Excuses and Exams

36 70
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

 “The tragedy in life doesn’t lie in not reaching your goal. The tragedy lies in having no goal to reach.”

– Benjamin Mays

The greatest man is the one who has a goal planned out and takes action to accomplish it. It will be a tragedy for a man who do not have any goal at all because if you do and working earnestly in reaching your goal, you will be convinced of success at the end. It´s another week again. How did you spend the last week? Was it what you expected? Did you achieve your target for the week already?

Life will keep moving on and time wait for no man, you have to be on guard to make effort so as to reach your target faster and quick in life. Nothing is stopping you, you are the one taking things slow and not moving as fast as you want.

Many times, when we procrastinate, we not only waste our time but also, we are gradually hindering the next opportunity that should come around.

Can you imagine a student who didn´t read but keeps postponing his reading till the exam and he doesn´t know what to write and this has been his usual habit all the time and when he graduates, he had second class lower instead of upper at least. When he needs a job, the only chance to get the job is with the requirement of 2.1 which is second class upper. Don´t you think he already missed the opportunity? If he hadn´t procrastinated and had taken his studies seriously, wouldn´t he be grabbing the opportunity now?

This is why I say we are hindering our chance for the future with our action now. Your action will determine your reaction.

The moment is here already. The day we have been waiting for which is our examination. My sister begged me to try getting the best grade because it would be a big opportunity if I should have the best grade to be employed at work. I told her that God will help me. I am already doing what I need to do as a student and the satisfaction in me has calmed me down because I believe it is what was given to us that was already set as questions. I only need to work my best in studying to understand before going into the examination hall.

We were discussing outside and everyone was saying it wasn´t as before where we all would have locked ourselves up a week to the exam and it would be a boring moment until our exams. We all laughed and someone had to turn to me and said "You guys shouldn´t compare yourselves to Busayo because as you are seeing her seated and playing with us, she has her time of reading which I know she has swallowed all courses." I laughed though. I have my time of reading and playing at the same time. As they say "all work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy."

My best moment of reading is at night when everyone would have gone to sleep. It´s difficult for me to read during the day where it is noisy. I will end up reading a line ten times without understanding any dime in it but when it´s during midnight from 12am, it´s as if there is a magic that helps me understand and grasp every information quickly and easier and when it´s dawn, I do other things. I even thought this exam would not allow me be active but I found myself spending all day and when it is night time, I pick my book.

In any situation you find yourself, you should have a plan for yourself and sort yourself out. Why do I say this? A friend of ours will be getting married this coming Saturday. Some were complaining and giving excuses that they can´t go because they would be having an exam the following week which is on Monday. Does the exam stop you from attending few hours wedding party for just a day? I asked.

Some people are always fidgeting when it comes to situation like this and you will wonder if they ever plan themselves. No matter what it is, I told them I still watch movie an hour before going into the hall to write my exam as long as I have planned myself in reading.

You can´t be in a situation like this and not plan your schedule. It isn´t that you won´t read before attending the wedding. Though, I can´t blame some because we have different types of learners. Those who are fast and can easily understand some thing. Those who are average and the ones who are the slow learners. Irrespective of the type you are in, you have to plan yourself.

I simply told them they need to have read well and go for the wedding and once they are back, they still would have more time to read and revised what they have read and then things work perfectly.

Some people are also funny that they will say when exam is approaching, they must cut their hair so that they can easily read and understand. It is funny to me because people have excuses when it comes to things like this. I still get confused how hair can be a distraction to reading and understanding. Some misconceptions that if you do not barb your hair or leave it without plaiting it but to keep pouring water on it, you can´t understand what you read.

I braided my hair last week especially for this exam because I do not want to keep combing which could take time because I have a long hair and I am so bad in styling it myself. I just can´t keep disturbing them to help me style my hair everyday going out. I still cannot support and accept such misconception because I know when you read very well, you will understand it.

Okay, enough of my random thought. I used the random generator to generate some words which were bolded in my article. I hope you enjoyed reading it?

Thank you for stopping by and I appreciate my sponsors who already renewed their sponsorships and I will be having a new sponsor which I already accepted.

Photo by Yustinus Tjiuwanda

[February 13, 2022] (No 44 article for this year)

19
$ 7.48
$ 7.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 9
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

You remind me of myself during my own examinations 15 years ago... wow what a nostalgic memories they were.. and 100% agree on you for planning and finishing all the modules which make it very easy at the time of examinations. many students think they can study everything at the end but it is always a bad idea as we do not know what could happen in future as they just spend all time in enjoying evenings... Good job dear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is it. When we postpone things like this, we would be at the losing end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true the actions we are performing now are setting our future, so we need to be responsible if we want to see good results. Having a certain aim in life is necessary in life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, being responsible says it all for a well lived life. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excuses comes as a result of defence, but not doing the right thing can cost one which will present one's excuses as irrelevant.

I rather do the needful at my best than give excuses with no worth and irrelevant and paying the cost for not doing the needful.

Peace

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is it. We can avoid excuses by doing our best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a very popular refrain " he who fails to plan , plans to fail". Sometimes exams are not as hard as some might think. If others are passing, one can also pass, unless ofcourse that person don't want to. Wishing you success thru out. May you pass with flying colors

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. There is nothing in exam. The one who sees it as interesting has already prepared. It doesn't stop others from preparing too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finally done my visit! You are one amazing example pf what a productive person should be like. I remember my old self, I have time to play at school, but I get serious, and really devote time to study when necessary. That way, I don't regret getting a low grade.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, once we are able to plan ourselves and activities, we would have productive result at the end of the day. Thanks for showing up Michelle 💕💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I've heard many of these silly excuses people make in the name of exams. I had course mates who said making their hair during exams waste their reading time but guess what? That time they should have allocated for making their hair, they don't use it to read either and during exams they will be disturbing everyone for answers

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't mind them. People like them, I mind my business in the exam hall. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The situation where by people lock themselves inside the room whenever it's exam time is still happening to lots of people. I have friends then that are good with the pattern. It's funny how they kill themselves with boredom and still end up with same grade with people like us that manage situations. My roommate then don't even attend church whenever it's exam period,,,,like the time for church should be used to cover up some pages. 🤷🤷🤷

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Why giving excuses and leaving the important all in the name of exams. The best is to strike an equilibrium.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly 💯 Map it and balance it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chai! Sister mi, adaa fun e. Thanks a lot, tbis is really cool and a great lesson teacher

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for reading too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sweet sis, you have just said it all and I grasps all you said and would work towards it thanks a lot sister

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's my pleasure. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiles Exams are many Go clubbing, spend BCH dolz Lolz Best wishes sis

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There's one thing we need to pass the exam and that is to STUDY.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One thing about reading constantly is that the more you read, the better your assimilation capacity and the more it becomes easier for you. Exams no longer faze you. If you keep postponing it failure is almost inevitable because you're not superman who can take up everything at the same time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are absolutely right. We need not to postpone what we can do at the right time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Planning what is to be done is a good practice. When I was in college, I set a specific time when I should study and when I should review. In that way, I can focus.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those who prepares are getting off than those who aren't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer reading after waking up but it seems impossible because when I wake up in the hostel, guys will always disturb and that's why I also prefer reading at night

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hostel is always noisy with lots of students doing one thing or the other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scheduling the time and knowing what to do next can save us a lot of time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

'If you fail to plan, you plan to fail' I wish you all the best in your exams. And I have no doubt you'll come out with good grades. All the best 💚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much Aimure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How organized of you princess, Good Luck, of course, I know what has your sister asked you. You can do it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everything requires planing, if your prepared and set for it I believe everything will turn out to be OK... Am wishing you the best dear and am hoping you come out with a first class

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have known about the exam for sometime now, I believe that you are prepared, and by the grace of God, you will graduate with the best grades because you have worked for it.

I wish you the best princess, go and make us proud.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago