Doing nothing, different thoughts troops in.

38 67
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

β€œWhere your attention goes, your time goes.”

Idowu Koyenikan

Have you ever wondered how you keep getting different thoughts in your mind, as negative thinking and doings keeps invading your mind? That is the work of being lazy and not laying your hands on things you ought to do on time. It's so funny how the mind wanders anywhere at that period when you just sit down, doing nothing, and all you keep thinking is acting weirdly or doing irrelevant things.

Many times, I have always been occupied with nonsense things like thinking of death especially, and immediately, I snap out of my thoughts and rebuke such evil thinking in me.

At that moment, because you couldn't lay your hands on something meaningful or productive, you start getting things like going out to steal, rob or involve in illegal activity.

Just like King David in the Bible. He was supposed to be on the battlefield with others in fighting the war, but he chose to relax at home, as he was doing nothing and that was when the devil used that advantage on him as he committed a great sin by looking through a woman who was bathing. Not only that, he lust for her, had sex and even killed the woman's husband.

The truth is, the devil has his mischievous ways of luring you to sin if you aren't occupied with something productive. When you aren't doing anything, at least you will do something and that is when your mind starts to wander anywhere and lead you to do what you aren't supposed to do, and the worst part is having different negative thinking about yourself, thereby losing your self-esteem when all you do is comparing yourself with others.

If truly you have a lot of things to do, you won't even have the time to think about others, or who is criticizing you.

Someone like me, I am not easily oppressed by anything you do because I have many things I do to improve myself, and when I am just too focused on becoming better, I do not see anyone at all. Everyone is striving to thrive better.

What should you do to avoid this?

Well, there are things I choose to do to occupy me than being taken away with negative thinking.

Read books: Whether it's a hard copy or an eBook, get something and start reading. Through that, you might be inspired on what to do next. You learn new things that would change your thought and take away those bad thoughts. If you are preoccupied reading a book that interests you, you will not even bother about anything around you.

Write or blog: Thank God for blogging platforms where you can spend your time on. When you are busy grinding and engaging with others, there wouldn't be space in your mind to allow negative thoughts or see or even brooding over someone who is talking about you.

Get a pen and start journalling things down. Don't give in to irrelevant thoughts at all as this could weigh you down if you dwell too much on them. When you write, you are occupied with inspiring ideas.

Prepare a nice meal: If you focus on what to prepare and try to make the best meal for yourself, trust me, you won't even have to think of unnecessary things or even have time.

Stop procrastinating: Many times, it's laziness that makes us postpone things. The best way to get occupied is to get up and do things you are supposed to do. Do not leave it till next time. Just engage in something for that day.

Listen to music: Have you thought of where music takes you when you listen to songs with thought-provoking lyrics? Yesterday, I tuned in to my Spotify app and I was taken into deep moments singing and rejoicing with beautiful songs, that I didn't even hear when someone was calling my name. I am always taken into another world when I listen to and dance to songs.

Exercise: Jogging, Jumping, Squatting etc is another way of sending bad thoughts away from you. It's a way to get busy doing something rather than nothing.

These are just a few of those things one can do not to remain idle or just sit without doing anything because it is that moment the devil delivers work for you. So, be careful.

Thanks for your time.

Thanks to my sponsors who always renew their sponsorship of me. God bless you always. I am always inspired when I see this and God continue to bless you.

Image by Bruce Mars from Unsplash

[August 19, 2022] (No 231 articles for the year)

21
$ 1.08
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 11
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

I can testify that everything you've listed are a perfect remedy for someone whose mind often wanders away.

An idle mind give access to useless and illicit thoughts

$ 0.00
1 year ago

An idle hand is the devil's workshop. It's when one is doing nothing useless thoughts comes to mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Exactly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being idle is brings a lot thoughts, it's that point a guy or a lady would start wondering why he or she is not in a relationship, and the thoughts lead to low self esteem. I can't remember when last I thought of many unnecessary things because I've been busy and even fighting for chance to sleep

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣🀣 Lots of unnecessary thoughts will start coming in and before you know that, you feel you are worthless but when you do engage in something, in fact, you will see how positive your mind would be.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what I've did princess. There are times that there a lot of thoughts in my mind because I only lying on my bed which is not good that's why I decided to do some task so that my mind will divert from other things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. When you decide to do something instead of being there doing nothing, your mind will be diverted from negative thoughts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's true princess that's why sometimes we need to keep ourselves busy to avoid thinking a lot of things especially negativities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree that reading books will make your mind distracted, most often I read horror stories to totally distract myself from the negativity of reality. In this way, I will forget a little about those things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a good way too. Thanks for sharing your thought.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's true hundred of useless thoughts come into our mind in our free time, so we should kept ourselves busy with the things, you mentioned above.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Music, dancing, exercise and putting those thoughts into words in form of writing can help a great deal. It's about being engaged so those negative seeds won't germinate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right, KP! We shouldn't give chance to negative seeds and this can be done when we are engaged with something meaningful. Thank you πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely. Your post is brilliant and I enjoyed it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I prefer listening to music or going to the public where different conversations are going on because by doing that, the negative thought would flee away.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. That is right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have thus bad habit of lying down all the time. That is when all the bad thoughts infiltrate my brain. An idle mind is a devil's workshop

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is it. When we are occupied, nothing of such will come in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This happens to me most of the time. I try to do most of what you said to get rid of it. reading a book listen to music. take a walk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those activities are always effective to me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very nice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was reading this I thought of the proverb empty vessels make noise. Most of the time iam occupied but still unwanted thoughts get to mind troubling me a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol... That is how it is but we can avoid them when we try some of those things I mentioned.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't give space to idleness. I get myself busy either with my phone playing music or seeing a movie or am writing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we just need to engage with something good so as to distract our mind from negative thoughts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I usually listen to Christian songs, this is a powerful thing that I do when I am in that situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is why I have Spotify app on my phone. It makes me listen to beautiful and inspiring songs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Doing nothing or busy, sudden thoughts would just pop in your head lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜†πŸ˜† That is it. I have always resist devil many times

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I should do anything to get myself busy it will be making wigs because exercise is not part of my lifestyle at all or I should just watch movies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those are still good since you have occupied yourself with something good to take your mind away from negative thoughts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah that's true Sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Different thoughts always barge in when being idle or lonely, mostly bad ones. We should learn to avoid being alone at times. Just like you said last, prepare yourself a nice dish and enjoy yourself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. Thank you, Rasaq

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The more you read, the more thoughts will come in 🀣..at least, more sensible Haha. I have a.lot of non sense thoughts when I am silent lol. ..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ It's general. We all experience this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago