How to improve ourselves? (V) Finale

28 81
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"When we fail to set boundaries and hold people accountable, we feel used and mistreated"

Brené Brown

Wow! It's the end of the series and it feels like I should continue with it, but I would love to end it here with another interesting part of the topic above. I would like to thank you guys again for your beautiful comments which I enjoyed replying to. Thank you so much for your support since the beginning of the series and it's coming to an end today. I might start another one but that would be later though as I might want to give a little break. I believe we have learned a lot too?


If you miss the first three parts, don't worry, I got you covered 😊

How to improve ourselves?

How to improve ourselves? (II)

How to improve ourselves? (III)

How to improve ourselves? (IV)


For today's segment, it would be;

Set your own rules and boundaries. Don't let anyone break them.

What are boundaries? They are lines you set that mark the limit of something.

I read @MichaelBCH article about setting boundaries in relationships yesterday. I knew this was what I would be writing on too and I had to read to learn more. You can just visit his link to read since I would only take some points he said there. It would be worth your time reading.

Part of what Michael said was that healthy boundaries should be communicated in a way that others will respect them and not doing it in a rude manner

This means there is an unhealthy boundary which could lead to misunderstanding and turn into a fight because you refused to approach the manner calmly.

I understand that some people can be so mean to pass their boundaries, making you want to vent all your anger on them but don't you think you can do it peacefully?

We all have our rules and boundaries and not making people know would give them a chance to step on you anyhow and even take advantage of you because you refused to speak up to refuse what they keep bringing to you.

There should be a limit to what people do to you and you must let them know because they would feel you enjoy it, your emotion is involved which could negatively affect you.

I remember when we were children, I know many of us would have experienced this too. Do you know children also know what boundaries are?

During that time, when two people want to fight, a third party would mark two straight lines between us, each one of us would own a line and the next thing would be "If you are born well, cross my line" The third party, of course, is a devil between us 😄

Then with such a brave mind and knowing our strength to beat the other, one would cross the other person's line and a fight would ensue with no one separating us until an adult intervenes. It was fun then.

We understood that when one crosses their boundaries over us, they are calling for fights which would be given to them without wasting time. We never dull ourselves because we were always competing on who can fight very well.

We are grown up now and we shouldn't be seen acting like little children because we know right from wrong already and there is a way we can approach people without offending them.


Someone came into your room with slippers on and one of your rules is that no slippers should enter your room except if they put them off outside. What will you do? At first, you may take your eyes off it but would let the person know this politely is your rule and it is left for the person to heed it or not.

I love setting boundaries, especially when they do things that don't please or satisfy me. I don't like being taken for granted because I refuse to set limits to some unnecessary stuff. This is why I would let you know what I want and what I don't want. Boundaries require you to say "No" and not keep silent when they are tampering with your emotions. People would easily take your silence to mean "Yes" until you voice out to reject some things.

Let me make another example. You know ladies love to do something to themselves. When they are together, they would play to the extent that they start to play with each other's twins on their chests (I believe you understand me here?) My friends would always do this to me every time we played and I couldn't do mine because they weren't allowing me.

This continued until they took me for granted and would keep touching it while I laughed. This means I was allowing them instead of setting limits to such rough play. The next time they would do it, I spoke out for the first time and from that day, it stopped.

Another friend in my hostel wanted to try it, so I immediately stopped her and told her I don't play such games. At least if it is a man doing that, I would gladly accept 😅😅 There wouldn't be a limit when it comes to the opposite sex, but that doesn't mean I would allow dogs and cats to try it. No, it's for my man only and with that, there is no boundary or limit.

It's important to set your rules and boundaries. What do you want to stop? Let people know immediately instead of allowing it until it becomes something they keep doing because you refused to speak out.

Set limits to things you don't like people doing to you. Let them know politely. With this, you're giving yourself some respect and they should give you that too. Don't keep mute when you notice something is affecting you, say it out, kindly approach them and let them know this is your rule and no one should violate it. Your rule is like your principle.

I have my principle, you have yours. We should respect each other and not cause misunderstanding when they are trying to stop us from crossing that line. Stay in your lane and do not inconvenience another person with your nonchalant attitude.

When it comes to setting boundaries or rules, you are giving your emotions some importance. As partners in a relationship, you should have your limit to things and let your spouse know about them. Don't let them take you for granted and see you as someone who can't defend himself or herself.

I set boundaries for my friends, and siblings and they wouldn't dare crossover because they have been told. Any violation of it might affect my emotions and I wouldn't like it.

You can play, and have fun together but don't forget you are to be respected and with this, let people be aware of things they can or should do to you and not do.

The End!!!

Thanks for reading

Image by Priscilla on Unsplash designed on Canva

[May 19, 2022] (No 139 article for the year)

24
$ 5.49
$ 4.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Aimure
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

It is very interesting and important to recognize that everyone has their own rules and follows their principles. There are moral and ethical principles that should govern us all, but the truth is that each person makes a very varied mix their own that they adopt as their own and govern their lives.

Respect is essential in any type of relationship. And your rights end where mine begin. Everything you share is very interesting. I like it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Setting boundaries is very important in improving ourselves, and as you said, our boundaries must be communicated with respect. I'm glad I followed this series every step of the way.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, I saw how you have been stopping by and I really appreciate it. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Princess, so this series will come to an end today, even when I'm enjoying it, and still want to read more of it? How i wish you can continue. We always need to set our boundaries, it brings respect, and no one will take us for granted as "anything goes" people. Personally, i have my principles, and for peace to reign people mustn't cross them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe! Perhaps would find more of this. At least we all are learning. Thank you so much for always showing up 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We finally came to the end of this series and what a ride it was. Enjoyable and full of lessons. Yes, how we keep to our own rules will determine how others will take ours. We should stick to our words and not easily tweak them. It's a test of integrity.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

And thank you for always showing up too, KP 😊

Yes, when we decide to do something, let's be truthful and straight with it, and not trying to manoeuver things to make them confused. It's better to be what you want others to be with you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I love that...be what you want others to be with you. There are no two ways about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rules and boundaries may serve as our guiding principles that no one should break those policies in your life. We really need to respect others' rules for us to be respected too.

Congrats my friend that you were able to write a series of article about self improvement.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, Hanhan for stopping by too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most times I enforce my boundaries by being outright rude (at least that's what it will seem to the other person), especially if it's someone I have told before. The thing with boundaries is that we are supposed to set it very early because by the time you have allowed something to be going on for a while and you decide to suddenly stop it one day, the person will be like; "but you were ok with it before"

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly! Yoruba will say "what you cannot accept when you are rich, you start to reject it while being poor".

So, it is better to put a stop to something you don't like when it's early and not when it has gone too deep, it won't be easier then and might cause chaos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes feel like when you set too much boundaries it becomes a problem as people will begin to see you as too restrictive. Though I think it's a nice approach to self improvement, yet I feel like it has its disadvantages as well.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It doesn't mean you set too much boundaries, there are some things you shouldn't allow and it is good to balance things up so it doesn't look as if you are being restrictive to them. There is a way to go about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, partners should always have this conversation to avoid what we call “see finish”

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Definitely, they should so no one would tresspass.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me there should be limit for relationship also. Anything without limit and abundant is toxic to me. I love to follow rules and regulations and also love when people follow them. Thanks sister for providing moral full stories to us.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for your feedback. It becomes toxic when we allow everything into our lives without setting limits to some things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Setting boundaries promote respect for self and others

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Setting boundaries is what I love because it prevent "SEE FINISH". And when you are seen finish, you becomes valueless.

It's just like God/Satan/religious aspect. We can set boundaries to prevent Satan from manipulating us but once we give in to Satan, it's finished 🧘

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. Once we allow everyone in our lives without setting boundaries, they come in to control us and before you know what is happening, things have gone wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Boundaries gives a true definition of who we are and what we value. It's not everyone i allow to exceed a certain limit into my life, if i see you will never add value to my life, i place you outside that boundary. I do same for others too who have sent boundaries for themselves, i respect it as i want others to respect mine.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Great. If we want to put boundaries on people, we also must not pass our boundaries with them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People can be very wicked and tempted, infact even some of our friends that we have they can be very very tempted, you can even tell them not to do this or that but that is what they are going to do in other to put you in to trouble,so what I do is that I will tell them what I like and what I don't like, the best thing is,if anyone of them doesn't follow up my instructions I will disconnect from that person immediately.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. No one should allow us to do things we don't want to do. The best is to disconnect since they aren't ready to do your bidding pertaining your life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My life is guided by lots of boundaries and principles. It’s one of the ways I can ensure progress and improve my life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, with boundaries and rules being set, things would go smoothly and there would be an improvement in our lives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago