Compliment || Be a good role model to the kids.

37 63
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around”.

Leo Buscaglia

At the moment, I am having a serious headache and I think I caused it myself. I strained my body to the extreme yesterday and it is affecting me today that I just need to take my rest. I asked myself, “Can you just give yourself some rest and take your off day?”

Yesterday, I bought an energy drink just to stay awake to finish what I needed to do online. I have been so busy outside the platforms and when it was getting to evening, I knew I haven't done any tangible thing online, I decided to get a fearless drink and overworked myself from 6 pm to 1 am without taking any rest which I was able to engage on Hive, Readcash and Blurt.

Am I hurting myself? Yes, I know. I am trying to survive and help myself because I don't want to beg anyone including my family. So, I just needed to grind harder last night just so I won't be lagging behind. As it is now, I would take some rest and only do what I would be able to do so I don't get sick.


THIS POST WOULD BE FOR ALL PARENTS WHO HAVE WONDERFUL CHILDREN, AND PROSPECTIVE PARENTS WHO ARE ANXIOUSLY WAITING FOR THEIR BUNDLE OF JOY AND ALSO, TO ALL GUARDIANS.

I was watching some videos on YouTube a few days ago and this short video took my breath away. Like, I was mesmerized by the words of this little boy and I kept thinking about it. “He must have seen his parents doing that”.

Children are so amazing when it comes to imitating adults, especially their parents. This is why parents ought to be good role models to them and not the opposite because every child's behaviour is determined by what the parents exhibit inside. This is why they say “Charity begins at home”.

Parenting is not an easy task as it involves different methods of disciplining a child or children.

What was the word I heard from this little boy that captivated my heart? This child went to the mall with his mother and while they were still shopping inside the mall, the boy sighted a young lady beside them and he was like, “Mom.....” Their eyes both met (I mean the mother of the child and the lady). I could see from the lady that she was already nervous but the next word melted her heart; “she's so beautiful”.

The lady must have thought the child wanted to say something negative because we know how some kids are and how they behave. They say what they see and if you happen to look awkward, the kid could say it out and you become embarrassed.

I have been in a similar situation where I was hurt by the words of the children and I couldn't beat them because they will still blame me for doing that. I just had to walk away quickly from their midst as they were creating a bad scene.

The lady looked at the mother and smiled. The mother too was nervous, wanting to hear what would come out of her son's mouth but when she heard those positive compliment, she was happy.

I want to believe it is what the child has seen his mother doing (complimenting other people in his presence).

“Be a good role model to them”.

When you compliment someone, you bring out happy smiles in them and you build self-esteem in them too. Throughout that day, they would be positive because someone has decided to give them a genuine compliment about them. A good compliment can go a long way in changing one's bad decision into a good one because they know there's still hope.

A simple “you are gorgeous” can increase positivity in one's life and this is why if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all. This is because words have power; either to build or destroy one's life. So, one needs to be careful.

As parents, since you know children easily do what adult does. They watch and act the same way that their parents or guardians do around them, you must set a good example by nicely complimenting other people in front of your kids so that when they go outside, they would do the same and the praise would be given to you.

HOW DO YOU TEACH KIDS TO COMPLIMENT OTHER PEOPLE?

Just as I have said, act as a good role model by doing the positive things around them. Make them realize that they will always see the good in people if they search for it. Tell them to be genuine when they compliment other people.

Lastly, tell your kids to follow a compliment with a question because they will also learn and put on a good habit.

What do I mean?

When you meet someone who puts extra effort into getting something done, then you should say “You put up a good speech out there, how did you come up with that?” ​

With this, it means you want to learn and acquire some knowledge.

Children can easily say “You are smelling nice today, what perfume or fragrance did you apply?”

Trust me, the other person would feel good and positive especially when it comes from kids who say it genuinely.

I hope I have been able to inspire you today?

Thanks for reading

Images source by Saeed and Jonathan on Unsplash

[June 25, 2022] (No 176 articles for the year)

25
$ 6.44
$ 5.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 16
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

I learn a lot from this vlog

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children always imitate the actions of adults, act and do good things and discipline makes children understand and follow them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh woah I understood the part that you overworked yourself just to make all this happened !

You are right though because if we don't behave ourselves in front of kids they imitate it and do it until it becomes norm to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I decided to get a fearless drink

So you're still taking this drink up till now? 😂 Wahala

Children easily pick up things from their environment and that's because their brain is a clean slate at that stage and anything they see or hear quickly gets imprinted into their brain. Childhood is what determines the type of person a child will be when they grow up, and that's why it's crucial for parents to be mindful of the things they do and say around their kids

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So you're still taking this drink up till now? 😂 Wahala

Don't mind me oo 😅😅 but I don't take it every time though since I know its effect.

Children's brain adapt quickly to things when they observe and try to imitate such a behavior. Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He parents are the first teachers of their children.. Over time I have observed that rebellious youngsters and the dredges of the society are mostly always from dysfunctional homes. Most times, a happy marriage builds happy and ambitious chaps

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, you are right. Dysfunctional homes tends to affect a child negatively.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with that,.what we are actually I mean our gestures and attitude was because of our peers What we observed or used too. So most of the time when we noticed a certain attitude of a person we will give comment like " maybe that's how he/she was raised".

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, whatever a child does, we assume they learnt it from home. Thank you for the comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

children's brain is too sharp, and they easily imitate what is done in their presence that's why it is important to be very cautious of what we do and say around children. A good compliment will go a long way to restore happiness to someone who is feeling sad. And this can not be possible unless we learn it from home.

Relax and take care of yourself ma'am

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, they quickly grasp info and you would be amazed at what they do and say and this is because they saw the parents doing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our children are the mirror of our home, they way you behave, reacts to issues and handle things, if looked closely will be seen in your child.

Training them, the right way is a sure guarantee of being free from troubles

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, they emulate their parent's act and actions. So, parents need to be careful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no sweet dear sis, you need to give some rest to yourself.. please take one day up and sleep for an entire day or do something that makes you relax.. your health shoudl be your number 1 priority

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I tried taking my full rest today and just came online tonight to reply comments and go back offline 😅😅 Thank you for the encouragement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear, you should have some rest, and stop hurting yourself in this way. Its true, children imitate their parents, so they should set good morals to them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I am trying to take my rest too. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A little pat on the head,thumb up can go a lot in boosting a child's confidence.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right 👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, Princess.. I also watched that video you were talking about and it still makes me smile to this day whenever I remember this. Random compliments really go a long way, especially when it's genuine and not forced. ❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Compliment that is sincere and genuine is always the best and means a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry for the Headache princess. Truthfully, Parents are the ones who children watch, so it's very necessary they be a very good model.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Ayo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is perfect. Parents should be the first model for their kids. Because it reflects how they manage to socialize outside. Parents are the one who touches first the mind and hearts of their child, so we must see towards them the good values and the right conduct that they need to possess within themselves.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Definitely. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We need to show to the kids how to be a responsible individual. It starts at home, so make sure to mold them before they go outside and engage in the real world.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. They should be well trained in a proper and good way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is said; charity begins at home. And home for me includes the environment and people around the child. Childhood is the most important time in an individual learning process. And kids learn fast - they pick up the bad habits quicker. So aside the parents, every adult around a child should live an examplery life, one worth emulating. Every child is a product of his/her environment.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is great. Children are easily taught and learn while they are little and that is the time both parents and adult in society should be careful of what they do and say. So, they should try to live a good life so they could emulate such habits instead of the opposite.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In some way we act as role models to the young ones among us. We may not be aware, but they are always watching.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure, they are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, parents must serve as the good role model for their children's as they learn from their guardian.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister you should avoid taking energy drinks regularly if you have addiction in this case. Moreover, I agreed child has totipotency ability to learn so what we gave to them they will perform it in Future. So we should put maximum good habbit to them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I only take the drink once in a while to avoid being addicted to it. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's awesome Princess and inspiring too. We need to speak life to our children so they would grow as the best individuals.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. They should be trained right from when they are small.

$ 0.00
1 year ago