜…


With all being said, do you know "Distraction" is a disorder? Yes, it is.

Distraction is caused by people that has ADHD. This means "Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder".

People with this kind of Disorder find it difficult and even have trouble paying attention to details and find it difficult to finish up a task or attend to normal daily routine like paying bills at home, returning phone calls etc.

I may be suffering from this disorder too because I don't always remember to return phone calls. When I miss a call, my mind would be distracted completely and by the time I remember to return a call, it would be late. Sometimes I remember two or more days after.

ADHD is a neuropsychiatric disorder and according to research, the only treatment for this kind of Disorder is by taking medication and applying behavioral therapy.

"Behavioral therapy is an umbrella term for types of therapy that treat mental health disorders. This form of therapy seeks to identify and help change potentially self-destructive or unhealthy behaviors. It functions on the idea that all behaviors are learned and that unhealthy behaviors can be changed."

The meaning was gotten from here


This is my entry for the prompt word titled "Distraction" by @JonicaBradley

The rules are simple;

Thanks for reading from me today πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

|September 18, 2021|

21
$ 7.72
$ 7.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 8
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

And speaking of youtube, the clickbaits are insane distractions, it makes me go further in a loop haha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. You keep sliding for more videos again and again πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@princess busayo o, pls those things are no distractions for me o. How can you regard a man with his computer in his office as one been distracted after seeing a sweet curvy girl? Hmmmmn!......I no understand lolzzzzz... Pls I don't mind leaving the system to follow the curvy lady into only God knows where hahahahahaha... Good morning jare!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That happens to me almost all the time. Because honestly, I don't really have the "full time" so I'm reading articles and comments while doing something. At night when the kids are asleep, that's when I write an article and that's the reason why I can't publish every day. I can't just do it. I have many excuses. I have so many destructions. And most of the time after giving tips and about to start writing the comment, I'm being summoned either by my husband, kids, a video call from my family back home, a message from a friend or my household chores and by the time I remember what I'm doing I already forget that I'm commenting and can't remember which article it is. 🀣 Oh lol I laugh sometimes.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Not when Tia is around you. Kids have a way of distracting people and you won't be free unless you give in to their demands. I totally understand you because you are a mother and it isn't possible not to be distracted by something in a day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes it happens me also princess. When I have an important task to do then I was distracted some other things then I forget what I am doing because of the distraction.

We're the same princess, noise distracted me easily especially the sounds of the transportations. Distractions are everywhere. We should do our best that we are not easily distracted especially those important things we are doing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. It is we that can help ourselves in this situation and learn to adapt and be determined not to give in to distracting things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you're right princess. It helps us also to be more productive..❀️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am always distracted because I am a mommy hehe sometimes it is cute and sometimes it is annoying but I have no choice. Thanks for this nice article!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. It's understandable because mothers are always being distracted. With children, attending to their cries, making meals for them, rushing out to see who is at the door, etc πŸ˜…πŸ˜… They get distracted easily especially when you are doing something and your kid runs to you wanting something else. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh, distractions. I have lot of those. Like when I am just looking for something in fb but ended up watching videos, same with YT my goodness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

At least something will always distract us from engaging on the real things we are supposed to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also reading an article from 11PM-2AM but my mother caught me using my phone, so I don't have choice but to adjust. Anyway, I'll also definitely join in this prompt soon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… She believes you should be sleeping by then. No problem I will check through your article perhaps I may laugh out loud 🧐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I easily get distracted no matter how small it is. Once I get distracted, I can no longer focus on the current things that I've been doing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we are on the same page. Distraction can make one lose focus and this is why we need to get away from those things that might distract us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol....sometimes I also got distracted by the noise outside, even I realized after hours about the thing I was doing before. But I was unaware that it happens because of mental disorder. We should must get medication to avoid it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it's a Disorder that needs to be taken care of. I was surprised when I made a research on it and I was made to know it's a disorder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the thing with school environment, you must get distracted by one thing or the other. The one that annoys me most is that constant knocking on my door, I can't go a minute without someone knocking on my door either to borrow something or to return something they borrowed

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It will really hurt you, having to keep standing up to open the door. It's always pissing me off but I don't have a choice than to answer them πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These days I just leave my door unlocked so if anyone knocks, after asking who is there I just say open πŸ˜… but if it's my friends they don't even bother to knock, they just waltz in as if they join me to pay rent

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most times I do this too but other days, I want my privacy and I don't usually answer anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cannot be distracted on loud noises, I can even sleep with it. It is the social media that distracts me a lot. A lack of discipline is what makes me distracted a lot too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like your nature. I can't be comfortable hearing different noises here and there. I get pissed off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And sometimes if I am getting distracted I will either sleep or put and earphone and listen to a loud music and continue what I am doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I am not distracted with noise I can even sleep with if. What distracts me is the social media. Lol. I want an update of everything so i will just scroll on Facebook and later on I will know that I spent hours on it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😁😁 that is the thing about distraction. You won't know when you have spent hours doing something else instead of the real things you were doing before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I am a victim of my own doings lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me once I put my phone down and do something else I won't remember to go back to what I was doing before Just like yesterday the network wasn't good and I couldn't get into noisecash so I decided to read some news on scooper then I got carried away for the whole day read from one page to another And that makes me not to write my article last night

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I easily distracted when it come to noise coming from different source and i hate it when I am doing important things or writing and I need a quiet place in order to finish it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You will easily comprehend when you are in a quiet place rather than staying where noises are. One would easily be distracted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you, Princess. I got distracted by music and loud conversation of my boardmates too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Distraction is part of our lives and we can only deal with it ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone is easily get distracted, especially at work, it is hard to focus and once you get distracted you cannot get back. I think distraction is part of our life, what we need to do is to train our mind to get back in the middle of what we do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. It's part of our lives and we can only help ourselves from avoiding or even training our minds to adapt to it and find ways to ignore it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really hard to focus between a serious situation or work but a priority and the one that can make you laugh or leisure.

$ 0.02
2 years ago