A trip to Idanre Hills. Nature's wonder.

46 62
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“If you truly love nature, you will find beauty everywhere.”

Laura Ingalls Wilder

The journey yesterday was great but in the end, stressful as I couldn't do anything again, other than prepare some meals for us and we slept. When I woke up this morning, I was feeling pains everywhere but I still would try to make a post today. Pardon me because I won't be going into more details here about our trip to Nature's wonder where we got to see ancient stuff and some explanations.

I have been wanting to visit this particular place called Idanre Hills which means “this is magic”. There are many rocks there and we saw many interesting things which some of them were shocking to us.

We were three that went there and also Blurtians.

This was where the journey started as we went to the bus park and we were waiting for other passengers to get filled up so we can start the journey. We left home at 8 am and before 11 am, we were already at the Hills where the signpost welcomed us. As we entered, we went straight to the office to pay our entrance fee plus the tour guide's fee too. After signing, the tour guide set us up for the tour while he was leading the way.

The tour guide prepared our minds about the hills. According to him, there were 682 steps and if we do not complete the steps, we won't be able to see different things because that was where the fun is. At first, I thought I wouldn't be able to climb it but it became interesting while climbing and I saw it as a form of exercise and to burn calories too.

There were people who lived on the Hills for 900 years and the hills has been in existence since 1933. We started climbing the hills and there were five resting places on our way going up. These are resting places for people to rest after climbing few steps and are tired before continuing the journey.

This is one of the resting places and I took a shot.

That is our tour guide putting on a red t-shirt while the lady is my friend and the guy is @obikay. The trio formed a group for this trip. Obikay is the founder of Blurttribe on Blurt Blockchain.

The guide was talking about a man who came from Lagos to view these hills but couldn't finish up the steps as he fainted more than twice and in the end, he couldn't continue. It was so funny but wasn't a good one. A strong person would climb such amount of steps but isn't for a weak fellow.

After resting for a while, we continued our journey until we climbed all 682 steps.

Happy that I got to climb the steps and my friend took a shot of me here. If I do not climb at all, there is no way I would get to see different things being talked about and I would miss the fun part of it.

The guide told us there are two rivers on the hills; the first is called Thunder river. This river is for those who are going to war and he talked about some warriors who were going to war, they washed their faces and drank this water and they forgot to say “I am satisfied” and when they went to the war, they didn't return home alive.

He said whoever drinks this water or uses it for anything and forgot to say “I am satisfied”, the person, though, will go to war and wins, but will never make it back home.

While going, my friend was tired and our tour guide told her to use the thunder river to wash her face but she must not forget to say the word “I am satisfied” but she was scared. So, we continued the journey.

The second river is called the “Arun river”. This water is split into two; one for bathing while the other for drinking.

This particular river is for those who want to be successful. He told us we can fetch some into some bottles and add pebbles to them. Once we get home, we should pray over it and keep drinking and using it to bathe. Whoever does this would be cured of any illness and become rich. This water is miracle water for everyone who drinks or bath with it.

For the ones we fetched, we would be adding clean water to top it up since there are pebbles in it which wouldn't make the water taste bad after a long time. They suggested we bathe in the river but we couldn't because it would be taking much of our time.

This was when we were at the top of the hills which the tour guide said was 3000 ft above... can't even remember that part 😅 We viewed the whole neighbouring town there as we took some pictures together. I couldn't look down or move further as I was afraid I might fall. Whoever falls from the top is gone forever. So, we were being careful too.

This is an ancient big and heavy stone which the guide talked about. He said this stone was used to determine a bachelor who is fit to get married. If a bachelor carries it up to his chest level, it means he is fit and ready to settle down and control his home. We jokingly told Obikay, the guy in our midst to try it if he is fit enough 😂 he declined. Maybe he was scared, who knows? 😁

We saw the market square where there was a prison yard, the court house and where the king dances. He said whenever the king is dancing, no one dares dance else, the person will die before the next day. When an offender is taken to the court, and he or she is guilty, he or would be thrown into the prison that is opposite the market square, and if it's a big offence he or she committed, the penalty is death immediately while people would witness it.

We saw two paths; one was for the king to pass through and no one is allowed to pass through it while the other path is for the commoners. We met a priest on our way where he prayed for us and demanded we give him some money which we did.

We saw rocks in the shape of toad, puppy, elephant, snail and others. We hiked too.

While hiking! I have strength here even though I was held while hiking by the tour guide as I have acrophobia. 😂

Hiking was the last activity before we turned back home. While going back, we met some other people who came to the hills too but weren't able to climb the whole steps, especially a woman who was feeling tired. The people met us on the way and saw the bottle of water we fetched from the Arun river and they wanted too. Our tour guide gave some to them while we continued descending.

It was an interesting journey so far for us. More details would be posted on my Hive blog later. You can check back for them as I didn't want to make this post longer.

Thanks for your time.

All Images are mine.

[October 04, 2022] (No 276 articles for the year)

19
$ 4.61
$ 4.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Nature vibes sis

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a wonderful excursion. I would love to go there too because I have heard different talks and stories about it from my brother.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You should to see those things yourself. You will definitely love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! The place is really magnificent and it's really nice to do some hiking there because you can totally see the whole view.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, we saw the whole view. It was so beautiful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The hill is over 3000ft tall? Geez 😬 I won't even dare go to the edge or close to anything that will remind me I am very high above the normal ground level 😆 The hill is very beautiful and Iove the pictures you took. 682 steps isn't that difficult on a normal level, but doing it while ascending a hill will look like hell 😂 you really tried sha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. While descending, it wasn't difficult. Hahaha, no one would remind me of the 3000 ft tall.... 😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lovely pictures were taken. . I love the views bestowed on us.☺☺

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, Balikis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are most welcome Princess B.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a beautiful trip friend, I found everything so interesting, but what I like the most is the way to spend time with your loved ones that ends up having a special time

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea. It's good to spend time with our loved ones as we create memories together. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really it was a good trip I am looking forward to more content from you

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's Obikay? What a fine man... Good to finally see his face... It's a good trip for you all and I asked you a question on Noise.app which I am still waiting for the response 🤣🤣😂🤣🤣🤣

The way you always lick your lips enh...as if you are ready for action hahaha.

I love how Obikay came down to your level to snap with you 🤣😂😂🤣🤣🏃🏃🏃🏃 I came in peace.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I love how Obikay came down to your level to snap with you

😏😏😏😏 😂😂😂 He must oo....

Let me go and see your question.. trust me, I go tell you truth na 😁😁

The way you always lick your lips enh...as if you are ready for action hahaha.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Bad shaid 🤣😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm gasssedddd! this is a place I really want to visit. Soon, definitely. So happy reading this.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, you should visit this place soon. Thanks for showing up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really a nice trip my friend and also nice photos.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks so much, Infinity. I saw the sponsorship renewal 🙏🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was really informative. I was intrigued by the story about the rivers and fascinated by the pictures as well. Great to see the Blurt networking! The Blurttribe team is really one of the best on that platform.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, the Blurttribe is active there. Thanks so much for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a wonderful trip and we'll taken photos. I have only read about idanre hills in primary school textbooks, premier English primary 5 to be precise🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You should visit there, maybe in groups of friends. It would be so much fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You all have fun, and now I see the blurttribe founder

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, he is the founder of Blurttribe Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looks like you had a great trip, full of beautiful views Princess 💙

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was an awesome trip. Thank you ma 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How was your legs leg cramps? Haha.

Wow the last photos was magnificent the landscape of was superb. I missed Hiking it's been years old since my last. Seems like you for enjoyed from what I seen hehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe! Still feeling some cramps now but not like before. Yea, I love the photos too. Thanks so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It had been too long since I visited hill site. Thanks for sharing, It was a good virtual visit for me. I hope sooner, I shall visit one hilly site and share about it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is my first time and I enjoyed it. Thank you for viewing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, good I was at ondo state last year beginning and I can tell you that the Idanre hills are very large as we are passing by we were seeing it from far

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Idanre Hills is very large and I love the view of it too. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahah dat was my last post utme at ondo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh okay then 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A journey with beautiful sites and exercise too write me in for next time :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This was indeed an experience for me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Great for you. Visit my last article I have a little something for you :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I am already spending some time here and I would visit yours soon. Thank you so much Sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's my first time seeing you having a trip to the hills..hehe.. Nice view from atop..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, my first time and I want to visit more. I love the experience I had yesterday. Thank you for the compliment too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. I really read everything to the end and I was already wishing I was there with you guys.. Heard alot about this place and I even read about it in my primary four reader.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Great. This place is so fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago