December is almost here πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

73 75
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

When we were growing up, we are always happy when we enter into the first "Ember" month which is September because we know December is almost knocking and the beautiful Christmas songs that accompany and start the month makes it more fun. This moment, we are always happy we would be travelling to our hometown to meet with Grandma and other families. Grandpa died when I was in my Secondary School I think but at least it was still fun coming together with families everywhere to celebrate and unite again before we all go back to our destinations.

Many times, we do go home on the 23rd of December so we can celebrate both Christmas and New year at home. It was more fun when my mom was alive because she and other wives made it so. We lost one of the wives then after which my mom died some months later. Since then, the house isn't as fun as it used to be because the other wives refused to come home since those who made it lively and beautiful had died.

But still, we are always happy especially me because this is the time I would see my siblings again. Let's just say since everyone isn't together again, we only see once in a year and that moment, we must spend it in a beautiful way.


When entering into the month of September, I would chat with my siblings to know if they would be coming home. When they confirmed that they would be coming, I will be so happy and I will start preparing for the day. We would have communicated ourselves when to go home. Perhaps one would go first while another will arrive the following day. We always love to make our presence known especially being the first grandchildren of my grandma. They don't take us for granted and we also would make sure we are valued in that house. At least our father is the first born as at now since all his elder ones had died.


Finally, we would be home and everyone of us would hug each other and thank God for a beautiful year. Then, work starts. We would kill goats and most times, our Aunts would send cows home to be killed for celebration. Those with pepper, others will Ingredients to use and the following day, we are outside making plans, cooking and merrying as families.


My grandma is a well known woman in the village and crowned the woman of the whole town even at her age (90yrs) Mama is still looking agile and it amazes me to see that she doesn't use glasses at her age and can still see and read Bible. Mama is a devoted Christan and a retired teacher. She is the one who taught I and my siblings how to read and write in Yoruba Language.

Most times, she uses walking stick but on other days, she prefers to walk without it. Don't worry, I will show you guys my grandma soon perhaps when I go homeπŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

My younger sister doesn't miss bringing home peanuts and other goodies but don't be surprised she is in charge of it and would keep it with her in the room. There are many rooms to accommodate everyone even if we have visitors. They will see where to sleep. There is an extension in our building and I would be proud to tell you that after the king's house which isn't far from our house, our building is the next. So you should know how big our house is.

The king will always come around once or twice a week to check up on us and we then gist together because of Grandma's Position in the village. That's to show you how we were so close to the King through our Grandma.


The last time we took our mom home to be buried, people who followed us home couldn't close their mouths because all their plans was to find an hotel but there was enough space each for them to sleep and eat. Many families would always come to visit us when they know the family of OMOYIWOLA is around.

"Omoyiwola" means (A child being rolled into wealth)

You know as a popular grandma's children, we are always proud to show ourselves in the church and around the neighborhood as a city children compared to village ones. πŸ˜„

The fun moment is when we all marched on to church for the crossover night. We don't miss this moment. Before then, we would all come together to rehearse a song to be sang in church when it's our turn. There is one of our family friend who would come around to rehearse with us and service was always interesting then.

I have also chatted with him some days ago and sent him a song we would sing together. So he can be rehearsing as from nowπŸ˜…


So, enough of story and let me announce to you that I have already chatted my sisters and brother if they would be coming home. My elder sister is still contemplating because according to her, she doesn't think she would be given break at her place of work but I begged her to try and come because home wouldn't be sweet without her and others. I even teased her that if she doesn't go, I won't go too. I trust my younger sister because she will definitely show up. We both have a room as we want to stay together while my elder sister has her own apart from other children and their parents.

I already told her to bring many peanuts and goodies when coming, I will surely send her money for it. Also, planning on giving Mama something too and my Dad since he is at home with her. I can't wait for December to show up so we can assemble together in the house and praise God for His faithfulness over the year again.

I believe you enjoyed my story this time around? πŸ™ˆπŸ˜πŸ˜

Thanks for reading.

Also, I am sorry if I didn't visit your article yesterday. I was observing my health because I was feeling the temperature from church and some people are telling me it might be typhoid again but I prayed to God that I don't want to be sick. Right now, I am not feeling anything in me. I don't want to be sick at all 😣😣

|September 06, 2021|

29
$ 9.04
$ 8.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 10
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

At my age, I'm always happy when Christmas approaches. It's a moment for me to travel home and spend time with friends and relatives in my hometown. A lot of people return home and there are lots of events to spice up the period. Last Christmas was my best yet. I hope this will top it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol....I can understand your position of being a grandchild of well known woman.I really wish to see the pictures of your home which is the biggest one there so if you feel it comfortable,do share with us on Christmas. I am sure your sisters would come to enjoy with you on Christmas. You should go to the doctor,I pray you get well soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The ember months I think are no surprises to anyone anymore as there are a lot of fantasies to experience during this period. Like me, that's the best month to travel home for exmas, then do some farming with my grannies though they are late now but I still manage to do the farming with my aunty at the village, go to the stream to bath and fetch water as well and of course join other age grades in the annual age grade meetings and celebrations that would be present at that time. It is an honest fun filled period of both enjoyment, excitement and of course, relaxation. @princess, don't worry, na me and you go follow go my home town one of these ember months I swear

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wish to grow old to 90 and still be agile like your grandma. Spending the Christmas holidays in the village could be fun. At that moment, you start feeling like a champion, a village champion πŸ€£πŸ˜‚.

It's fun though. In my village, we go swimming in the village river. Every child always looked forward to this experience.

Christmas is in the air again, we have started preparing the movement.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pray may God prolong our lives too in Jesus name. There's a river in my village too. We do go there to wash clothes and play even though we have running tap at home. We prefer to go there for fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be awesome if everyone is present during that gathering. I hope your sister will be able to come home.

It's sad to know that in some, it will not be complete because of this pandemic. However, let us all look forward to the joys of the holidays.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, pandemic would make it impossible for some but I hope they are in good condition then. I hope my sister comes too Thank you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Looking forward to your post about it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh I love your energy and excitement princess. Like you, I can't also wait until December comes because that will be also the time where we me and my other relatives will reunite πŸ€—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ Great. Let's hope for the day to come in peace for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always happy and fulfilling when we celebrate Christmas with our loved ones. I am always happy when 'ber months came, I always count how many days we still have before Christmas and what I am excited about is when we are gathered together as one whole family celebrating it.

Btw, I enjoyed reading this. I can feel how happy you are while celebrating that special day. Advance Merry Christmas to you, Princess.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Christmas is always fun and interesting and there's no doubt our families would be happy to be united again especially when we have seen each other for long. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's right.

Youre welcome, it's fun reading your articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all excited for this coming Christmas too, because we get to enjoy and spend more time with the whole family. And I can't wait to give Christmas gifts to my nieces and nephews haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's great. May God provide for us before then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey sorry about your Mom. But even if she's not with you, you can still celebrate it like she's with you. She's just living in your heart right πŸ’™.

Anyways, wahhh Christmas, well to be honest I'm not that excited. It's like a normal day for me but off course we celebrate it still. I'm just not excited but I'm happy 🀩🌾

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, she lives on forever in our hearts. Thank you That is still good though. At least you are happy the day is coming.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These days I don't even look forward to Christmas any more, because it just looks like a regular day to me. Unlike when I was younger, it was a day I look forward to.

I guess I got tired of the whole routine, so these days I just see Christmas as a day to celebrate the birth of our lord Jesus Christ. When I was a kid I saw it as a day to eat and drink to my heart content πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ That is how kids behave then. They are happy because new clothes would be bought and rice with chicken awaits them 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 exactly o. Especially that chicken aspect, we don't joke with it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abi na πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was so excited before every time that the ber months starts because it means Christmas is near and we will be celebrating it together. But it all changed 4 years ago. I don't feel excited anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Why did it change? Would you like to share? I hope this coming one will be an excited one for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm thinking about sharing through my article hihih.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apart from the fact that Christmas is coming, my birthday is coming too, I can't wait to celebrate this two occasions 😘❀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! I wish the day comes with pleasant surprise for you. God will keep you till then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank. You. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas time is really exciting to me. I don't know how to explain it, but I always look forward to it every year.

It's a good choice that you rested. Claim it, you'll be better in Jesus' name!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Ellehcim. Amen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that most of us are really excited during the Ember months cause we really felt the Christmas spirit . It's also a perfect time for a family bonding . I hope that you and your siblings will be reunited this Christmas season. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, a perfect family Bonding and I can't wait for the day to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is the holiday our hearts are excited with. I hope you can all be together on Christmas because being with family during that holiday is priceless.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. Family Bonding is priceless. Let's hope for the best then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chrustmasboeriod is always fun, I enjoyed christmas as a child but growing makes things different, the initial fun we used to have is no longer present, which makes me wonder "what happened to Christmas".

I don't really appreciate travelling during Christmas period, I'd rather stay where I am and enjoy myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love travelling oo and that is the time I will act as a real city girl to the village πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ I love that moment though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like village jare. I'd rather stay in the city. If I go to the village I'd always he indoor as usual. Na introvert I be. I wont even talk to anybody.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same with me. I don't know anyone in the village apart from my family being around them. I am very okay with that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chistmas time is a happy family time. I love reading this. It shows your happiness and excitement for the upcoming occasions. I also love how you preserve Christmas tradition in your family.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mehn...you make me remember what Christmas celebration used to be like. Ever since dad and mum passed, it was never the same again and there is no much buzz around it at least from my side. I just take it as it comes but I don't feel that buzz anymore. I will just take this Christmas as it comes but surely I will find something of fun to do.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I understand. Parents have their impact too during that moment and it makes it fun. Sorry about that Okay, when Christmas comes, do make sure to enjoy and have fun to the brim oo πŸ₯³

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, darling. I will try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a thing of joy to approach Christmas holiday....and a blessing for the crypto holders too. I loved your story especially how you grandma still does what she does at that age. I would love to see the experience even though I wont be going back to mine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Omo! Make crypto just dey bullish moment then. I will spoil myself oo πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ I can't wait

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I and my kids are excited every christmas coz we celebrate christmas in my parents home

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your kids would be super happy for it because they know they would be going to see Grannies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reason why me am always happy during ember time is just because there is going to be a long time holiday which means I will enjoy myself to the fullest with a lots of meat and funniest part it that I won't read books 😜 Until January ha such a long time relief from school

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe This moment, I am taking my books along 😣 because it's likely we have our final exams in January by God's grace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Make sure you read very well and don't be carried away by December chicken 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed your story. Btw, I think your temperature is because the weather is changing now that’s why everyone is feeling not well. So just take precautions daily and wear mask and try to stay at home always at least these days. I wish you a speedy recovery

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I will continue using my mask and be safe. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love to celebrate Christmas with family but me, I'm celebrating Christmas with other family because my mom cannot able to go home :( I'm excited when Christmas is coming but when it's already 25 I cant help but to envy other families who are celebrating together.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oops, sorry about that. At least you will enjoy it with other families.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad to say no :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The EMBER months gives us an excitement for in coming Christmas. The most awaited part which whole family mostly are in complete for celebrating the Christmas.❀️

I'm enjoying while reading this, I felt the happiness and enjoyment with your family. Merry Christmas in advance to you princess. God bless you and to your family...πŸ™πŸ˜‡

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, just three months to go and we are in the period of celebrating Christmas and enjoying with family. Thank you JπŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

End of the year gathering is always fun having families around but I haven't had this experience before I feel sad about it.

I have celebrated every Xmas with my family all my life, my grandma who is also a chief in the most successful businesswoman in my town passed away a long time ago.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can see. Perhaps Grandma made it fun with you guys then. Don't worry, you will enjoy more when mom becomes grandma. Just do quick and propose πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmmm, that's smart. It is time, are you ready???????

Will you marry me Princess???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not ready πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's always fun in family reunions. December period is always like that everywhere I.presume. but since my grandparents are late. And the children are scattered all around the globe, coming up together as that is not so happening in our own place.

Your grandma is such an highly spirited woman. Don't forget to share pictures.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No wahala. The picture aspects isn't difficult πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm being aspired seeing an age devoted christian. Your grandma deserve the length of days she has. May the Almighty prolong her life more. Hope you'll feel better. Just rest, pray and be with the nature to improve your health. God's blessings sis..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hurray!!! December is coming. Permit me to say the best month of the year is coming. Because its Christmas πŸŽ„πŸŽ„ month and my birthday month as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You won't fall sick by His grace, so sorry for the loss of your mum. I believe your coming together this year will be so memorable and your grandma will be much happy to have you all around. Make you send us your friends our own meat during the Christmas

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ No prob. I will send the meats here. You just have to smash your phone to get it😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel your excitement for Christmas from here, Princess. I hope everyone in your family will be together to celebrate and catch up on each other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That day has always been special day in which people from far and near come to celebrate

$ 0.02
2 years ago